We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fall colors and fall travel in Cortina d'Ampezzo area

Central Florida...
Level Contributor
92 posts
59 reviews
Fall colors and fall travel in Cortina d'Ampezzo area

We are planning a trip to Italy in September or October. We will spend a few days in Rome (our 2nd trip there), about a week in Venice/area, and would like to spend a week in the Dolomites, and are considering Cortina d'Ampezzo as a home base. We would like to do some hiking (shorter, easier), driving, experiencing the area. I am an amateur photographer also. We are trying to decide when is the best time to come, looking at possible fall colors, cooler weather, less crowds. We love going off the beaten path. Can anyone tell us the best time of the year we could achieve this? The end of September, middle of October? I can't seem to find information on fall/fall colors for northern Italy. Any help/ideas would be appreciated. Also, when do restaurants/stores/hotels/cable lifts shut down? Thank you

Boston
Level Contributor
717 posts
56 reviews
1. Re: Fall colors and fall travel in Cortina d'Ampezzo area

Also planning a trip there this year so my advise should be taken as from someone who has never been but has similar interests and researched.

From photos I have seen fall color does not appear to kick in until October, so don't think you are going to see any fall colors in Sept.

Many rifugios close last week of Sept., around the 25th ; so I imagine some lifts will as well making October a little more iffy.

While it could snow in Sept., the chances of snow in October would be much greater.