We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maxwell's Bar & Grill

Market Square, Claremorris, Ireland
+353 94 937 3791
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good35%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible14%
3 weeks ago
“soup of no return”
25 Jul 2018
“Nice food, nice service”
Open Now
9:00 am - 9:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub, European
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Square, Claremorris, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have been to this restaurant many times and have had the best service,food and drinks. Unfortunately,this will be the last. october bank holiday weekend was not the time to serve up COLD SOUP in COLD DISHES!!!! When we went in,it was warm and welcoming as...More

2  Thank Michael T
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We had a quick meal in Maxwell's and what we had was decent for pub food. They didn't open again while we were there which was a bit disappointing - I would have like to try it again

Thank mellymel41
WesternBrand, Owner at Maxwell's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for your response. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your return to us again someday. We indeed have to close on Monday’s & Tuesday’s due to the fact that it is notoriously difficult to get staff within the Hospitality industry,

Reviewed 18 June 2018

Good food well cooked at a very reasonable price and the staff are very helpful you can car the car at the back of the pub

Thank pfinn462860
WesternBrand, Owner at Maxwell's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you for your kind words

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Visited here recently and have to say the food was delicious, fast service and good value for money.... definetly worth a visit xx

Thank MichelleMarieB
WesternBrand, Owner at Maxwell's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you

Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Maxwells never disappoints. I have eaten here a few times over the last cpl of years and Sunday was no different... cuppa before a wander round town..and extremely good value and refreshing one i might add before we returned for a couple of plates of...More

Thank Ginanoname
MaxClaremorris, Owner at Maxwell's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for your kind words, they are very much appreciated

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

To make this short, the owner of Maxwells bar is a disgrace, we were called to do a gig there on Friday last. Which we did successfully may I add. After the gig, when everyone had left, the owner named as Ronan, clearly stated, that...More

4  Thank aaronskelly2001
MaxClaremorris, Manager at Maxwell's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Absolutely Correct, it was an Absolute Disgrace!!! The “Entertainment” turned up over 2 hours late, we had to give people their money back, Staff had to Clean up a Disabled Toilet that was full of used condoms. These Disabled Toilets were used as a Changing...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with family while sightseeing in London. Friendly staff and close to Holborn underground station. Excellent. breakfast but poor aircon in our room.

Thank BJPengland
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Had the burger here this evening, good portion sizes even with the smaller burger option and quite tasty, would have preferred if the chips hadn't been salted before being served but still very nice. Service was good, very friendly barman/server. Best of all they have...More

2  Thank galwaygirl2003
MaxClaremorris, Owner at Maxwell's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words!!

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Felt I should update my opinion as I've been back to Maxwells' a couple of times recently. The menu and service has greatly improved again - back to when it first opened. One thing that's missing is the chips - way back they were fantastic...More

Thank BspyB
MaxClaremorris, Owner at Maxwell's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank You for reviewing us again, we are continually striving to make things better with Changes in Personnel, New Menus and Changes of Suppliers just some of the things happening over the past 6 months. Last summer we were renovating our upstairs which had a...More

Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

After being in Ireland for a week and travelling around, I was craving something besides the usual (delicious!) pub fare that we had been having for dinner. We stopped in here and I ordered Spaghetti bolognese and it was delicious! I had a small Caesar...More

Thank April R
MaxClaremorris, Owner at Maxwell's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you very much for your very kind and wonderful review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Dalton Inn Hotel
100 reviews
.09 km away
The Western Hotel
87 reviews
.29 km away
McWilliam Park Hotel
826 reviews
.85 km away
Knock House Hotel
199 reviews
9.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Araby Coffee House & Restaurant
129 reviews
.04 km away
The Old Arch - Bar & Bistro
290 reviews
.10 km away
Aghnas Coffe Shop
100 reviews
.25 km away
Lighthouse Diner
54 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
McMahon/Clare Lake Park
61 reviews
.45 km away
Pots of Fun
20 reviews
1.16 km away
Gilligans Bar
27 reviews
.07 km away
PJ Byrnes
5 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Maxwell's Bar & Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 23
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Pub, European
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Square, Claremorris, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Mayo  >  Claremorris
  • Phone Number: +353 94 937 3791
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing