We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor Inn Restaurant & Bar

1 Water St, Little Current, Ontario P0P 1K0, Canada
+1 705-368-2023
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good36%
  • Average14%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“whitefish” (36 reviews)
“salad” (17 reviews)
“bison burger” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Water St, Little Current, Ontario P0P 1K0, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2018

Manitoulin Island has no Franchise Restaurants & the Anchor Inn of Little Current proves why this is a Good thing! Always satisfied , the most recent was breakfast [ Sat.. march 17/18 ] ordered western omelette , home/fries & rye toast & coffee . Under...More

Thank Teepee17
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the kind review!!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your breakfast. Hope to serve you again soon!

Reviewed 28 February 2018

Judging by the number of people here compared to the other restaurants in Little Current, this would seem to be the favourite of the people who live here. Good selection of dishes, drinks menu, and friendly servers. Bison burger is excellent, as are the fish...More

Thank gwilliams
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you so much for the kind review. We love that our menu has a little something for everyone. So happy that you enjoyed your dining experience with us! Denise and Chris

Reviewed 15 February 2018

Had a daily special and soup, soup tasted great and special was good and portion generous but expensive.

Thank wiky_6hills
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Our daily lunch special is a homemade soup and sandwich for 9.25...with generous portions.

Reviewed 24 December 2017

There's a variety of sandwiches and entrees that are pretty delicious. The coffee is also good, with attentive staff. The whitefish and sweet potato fries are particularly good. Great for families. Good food for such a small town.

Thank Liz J
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Thank you so much for the kind review. We love that we have a little something for everyone on our menu. Hope to see you again soon!!!!

Reviewed 16 November 2017

Tried bison burger for the first time, and it was very scrumptious! Along with great service, would definitely go back there!

Thank mcalisterpaul
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

So happy you enjoyed the food and the service!!! Looking forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We had the October special which is set prixe. Good choices. The whitefish was delicious, but the desserts were super good. Pumpkin pastry fingers with butter cream dipping sauce or caramel apple with cheesecake inside. All homemade and better than some of the other places...More

Thank HoBoBoHo
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you so much for the kind review. The kitchen staff has worked hard coming up with the weekly Fall-licious Menu to bring something different. We pride ourselves on the face that all of our desserts are homemade...many of them are original recipies come up...More

Reviewed 29 September 2017

Popped in for some food as this was close to the harbor. Had a nice local beer and some barley soup with a bacon cheese dip. The bacon cheese dip good, with huge bacon flavor and enough pita and chips to go around. Reasonable price,...More

Thank Rockiroads
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for the kind review! Hope to serve you again soon

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Had dinner last night, ordered a hamburger, the waitress asked if we would like mashed potato or fries with it, we chose mashed potatoes when we finished our meal and received our bill I noticed an extra charge called "make platter", I inquired as to...More

Thank dancer123452015
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Sorry you had such confusion when ordering your burgers with mashed potatoes. I rechecked the menu where it says the cost of the platters...and it's the same size lettering of the rest of the menu...it's even highlighted to bring your attention to it. You must...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

The bison was dry (med-rare), the roast beef was dry, the corned beef was good but everything else was sub-par. Way over priced and the reviews are too kind. Service was poor. The beer was good though.More

Thank Richard N
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience here. The reviews are kind because that isn't our norm to serve dry food. But it happens...We are only human. At least you had good beer to help down the dry food. If we always served our...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Service was slow. Took 10 minutes to bring drinks. Brought salad forgot but dressing. Another 4 minutes. Fish dinner ok but nothing special. So, unfortunately we were disappointed.More

Thank Denise W
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

So sorry you had such a lack luster experience at The Anchor, this is not our usual norm.I find it very odd that it would take such a long time to receive both your drinks and salad dressing, but will address the wait staff about...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Manitoulin Island
Anchor Inn Hotel
62 reviews
.00 km away
Bridgeway Motel
9 reviews
.35 km away
The Hawberry Motel
145 reviews
.39 km away
Wagon Wheel Motel
4 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Elliott's Restaurant
70 reviews
.43 km away
3 cows and a cone
124 reviews
.69 km away
Loco Beanz
55 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
North Channel Cruise Line
21 reviews
.05 km away
Ten Mile Point Trading Post
41 reviews
13.78 km away
Whitefish Falls
5 reviews
21.39 km away
Cup and Saucer Trail
222 reviews
23.81 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
oldautos2
10 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Anchor I | Property representative |
Yes we do sell whitefish at our Hotel. In fact it is the number one center of the plate item. We know the people from Herberts and they do an excellent job. We feature whitefish many different ways and it is usually one... More
0
Votes
PortRowanTraveler
7 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from PuslinchGuy | Reviewed this property |
This is a full service hotel, so I assume they do breakfast in their restaurant. If you mean : is breakfast included with the room? then you need to contact the hotel directly for their breakfast options.
1
Vote
leannelavoie
20 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Anchor I | Property representative |
Hello; Yes pet friendly on our patio outside but unfortunately no in our hotel rooms upstairs.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 3 - USD 25
Cuisine
American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Free Off-Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Water St, Little Current, Ontario P0P 1K0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Northeastern Ontario  >  Manitoulin Island  >  Little Current
  • Phone Number: +1 705-368-2023
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Anchor Inn Hotel
Description
The Anchor Inn Hotel is located in downtown Little Current on Manitoulin Island, Ontario Canada. The Hotel offers a great restaurant, lively bar, room, and nice inexpensive rooms and kitchenettes. We are located across from the re-developed waterfront and municipal marina, and also have a cool street-side patio and two streaming web-cams.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing