We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Teaching English in Oaxaca

Veracruz, Mexico
7 posts
Save Topic
Teaching English in Oaxaca

I am a TEFL certified teacher with a B.A. and would like to move to Oaxaca in six months with my husband. I would really like to teach at a bilingual school in or near the city of Oaxaca. Can anyone tell me what my options might be?

Oaxaca, Mexico
Destination Expert
for Oaxaca
Level Contributor
2,630 posts
111 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Teaching English in Oaxaca

Your best options are the private bilingual schools like Cumbres, English schools like Cambridge Academy, and there are now Spanish schools which offer English classes like Becari. You may also have some luck at the language deparments in the universities but most likely at the first three option types.

Alvin Starkman / Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast

Veracruz, Mexico
7 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Teaching English in Oaxaca

Thank you so much for replying so quickly! I have been looking online but so far the only bilingual school I have found is Liceo Federico Froebel which looks good but I want to have as many options as possible. I also spoke with the Cambridge Academy the other day and that is something I might be interested in. Ideally I would like to be teaching 2nd or 3rd grade at a bilingual school but I realize that limits my options. When I lived in Chicago I taught adult ESL and I really loved that too.

You mentioned Cumbres, are you aware of any other bilingual schools in or around the city of Oaxaca?