We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Botolphs Bridge Road | Lympne, Hythe CT21 4NL, England (Formerly Botolphs Bridge Pub & Restaurant)
+44 1303 267346
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 21:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 17:00 - 20:00
Tue - Sun 12:00 - 15:00
Tue - Thu 18:00 - 20:30
Fri - Sat 17:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 325: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were staying close by and an old menu had been left in our accommodation which had some very inviting dishes on it. The reality on the evening we went was completely the opposite. The dinner menu was so boring and uninteresting it was quite difficult to chose as nothing appealed. I had a very over cooked liver dish. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan H
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went to lunch in the nice out of the way, quiet pub/restaurant. Was pleasantly surprised with the warm surroundings and cheerful staff on such a cold and windy day. Would put the prices as cheap to mid-range with a nice selection and all served on piping hot plates and opulent portions. So good I will definitely be returning to sample... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Botolphs B, Owner at Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking time to write your comments which, I'd like to say, we truly do appreciate. I see your daughter's birthday is forthcoming and that you've put us on the shortlist, fingers crossed we'll be the one you pick to celebrate this wonderful occasion. The meals you had are from our... More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went to this Pub as Sunday Menu is not solely Roast Meats. Chose Haddock with veg and new potatoes and also Lamb Hotpot with veg. Both priced at £11. Haddock was OK but new potatoes were unpleasant and either old or of poor quality. The Hot pot was most unsatisfactory; the lamb was tasteless and tough, the gravy watery and... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidlgowen
Botolphs B, Owner at Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, albeit not one that I enjoy reading. Whilst I was around yesterday I believe when you came up to pay I was with one of our other customers and it was only when you'd left the building I was made aware of the situation. I have to be honest... More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Since my last review some great improvements have been made. We've been back several times and the speed and quality (friendliness) of service has definitely improved. Apart from the odd little blip, the quality of the food has always been good. And so, with an inviting log fire, some good ales, well-priced wines and a restaurant to match I am... More 

Helpful?
Thank SeedyG
Botolphs B, Owner at Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello again, I'm so pleased we've "stepped up to the plate" excuse the pun, insofar that we've improved on everything, going back to how it once was here. What with myself and David helping out on several shifts this, we feel, has helped the situation plus one or two of our staff (who we felt let us down) have departed,... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So pleased that Botolphs is back up to standard - this was our first visit since some very indifferent experiences last December & January. The food, service and the atmosphere were first class. Hope it continues.

Helpful?
Thank David B
Botolphs B, Owner at Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, It was lovely seeing you both here last Sunday for lunch. I am pleased you decided to come back again and that we didn't let you down. You know, it goes without saying, I was upset you had a bad experience before, but am delighted to know we've stepped back up to the plate, please excuse the pun. I... More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

3 of us a very nice Sunday roast here, on offer was turkey and lamb really tasty, nice roast potatoes, mixed veg, with delicious cauliflower cheese. The chilean wine was lovely as was the Hophead bitter on offer. With good service and a friendly owner it was a very nice day.

Helpful?
Thank Dan D
Botolphs B, Owner at Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking time to write these kind words about your visit here last Sunday. I'm so pleased you had a good lunch here,, I enjoyed chatting with you all at the bar, both before you sat down for your meal and afterwards too. I will pass your comments on to my lovely staff about the delicious food... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

After waiting for over an hour for our food to arrive at the table we discovered that the food was of poor quality and unedible. We informed the staff about the poor quality of the food served who kindly removed the main courses from our bill and asked us if we wished for desert. Well they couldn't even get that... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank daveandsam112
Botolphs B, Owner at Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for writing your candid review regarding your recent visit here on our American themed evening on Saturday 8 November. Having spoken now to all the staff (individually) who worked that evening, we are now in a position to comment on your report. We understand you rang around 20 minutes before to see if we had a table... More 

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

Very friendly chatty staff. The range of food on offer was great with several specials available. Because there had been a small delay in serving our starters the waitress offered a free drink,of our choice,to compensate for the wait. We all felt that this was a particularly nice touch,Well done the landlord!! When the food arrived we were not disappointed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peterperfik
Botolphs B, Owner at Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you taking time to write your lovely review. Having owned our lovely inn for over 11 years we have always strived to accommodate all our customers. We pride ourselves on the fact that 99% of our food is home made and, as we speak, we are in the throes of putting together our new winter menu. We hope... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

No frills , local good pub grub , very friendly staff. Nice relaxing atmosphere . Large menu choice. Large portion sizes. Would recommend popping in.

Helpful?
Thank SouthEastKent
Botolphs B, Owner at Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are in the throes of putting together our new winter menu which hopefully will be available from the end of this month. We hope to see you here again sometime in the future. Have a nice weekend! Best wishes Mandy More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Been meaning to try this pub for some time, often in the area for a day out. However, on this occasion we are staying locally for a week so we popped in for a sandwich on Saturday 1st October, what a sandwich, excellent hand cut ham and in abundance, and the accompanying salad was crisp and fresh and the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony A
Botolphs B, Owner at Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello! Wow! What a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write here on TA, but also for coming to us twice this weekend just gone. I remember you both yesterday, it was lovely meeting you and having a chat. Enjoy your week here on the Romney Marsh, and thank you again for your lovely comments.... More 

Travellers who viewed Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 20:00
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Botolphs Bridge Road | Lympne, Hythe CT21 4NL, England (Formerly Botolphs Bridge Pub & Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Hythe  >  West Hythe
  • Phone Number: +44 1303 267346
Description
Countryside family run public house with restaurant. On the marsh overlooking lympne zoo with cows and sheep either side of us too in tranquil surroundings. We strive for all who visit, old and young, to have a great experience whether eating or drinking. Cosy log fires in the winter and comfortable outside garden seating for those summer days. Come and visit us as we would love to welcome you here. DOGS WELCOME TOO!!!!
Food Served :12:00-14:45, Eve 6.00-8.30(Tues-Fri)
:5-9 (Sat)5.00-8.00(Sun)

!!!Please note booking in advance is highly recommended to avoid disappointment!!!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Dover, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Botolphs Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?