We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Zealander trying to get working visa for England

Level Contributor
1 post
5 reviews
New Zealander trying to get working visa for England

I am currently in South America on an OE and am due to be in England in about 3.5/4 months time. I am a New Zealand National, but my father was born in England in 1966 and moved over when he was a teenager. All of my paternal family is English.

I am wanting to live and work in England, I am a young professional in the IT industry. My question is this: can I apply for a working visa once I am in England? Can I just do it while I’m over there? And should I apply for a tier 5 two year youth visa, or the 5 year visa? Or maybe try for citizenship? It’s hard to decipher if I can do all of this while already in the UK, it would be great to not have to go home!

Hope someone has some insight into if this is possible :) thank you so much

Best Seller
Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, and Bath...
5,733 Reviews
from USD 122.40*
Best Seller
Stonehenge, Windsor and Bath with Pub...
2,271 Reviews
from USD 125.00*
Best Seller
Harry Potter Tour of Warner Bros...
770 Reviews
from USD 102.40*
4 replies to this topic
Corringham, United...
Level Contributor
7,562 posts
127 reviews
1. Re: New Zealander trying to get working visa for England

Start here

https:/…work-visas

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1,705 posts
25 reviews
2. Re: New Zealander trying to get working visa for England

I am no expert but some of my friends who had an English parent were able to gain English citizenship and live and work in the UK for many many years. This would be much easier than applying for work visas as a NZ citizen. These have apparently become harder to get recently.