We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Do you see any issues with this plan?

Charlotte
Level Contributor
108 posts
15 reviews
Do you see any issues with this plan?

After researching a number of the usual travel websites, I've put together an itinerary that seems reasonable, both for layovers(2-3 hrs), and for cost. I'm aware of Norwegian's strict no-frills restrictions (we're reserving seats but bringing our own food, and carrying on- watching the weight carefully). And I'm booking directly with the carriers. I know there is a bit of a risk due to different airlines, so if I miss a connection, it's not like American is gonna help me get the next Norwegian flight out of EWR. I'm new to the international travel planning so, please let me if anything looks iffy or just plain goofy. I was going to go nonstop but the savings might be too much to pass up here. Thanks in advance.

First Leg;

Charlotte to Newark 6/11 1:15 pm to 3:08 pm via American

Newark to Paris 6/11 5:30 pm to 6:35 am via Norwegian

Second Leg;

Rome to Paris 6/24 8:10 am to 10:10 am via Alitalia

Paris to Newark 6/24 1:25 pm to 3:30 pm via Norwegian

Newark to Charlotte 6/24 6:29 pm to 8:28 pm via American

21 replies to this topic
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
52,719 posts
1,769 reviews
1. Re: Do you see any issues with this plan?

Only real caution would be the USA return, EWR, then CLT.

Even with a real Xonnection, I always want 3:00 min, for International to Domestic, and I have both Global Entry, and TSA Pre-Check.

Now, with separate tickets, and unprotected “connection/layovers,” there is a risk factor involved, so much depends on one’s tolerance to risk.

This Top Questions helps address the pitfalls, if you have not seen it: https:/…Connecting.On.Separate.Tickets.html