We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

danube river cruises

San Diego CA
1 post
Save Topic
danube river cruises

We are thinking of taking a danube river cruise, but a friend of mine took a cruise and found the river was so low in places that they had to be bused. This was 4 or 5 years ago. Does anyone know if that is still true? I'm not crazy about the idea of having to be bused when I paid for a cruise.

Pat

Vienna, Austria
Destination Expert
for Vienna, Austria, Innsbruck
Level Contributor
19,053 posts
30 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: danube river cruises

Nature isn't predictable, so you will have to take the risk. I have never heard that this is a common occurrence. I am not a scientist, but I think this might happen during winter before the snow starts melting and sometimes when it doesn't rain for a long time. As the danube is an important corridor the navigability should be available most times of the year.

vienna
Destination Expert
for Lower Austria
Level Contributor
13,600 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: danube river cruises

perhaps 4-6 years ago during a late drought a few cruises were diverted to having benn bussed some places. No one mentions the thousands before or since that move without problems.

That is not a usual thing.

If you travel especially from Passau to Budapest on a cruise much of the river level is regulated by a series of dams - you will see them as the cruise boat passes the locks there.

The newer boats are well designed to use the river and its level of water.

Some recent places have also been dredged to keep a satisfactory water depth also.

The Danube is a major waterway to transport bulk cargo via barges during the entire year and is a vital thing to the economy of the area-

unless a major weather situation occurs I do not believe that you have a problem.