We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Family trip - end of November

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
34 posts
11 reviews
Family trip - end of November

I am planning a family trip with a 9 and 6 year old this Thanksgiving week. We'll be based in Springdale for 4 days (flying in/out of Vegas).

This is my first time in the Zion area, and I'm looking for ideas for how to schedule both variety and leisure on the trip. I don't have a checklist or bucket list to hit specific sites or parks.

We probably won't want to stretch ourselves to squeeze in Bryce or Grand Canyon (apparently the North Rim is already closed). I don't want the kids whining from exhaustion....

I'm thinking of this itinerary. Looking for suggestions.

Day 0: Drive from Vegas, settle in.... maybe do the Watchman Trail/Visitor Center.

Day 1: Weeping Rock Trail; Riverside Trail to peek at The Narrows --- which I'm sure is way too cold this time of year :( ....Hidden Canyon

Day 2: Pa’rus Trail; Emerald Pools Trail + Kayenta Trail + The Grotto Trail

Day 3: Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park to experience the sand dunes.... Kolob Canyon or Cedar Breaks Nat'l Monument

Day 4: Road trip back to Vegas. Stop by Valley of Fire State Park?

Some questions....

Is there enough here to challenge the kids but be manageable? Too much?

I picked these hikes based on some of the online guides and trip reports.... but they all write about summertime travel where you need to avoid the heat AND can splash in the water. How does end of November change the recommendations?

What weather and water temperature should we expect? Should we still plan for scarce parking in the Park, and in Springdale?

Thank you!

17 replies to this topic
Washington DC...
Level Contributor
34 posts
11 reviews
11. Re: Family trip - end of November