We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Head Inn

The Green | Newton under Roseberry, Great Ayton TS9 6QR, England
+44 1642 722318
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good20%
  • Average17%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
07:30 - 21:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Green | Newton under Roseberry, Great Ayton TS9 6QR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 367 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

My boyfriend brought us here for our 5years anniversary, We had another lovely meal like we always do here. I had a Chicken parmo with homemade chips and salad and he had a parmo burger with chips and salad, Couldn't fault it at all, big...More

Thank LadyMuck29
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Kings Head is actually on the Green at Newton under Roseberry and not Great Ayton which is the next village along. This is a really nice pub which does food and accommodation and is dog friendly. Well worth a visit.

Thank Gary W
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thanks for your kind words Gary W, We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived at kings head and were given a clean ready table straight away. Hubby got our drinks at the bar and ordered dinner. It was brought out in 5 mins..piping hot. Extra jugs of gravy we requested..and every mouthful was lovely.. we all thoroughly enjoyed...More

Thank pamark
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Great to hear and thanks for taking the time to review us! We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and i went here on sunday 3rd september 2017 for a meal. Quiet sunday just after 6pm. Service was i am afraid not good. We waited a whole hour for our meals, with no apology when they arrived. Other customers before and after...More

Thank Cherylisa C
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi Cherylisa C Definitely sounds like you caught us at a bad moment! We had a very busy day on Sunday and a rather steady evening but we still should not have run out of steam! Pop back again and I am sure you will...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

my wife and i have been here before and thought we'd do lunch. the food and service had been good previously and only a couple of dogs... Well this time on a nice day in the school holidays was a huge mistake. I don't mind...More

Thank fredsadventures
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review fredsaventures, Sorry to hear about your visit not being what you wanted. We pride ourselves on the fact that we cater for everyone including our four legged friends, there is of course a designated area for dogs so you do not...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we came back here on Sunday as we were delighted with our first visit however it did not live up to the first time standards Sunday lunch was awful roasties didn't seem to be roasted and first times were lovely seemed as though they had...More

Thank Elizabeth S
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi Elizabeth S, Thanks for your review, and sorry we did not live up to your first visit. We were of course very busy over the bank holiday weekend, but that should not have affected your visit other than perhaps a longer than average wait...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came in during one afternoon. Fairly busy, but I only wanted a cheeseboard with my drink and told me it would be 45 minutes - I'm sorry but a cheeseboard doesn't need cooking, and I'm pretty sure cheese doesn't take much effort to cut and...More

Thank Angela T
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi Angela T Sorry to hear this, we will look into this immediately as this most certainly should not have been the case. We hope you will give us another try :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited for a cup of tea after walking up the neighbouring Roseberry Top hill. The pub is plush and attractive and evidently part of a small chain of hotels. Instantly alarm bells ring that it would be overpriced or pretentious. Not a bit of it!...More

Thank FlorianFY
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Found a table straight away even though the place was busy. Ordered 2 Sunday lunches and received them in about 10 minutes. Food and service was outstanding and the atmosphere and decor was great. Will definitely return.

Thank PoolieGirl73
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review PoolieGirl73 We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit. See you again soon :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The interior of the restaurant is lovely and very atmospheric, would be a lovely place for a drink after a good walk. Staff were very friendly and the cider on tap was wonderful (worth a return trip just for that). Unfortunately, the food was a...More

Thank hannafran1991
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for you review hannafran1991, The haddock dish has been a huge success and made it onto the current menu due to it's popularity on our previous menu (see previous review to yours regarding the same dish), sorry it was not to your taste. Our...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Joplins Restaurant
141 reviews
2.57 km away
Fletchers Farm Coffee Shop
167 reviews
2.60 km away
Ayton's Fish and Chips
90 reviews
2.47 km away
Number 5 Coffee House
139 reviews
2.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Roseberry Topping
515 reviews
.92 km away
My Serenity
113 reviews
5.04 km away
Stewart Park
340 reviews
6.32 km away
The White Swan
55 reviews
6.70 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kris588
2 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from May-Maria2015 | Reviewed this property |
Yes very dog friendly
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:30 - 21:30
Monday
07:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
07:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
07:30 - 21:30
Thursday
07:30 - 21:30
Friday
07:30 - 21:30
Saturday
07:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Green | Newton under Roseberry, Great Ayton TS9 6QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Great Ayton
  • Phone Number: +44 1642 722318
  • E-mail
Description
Recently refurbished and sitting beneath the iconic Roseberry Topping – Cleveland’s ‘Matterhorn of the North’ – this charming inn with bedrooms is wrapped around by the North York Moors National Park, the Cleveland Way and is close to Yorkshire’s seaside gems of Staithes, Whitby and Scarborough, The King’s Head Inn is just a short drive from Redcar, Middlesbrough and the Tees Valley, too. If you’re looking for bedrooms in North Yorkshire then The King’s Head Inn offers bed and breakfast accommodation that’s more characterful and a great alternative to traditional hotel stays and more service than simply self-catering. A popular spot for walkers and cyclists, you don’t have to have scaled the ‘Topping’ to deserve a well-earned glass of Yorkshire’s finest and the chance to enjoy The King’s Head Inn’s superb home-cooked food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing