We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trip Report Johannesburg-Cape Town Premier Train

Metro...
Level Contributor
861 posts
68 reviews
Trip Report Johannesburg-Cape Town Premier Train

In September, 2018 we took the Premier Train from J'burg to Cape Town. We had finished a two week safari in Botswana and flew to J'burg from Kasane, Botswana. One of the travelers in our group likes trains so our group of four took the Premier Train. We booked two person cabins on line without a problem. The train leaves J'burg at 10:30 AM from the Central Station. There is a dedicated waiting area serving coffee, tea and snacks. If you want other treats for the trip like Coke Zero you can walk into the main waiting area for Central Station which has a grocery store.

The train left on time at 10:30 AM. While I am not an expert on age of equipment, the cabins had a 1960's feel with some updates such as USB chargers. Our cabin had two fold down beds and a hand basin. Toilets were at each end of a car plus a shower room. The cabins were clean and well maintained. I have rode on Amtrak east and west of Chicago. The train felt like a single level sleeper between Chicago and Cleveland. In the middle of the night the heat came on in our car, and it took an hour to find a staff person who could turn off the heat.