We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Expensive in New Zealand?

Springdale, Utah
Level Contributor
49 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Expensive in New Zealand?

My wife and I did a 3 month backpacking trip through Equador, Peru, Bolivia, Chile, Patagonia and Tierra del Fuego last winter on a $100 a day budget, which is ample for most of SA.(Chile and Argentina were the exceptions however. We plan a 2 month NZ trip. Can we do it on $100 a day for both of us? We are active "trampers", mountain bikers, canyoneers(I work as a guide here in Zion Park, Utah).

Christchurch, New...
Destination Expert
for Zhuhai, Christchurch, South Island
Level Contributor
30,522 posts
307 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Expensive in New Zealand?

Welcome to the NZ Forum.

Are you talking $US or $NZ?

NZ is a developed country with minimum wage laws. Unless you are planning to camp, couch surf & hitch- hike you'd be unlikely to manage to stick to this budget. Travel costs will be the determining fact.

A rental car can be had for under $40 a day on a long contract or bus passes for around $25 per trip. DoC huts cost around $50 per night now on the Great Walks, but are much cheaper on the many other tracks. Hostels cost from around $30 pp.

Luckily, National Park entry is free but NZ has a highly developed tourist industry trying to get your money! Boat rides & adventure activities all add to your costs.

New Zealand
Destination Expert
for South Island
Level Contributor
28,294 posts
74 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Expensive in New Zealand?

In some areas of South America you can live like royals on $100 per day.

However NZ does not have the same economy as SA and you would be better to compare your own country. If you can manage travelling for 2 months through the US on $100 per day then yes, you can possibly do the same here.