We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Charnwood Arms

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Beveridge Lane, Coalville LE67 1TB, England
+44 1530 813644
Website
Today
12:00 - 11:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 11:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 238: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was outstanding especially by a member of staff called Marie who was very accommodating and dealt with our issue effectively and quickly. It is this type of service that gives the location a good name. Thankyou Marie for a nice and pleade ant afternoon.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank karenkM9964WI
Management response:

This is amazing feedback, Marie will be so pleased especially as she is a new member of our team. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Beaworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been in other Hungry House resturants in our own area we had no fears visiting this Hungry House. We were in the area on a Sunday and it was very busy. But we found the welcoming staff very helpful and they found us a table, without to much fuss. We had the Sunday roast and the food was hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith T
Management response:

Good Morning Keith, thanks for taking the time to leave us such valuable comments. I am pleased our Sunday Lunch was hot and tasty and was served quickly. I do apologise that you found some of our team a little abrupt I will pass on these comments and ensure all of our team provide excellent customer service going forward. We... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited twice since turning to a hungry horse establishment. Both as bad as each other. Food over cooked and tasteless. Perhaps need to think about employing a chef that can actually cook a decent meal. Very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank thomaslou50
Management response:

Good Morning, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback from your recent visit, I do apologise that on this occasion we didn't meet your expectations I will pass on your comments to our kitchen team so that we can put actions in place. We do hope you come back and try us again, 3rd time lucky... More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Found by chance just off the A511. Sunday lunch, massive choice, well cooked tasty food, large portion and all at less than £10 per head including a glass of wine.

Helpful?
Thank MJBWBrighton
Management response:

Good Morning, glad you found us by chance and I hope you will come back and visit us again soon on your travels. I am pleased you think we are great value for money with excellent food. I will pass on your kind comments to the team More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

checked in as booked a table for mid afternoon , didnt seem too busy , had some drinks food arrived ,and we ate , had some desserts and we had been there just under 2 hours and the manager seemed focused on our table as though you got the feeling they was wanting you to leave , this also happened... More 

Helpful?
Thank leetl150
Management response:

Good Morning Lee, thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments on your most recent visit. I can assure you we do not mean to make you pressured into leaving, we really value your custom we just like to keep all areas clean and tidy as we go. I apologise that you felt this way on this occasion... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very poor and awful meal. Ordered Jamaican Jerk Chicken it was just a simple chicken breast with Jerk Sauce poured on out of a bottle, chicken not marinated or slow cooked just lazy cooking, sauce was cold. Wife had chicken korma and was something out of a ready meal, very bland and tasteless curry. Would not recommend to eat here

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Management response:

Good Morning Paul, thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable comments, unfortunately as a branded business we have a specific spec that we have to adhere to and the Jerk chicken is not marinated. I will however pass your comments onto our area support chef to see if this is something we can look into for... More 

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Turned up just before 8 and struggled to find a table as they were all "reserved". The menu had plenty to choose from and we ordered 2 meals from the oap deal and 2 others. Food arrived fairly quickly, but didn't look too appealing. The oap cottage pie looked like slop and my chicken was sponge-like (I suspect cooked from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gembagembagem
Management response:

Good Morning, I am sorry that on this occasion we didn't exceed your expectations I apologise that you felt you were an inconvenience this is not the standard we work towards and you should have been able to sit where you had chosen. I will pass on your comments to the team so that we can put actions in place... More 

Coalville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had excellent food ,quality and service from the Charnwood Arms Pub. The staff provided quick and amazing service.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
1 Thank rjordanfashion
Management response:

Fantastic Review. myself and the team are very pleased with your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Never will I go back... first of all we had to wait ages, then the waitress dropped my daughter food (ok accidents happen) but whilst waiting for our order they must have just put mine on the side so when they brought our meals mine was cold!!! I had to take food back to counter myself... when it returned re... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank karen d
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable comments. I do apologise that on this occasion we didn't meet your expectation and can assure you this is not the usual high standards we set here. I will focus on making sure my team have a full in depth understanding of the service expected and hopefully when you... More 

Coalville
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Great place to go with the family, all the meals are good value. Drink choice is great and the desserts are lovely.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
1 Thank dariusm797
Management response:

Brilliant feedback, thanks so much. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Charnwood Arms also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Charnwood Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 14
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 11:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 11:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 11:00
Thursday
12:00 - 11:00
Friday
12:00 - 11:00
Saturday
12:00 - 11:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Beveridge Lane, Coalville LE67 1TB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Coalville
  • Phone Number: +44 1530 813644
  • This restaurant is at Charnwood Arms

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Charnwood Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Charnwood Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?