We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horse & Groom

Roxwell Road | Roxwell, Writtle CM1 3RU, England
+44 1245 420245
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (38 reviews)
“pulled pork” (8 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Roxwell Road | Roxwell, Writtle CM1 3RU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

My wife and I have passed this Hostelry several times on our trips to Chelmsford. This is he first time we have lunched here. We ordered Fish and Chips from the Lunch Menu. We had a wait of about 15 minutes as the fish was...More

Thank roythorogood
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice food, great service and a very reasonable price, I am definatley going to go back, one of the nicer places I have eaten, and the prices really are great value

Thank mollmac95
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The restaurant has had a lovely refit, nicely decorated and experienced good customer service. The lunchtime menu has a lot to choose from and is reasonably priced. The food was very nice and presented well on the plate. We didn't feel rushed at all. Staff...More

Thank Tamsin S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family have been coming here for at least 10 years. Our last 2 visits, however, have been very disappointing, to the point that we would not return. The service seemed very thin on the ground. When we arrived, the place was pretty empty for...More

1  Thank Abbie0000
Tom O, General Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Abbie0000, I am sorry to hear about your experience at our pub. I would like to be able to discuss your experience further so I can investigate who was on shift and why the issues you mentioned happened. I would be really grateful if...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Horse & Groom for Sunday lunch with our daughter who is in a wheelchair. We had pre-booked and arrived to find they had reserved a lovely accessible table for us. The service was outstanding as was the quality of the food. This...More

Thank David B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Horse & Groom went through a bad patch about 9 months ago, but is now back on form. Food is well prepared and presented. Ok, it's just Chef & Brewer fare, but it's all about the staff, who make this place a bit special....More

Thank Trevor E
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely meal for my granddaughter Erins 19th birthday. The food was very good lots to choose from well cooked and served. Our waitress was brilliant very funny and very good at her job she made the evening for us. Would definitely recommend...More

Thank Ausygirl2009
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

met up with a bunch of girls i use to work with in the 1970s ;o) a lovely lunch friendly staff and good well cooked food not bad value . typical pub food but well presented and good to eat

Thank Loll C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really dissapointed - absolutely terrible. We were left 45minutes before our starters turned up, then 20 minutes laters had to ask for our plates to be taken away. Mains then took another 40 minutes to come out and we had to grab a waitress to...More

1  Thank Luke_Georgia
Tom O, General Manager at Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Luke_georgia, I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good visit when you came to our pub this week. As you can see feom the majority of our other reviews, this is not the normal level of food and service that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived on Monday 4th September as we had a power outage at home. Although it was "Quiz Night" we were found a table and were very well looked after by Krystal. The evening two- or three-course menu was excellent and good value. However wine...More

Thank david7_edwards
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Compasses Inn
125 reviews
1.41 km away
Olio On The Green
75 reviews
1.24 km away
Rose and Crown Pub
40 reviews
1.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grey & Son Wheatsheaf
13 reviews
1.22 km away
Ceramics On The Hop
8 reviews
1.25 km away
Chelmsford Cathedral
189 reviews
2.67 km away
Chelmsford Museum
178 reviews
2.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
berwick093
23 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Coolhandlukegbr | Reviewed this property |
I suggest you look up the website. I don't give out my contact details needlessly.
0
Votes
Vivienne L
22 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Louvanuk | Reviewed this property |
There is a menu on the pub's website.
1
Vote
Vivienne L
22 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from barryd397 | Reviewed this property |
You have part of the answer from Phil H. There is a specials board which is regularly refreshed and that's outside the menu of course. If you need more information, call the manager. In my experience of this and other Chef... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Roxwell Road | Roxwell, Writtle CM1 3RU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Writtle
  • Phone Number: +44 1245 420245
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing