We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
World class modern Italian dining, perched on the southern cliffs of Bondi Beach in Sydney, Australia
PRICE RANGE
AU$125 - AU$250
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Waterfront, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1,325)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveller rating
505
330
213
128
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
505
330
213
128
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters steak spaghetti crab fries bondi beach great view fine dining wine list sunny day coastal walk views sydney pool iceberg club
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst there is no denying the view is sensational, at these prices the service has to be better - staff were not attentive (we waited ages for our order to be taken) and the olives we did order didn’t come with any toothpicks to grab...them with or a seperate bowl for the stonesMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024

We really enjoyed our trip to this restaurant in late December, just before Christmas. We sat by the window (as requested), and the view is wonderful. The food was great, especially the fish - and the staff were charming. All in all, a great evening...for a celebration - and well worth the cost.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, Other at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Thank you so much for sharing your delightful experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your December visit and that everything contributed to a memorable evening. All the best

Reviewed 12 January 2024 via mobile

I nearly cancelled the booking after reading some reviews. Luckily I didn’t. This is fine dining with the best view. Feels like you’re on the ocean. The sea breeze while you’re eating. Yes it’s not cheap. I didn’t expect it to be otherwise I would...have gone to McDonald’s. Service was outstanding. The food and presentation…divine!!!! If you can afford it you only live once. Loved it.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, Other at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

We're thrilled to hear that your experience exceeded expectations! We're delighted that you enjoyed our fine dining atmosphere with its breathtaking view. Your appreciation for the service, food, and presentation means a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional...More

Reviewed 12 January 2024 via mobile

Three of us went for dinner. The service was of European standard. Our waiter was very engaging. The views of course were outstanding. We ordered the two course menu and a bottle of rose, a cocktail and soft drink with three sides. The food was...very nice. I had the Murray cod which came out with a leaf and piece of lemon For three people it was over $600. I guess you pay for the location.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, Other at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the very good service, engaging waiter, and the outstanding views during your recent visit. We appreciate your comments about the food, and we're pleased that you...More

Reviewed 10 January 2024

Amazing views. Menu was somewhat limited but the food was good. Kitchen closes at 7:30 so make sure you get your order in (no table service - everything is ordered at the bar). Was surprised that you cannot get in without an ID (luckily my...daughter - who typically does not carry one around with her - had her passport with her that night)More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, Other at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Hi there, I believe you have dined at the Bondi Icebergs Club which is located just below us. All the best

Reviewed 21 December 2023

The venue was stunning overlooking the waves. This is clearly what they rely upon. We coyld only choose a 2 course menu 120pp or 3 $150. We went for the 2 course l ordered 6 natural oysters which were delicious = $48 I ordered the...fish King George Whiting = $82 This was so small it was ridiculous, laughable in fact. Where else in Sydney do you pay $82 for a tiny piece of fish with nothing else on the plate but a coz lettuce leaf. My dinner guest ordered the duck, this was sent back as it was raw but not only raw, 3 tiny slices of duck with a tiny sausage. She ordered the desert which was a reasonable size but is the equivalent of $42. We had to order chips and a salad in order to feel saited at a further $36 Its not unusual for restaurants to offer set menus at set price but there is usually an option for a la carte. When you work out what you are paying for each dish at Icebergs and the meal is far from adequate it really is a rip off! The service and waiters were impeccable but unfortunately bore the brunt of our dissatisfaction as we left no tip! The tip for Icebergs is lift your game !More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, Other at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent visit to our restaurant. We appreciate your detailed insights and are genuinely sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We take your comments seriously, and we apologize for any disappointment regarding the...More

Reviewed 20 December 2023 via mobile

Celebrating milestone 18th bday on a hot spring day, enjoyed cold drinks on bar balcony overlooking icebergs club Rockpool fun. Enjoyed excellent cuisine at lunch & service beyond compare. No detail was left out, thank you for all of the care and attention.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, Other at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special milestone with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had an unforgettable 18th birthday lunch and that you enjoyed the atmosphere, cuisine, and service. It warms our hearts to know that you appreciated the care...More

Reviewed 10 December 2023

We'd been looking forward to dining here for a long time. Seriously disappointed. The view and the surroundings are magnificent. The kitchen, the service and the pricing not so much. We were primed to be delighted, but it quickly turned sour. 1. A basket of...bread arrives quickly, with some salt and olive oil to dip. There's no side plates though. Put the bread on the table? Crumbs! Finally a waiter spots our bewilderment and brings plates for all, apologising that it's house policy not to set the table with them. Dumb policy. 2. Water options are bottled still, or sparkling. In a city with the best water in the world, 'tap' is not an option. One of our party orders a beer, and the waiter pours it from a height, resulting in a glass seven-eights full of foam. Surely any young Aussie boy growing up learns how to deal with bottled beer. He apologises, saying most of the beer they serve here doesn't foam like that, to which we all silently mouth 'b****t'. When the foam finally settles and we are able to drink our long delayed toast, another waiter comes and does exactly the same thing with the long distance pour. This time the foam goes over the edge, and seeing it overflowing he lifts the glass and holds it over the bread basket, then takes the bottle, the basket and the foam away. If two waiters can't pour a beer it's a training issue. 3. The Terzini Martini #2 is, to my taste, catastrophic. My mistake for ordering it. Don't. 4. The entrees are OK. The blackened calamari is probably the star, but the octopus I ordered is salty almost to the point of being inedible. Other dishes confirm there are chefs lurking out there who have lost the function of their taste buds. I really expected a lot better. 5. Mains are also OK, but they're served naked. Just the meat and a sauce. We order a salad, a tiny bundle of less than 100g, for the most absurd $16 I've ever spent. We could have got a bowl of chips for much the same price, but that just seemed crass. 6. Dessert. Yep, liked the modified bombe Alaska. The other one was just meh. Olive Oil Gelato? Bit Heston, but.... 7. The bill: Silly really. The cheapest house wine was about $25, ranging up to $540, a glass. Together with the water bill, and the two or three courses minimum, it was an expensive night which the magnificent view did not justify. Wouldn't recommend it.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, Other at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback about your recent visit to our restaurant. We genuinely appreciate your honest insights, and we're truly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We hope you might reconsider and give...More

Reviewed 4 November 2023 via mobile

Watching surfers and surf from a seagulls view. Great service and really nice food. Way exceeded our expectations. Fish and vongole with beers. Super dark bathrooms with scented candles I need. Go there.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, Other at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the unique perspective of surfers and the ocean, creating a memorable experience for you. It's great to know that the service, food, and ambiance exceeded your expectations. We're delighted you appreciated the...More

Reviewed 12 October 2023

As I generally avoid the Eastern Suburbs, I'd never been to Icebergs, despite having a real interest in Sydney's fine diners. My wife's big birthday today seemed a perfect opportunity to finally go there for a slap-up three course lunch. (I was really looking forward...to their much praised desserts). Three things really brought this experience undone: the parking situation, one pretty awful main course, and a totally unacceptable one hour wait between entrees and mains. The parking bays outside the restaurant only allow for a two hour booking, so we got one for between 1-3pm, and entered the restaurant. Initially things were fine: entrees and service were both good. Then we waited for our main courses to come to the table. And waited. And waited. And waited. When they arrived, we only had 20 minutes on our parking spot left. Even more concerning was the plate of food in front of me. A spaghetti with vongole which had been highly recommend by our waitress. It turned out to be a plate of pretty ordinary pasta swimming in a large amount of olive, and nursing three small clams and three tiny pipis. As we were still keen to get our celebratory desserts, at 3pm my wife went to change parking spots only to discover that the clever, all-knowing parking system set up by the local Council would not let her do so without paying a fine! So, a quick phone call with her established that I now had to just pay up and leave. As we had already mentioned the hour long wait between courses - which we were told three times were due to an event for 30 people happening elsewhere in the restaurant - and the lacklustre nature of my main to our waitress, the Maitre D' - a bit of a legend in Sydney dining - Stefano Lekaj, arrived at the table to apologise. He also comped our first round of drinks and my main, and refused to accept a tip! Now that's good service. Thank you, good sir. So, my advice if you wish to attend Icebergs is don't park outside - Stefano told me there's better spots near the beach - and be prepared for a long wait if a function is happening. I hope to give it another go sometime soon. After all, I still want to try their desserts.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, Other at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Icebergs for your wife's birthday celebration, we truly appreciate your feedback. Firstly, we apologize for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced with the parking situation. We understand the limitations of the nearby parking bays,...More

Reviewed 6 September 2023 via mobile

Its as good as you imagine it is. I came here with a friend of my husband and had a magical evening. Oysters and champagne were simply Devine. A truly magical experience.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2023

