We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Train from Colmar to Lucerne or Zurich

Virginia
Level Contributor
37 posts
13 reviews
Save Topic
Train from Colmar to Lucerne or Zurich

Hi there -

We plan to take a train from Colmar to either Lucerne or Zurich in early June (still not sure where). I looked at the TGV train schedule from Colmar station to both cities (change train in Basel), is TGV the only option or there are alternatives? 2-2.5 hour ride is fine with us but prefer not longer than that. I think I was a bit confused when I see another schedule on the swiss rail website. I wasn't sure if it's actually the same train/schedule or it's a different train. This is my very first time traveling to both France and Swiss so please bear with me!

Also, do I need to pre-book the tickets (2) right now (prices go up, no seat)? Although, I have the departure time in mind but just in case plan changes.

Lastly, is this ride a scenic route (to either Lucerne or Zurich)? I plan to leave Colmar after 5pm but could leave earlier if the ride is pretty. We will have about 7-8 hours to spend in Colmar (came from Strasbourg in the morning), or I should enjoy Colmar until end of day?

Thanks so much!

Alsace, France
Level Contributor
3,709 posts
112 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Train from Colmar to Lucerne or Zurich

Your post seems very easy in terms of what you're asking, but it's really subjective!! I'll try to answer based on the fact that I know both Colmar and Lucerne well, but Zurich less so .... so bear with me too!