We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Any intermediate to advanced Snowboarders out there?

Which Queenstown hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Melbourne
7 posts
Save Topic
Any intermediate to advanced Snowboarders out there?

Hi Everyone,

I am a beginner and my boyfriend is intermediate/advanced snowboarder and was wondering where i can find a snowboard tour guide or find out if there are guided snowboarding tours of the queenstown mountains for advanced snow boarders? I know there is heliskiing and snowchasers, but we're looking for something a bit cheaper, just so that while i'm doing my lessons and beginner runs :), my boyfriend can be off exploring the terrain with someone who knows the best areas.

Or if there is nothing like what i'm looking for, where would be the best place to make some friends who know the terrain like the back of theire hands... we're quiet social people and enjoy making new friends :)

We'll be in Queenstown from the 25th August to the 1st September

Any ideas... please let me know!!

Cheers,

fuzzi

Te Anau
Destination Expert
for South Island, Te Anau
Level Contributor
2,649 posts
34 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Any intermediate to advanced Snowboarders out there?

To my knowledge there is nothing exactly like you are describing. It sounds as if you want some form of off piste ski touring, and the only ones which offer this are the heli skiing companies.

I don't actually think you will have any problem finding like minded souls to snow board with. Ones with extended local knowledge might be a bit harder to find, but after a couple of runs, everyone is an expert.