Other than the location it is definitely not worth the set menu prices. If you are going to charge top $$$ customers expect the best and this is certainly not that. Bread was served before mains arrived but no plate. Dreadful dripping over the table...cloth. It may be modern Italian but come on a bread plate is just basic dining etiquette. It just feels cheap and lazy not modern. The main was nothing extraordinary a 3/10. The dessert was great but I'm not rushing back for dessert. At the end you receive the contactless card to pay which they add $7.50 the customer pays to use this service. Plus a 10% tip already included. Overall, it was an underwhelming experience. Too much cutting corners clearly to save costs and it's very noticeable. Definitely has lost it's way since we were last here. The fact that we tried to book on the day with two similar restaurants that were booked out but this one wasn't is not a good sign. There is so much competition and fabulous restaurants in Sydney, so I won't be back.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, Other at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2023

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We would like to find out more about your experience with us. If you would like, you contact me directly at chiara@idrb.com

Reviewed 30 August 2023 via mobile

Eight girlfriends on a Coogee to Noosa walk thought it would be perfect to relax at the end at Iceberg's bar. We were all in our active wear and hot from our exertions. Unfortunately, the person who made the booking arrived first and did not...realise she made it in the main dining area. Apparently she was very rude, noisy and argumentative. By the time I got there at the tail end, the fuss was over, but it was most embarrassing to our friends who witnessed her tirade, even while staff were trying to sort it out. Eventually, as underdressed as we were, we stayed and had the most delicious meal and even a small birthday cake and candle was procured much to my embarrassment. The main waitress who attended to us was excellent. We all felt out of place in our casual gear, but she served us without judgment and answered our questions nicely and with empathy. 11/10 for her effort alone. Thank you for being so gracious.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2023 via mobile

Birthday celebration lunch in a great location. Exceptional views in a sunny Sydney winter day. Hard to beat. Food and service, on par with the location. Our waiter was very friendly and accommodating to our questions on the extensive menu. Happy to mix and match;...2-course, 3-course and 1-course from the supplement menu. Not often done in fine dining establishments. The place was packed but did not have to wait too long for the food. Yes, it was expensive but worth every dollar. Exceptional!!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, General Manager at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2023

Hi Froiland, We are thrilled to know that you had an exceptional dining experience with us, starting from the breathtaking views to the attentive service. Our team works diligently to create memorable moments for our guests, and we're glad to hear that our efforts resonated...More

Reviewed 14 July 2023

Gorgeous location with views across Bondi - the perfect place to stop for a drink at the end of the Coogee to Bondi walk… but you pay for it! 1 beer, 1 non aclholic drink and a piece of bread with 4 anchovies cost 63...dollars! I should add the food, despite being small was great. Service was a little slow too.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Dining Room and Bar, General Manager at Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2023

Hi Holidaylover2023, Thanks for your beautiful feedback! Regarding the price, we are committed to delivering the highest quality and offering an unforgettable experience, which sometimes reflects in the pricing. Wishing you all the best and looking forward to your next visit!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Bondi Beach
An iconic Australian suburb, Bondi Beach is famous for
its fantastic beaches and views. Once the domain of
backpackers, hundreds of tourists from all over the
world descend en masse to Bondi in December ready to
enjoy the "Aussie summer". Bondi Beach boasts
impressive ocean views all along the many restaurants
and bars on Campbell Parade. Wake up early and take a
dip in the surf before walking the scenic stretch from
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Ravesis
159 reviews
.45 km away
Hotel Bondi
271 reviews
.60 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach Sydney
1,998 reviews
.64 km away
QT Bondi
572 reviews
.73 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bondi Trattoria
437 reviews
.21 km away
Icebergs Club Bistro
892 reviews
.03 km away
Lamrock Cafe
209 reviews
.34 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Marks Park
13 reviews
.38 km away
Tamarama Beach
483 reviews
.45 km away
Bondi Iceberg Club
171 reviews
.01 km away
Black Sunday monument
7 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alex R
3 May 2021|
Answer
Response from Ellemay | Reviewed this property |
I would ring the restaurant and ask.
0
Votes
jeng756
13 February 2019|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from goodtimes1950 | Reviewed this property |
Smart casual...up market
0
Votes
VolvoCowgirl
4 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Kim_H_and_Family | Reviewed this property |
When filming reality TV, producers will film for hours and then edit the piece (using only a fraction of the film) to project a certain bias. I speak from experience. Just because it’s on TV doesn’t necessarily mean it’s... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ICEBERGS DINING ROOM AND BAR, Bondi - Bondi Beach - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Icebergs Dining Room and Bar

Yes, Icebergs Dining Room and Bar is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Icebergs Dining Room and Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 4