We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Hall Hotel

Market Place, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RH, England
+44 1433 620160
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“tea room” (23 reviews)
“the pub” (28 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
Market Place, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RH, England
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had walked miles long the ridge of Mam Tor, and were heading to the station on foot to travel back to Edale. The sun was shining, we turned the corner, and there was the Old Hall Hotel, with loads of people outside enjoying food...More

Thank jfjackson
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 2 nights staying at the Old Hall Hotel and eat downstairs in the bar both evenings. Excellent but simple selection of meals all cooked to order. The landlord makes you very welcomed. There is an excellent selection of draft ales. On the first evening...More

Thank NickEastSussex
Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon entry greeted with a big sign saying "Muddy Boots Welcome" which was a very nice touch with much merriment we coiffed several jars of ale and decided to eat some food - very good selection of beers on tap. Bar staff Fairly friendly and...More

2  Thank richbakewell
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello. I'm Glad you enjoyed you visit to The Old Hall. I must say, it's always nice to have diners in our restaurant who enjoy cooking themselves as they often have very interesting feedback. However on this occasion I am somewhat surprised, as we don't...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying locally we went for supper here and the place is fine, bar staff helpful, friendly and efficient but the food was amazing. We had a sharing platter to start - huge and very tasty, then I had a steak, my wife fish- both were...More

Thank jami mike
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you very much for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your trip to The Old Hall. I do like to think of my little old pub to be more than "fine", but I'll happily settle for that. I do hope to see...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

A very busy, lively pub. The festival was enjoyable despite wet weather and you are given the choice of glass (for a deposit) or plastic. A good range of beers and cider on offer. We were all entertained by a man balancing heer on his...More

Thank Demiwar
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello. I'm afraid I don't really agree with some of your point there. It was indeed a very busy evening. This is not only due to having a Beer Festival, but it does often get a little swamped on bank holiday weekends as The Hope...More

Reviewed 1 April 2017

called in few times while in a cottage local to it,pot of tea in café side first morn,then sum lovely meals and wines over the week,friendly staff great food,thanks will be back

Thank adam j
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you ever so much for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed my little pub. I look forward to seeing you again on your return. See you soon. Rick

Reviewed 21 March 2017

A nicely decorated pub with good atmosphere offering well-cooked, if a little standard pub food. Good helpings. Good if you're just looking for a good value, reliable pub meal.More

Thank DadaGee
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello. A rather unusual title for a review, it does rather insinuate that The Old Hall is just average. I know that I could be considered as 'biased' but I feel the "standard pub food" description just doesn't fit. Whilst we do have a place...More

Reviewed 14 March 2017

Called for morning coffee & a sandwiches - went inside to order (not busy) told to take seat back outside and will come out to us to take order - really do not know why not take it there but hey ho, back outside we...More

1  Thank Sharon B
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello As you can imagine, when I read this Review, I was absolutely mortified. There is no excuse for poor service. One of our Tea Lady's should have been with you straight away to take your order. I can only offer my humble apologies for...More

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Called in for breakfast wednesday morning what a disappointment it was the bacon was anaemic the fried eggs were like rubber sat to long under lights sausage was warm at best mushrooms and beans were ok the tea room staff were really great let down...More

Thank simbapig
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello. I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your breakfast experience with us. We usually get such good feedback (as you can see from other reviews). Unfortunately I just don't know what went so wrong. It is so important that we find out any...More

Reviewed 14 February 2017

We were heading back to Buxton from Stanage Edge and in need of refreshment and a snack. Having run along the edge energy levels were a tad low and pickled egg, pork scratchings and a pint were the obvious solution. Service was excellent, the beer...More

Thank C16VEH
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello. What a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed my little Valentines fun. "This year show her you care. Free pickled egg with every pint of Guinniss". There weren't many takers, but the advert was good. I look forward to seeing you again soon for...More

Nearby Restaurants
The Cheshire Cheese
240 reviews
.71 km away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
167 reviews
1.58 km away
Curry Cabin
207 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Losehill House Spa
28 reviews
1.63 km away
Peak Mountaineering Day Tours
374 reviews
2.13 km away
Ladybower Reservoir
514 reviews
4.32 km away
Stanage Edge
347 reviews
7.20 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Prank beast B
Can you have breakfast served in your room if staying overnight?
5 January 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Rick E | Property representative |
Hello. Sorry, we don't have the frailties to do room service at the moment. For all enquiries or if you wish to make a reservation, please contact me or one of my staff on 01433620160 between 0900 and 2300 7 days a... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hope Valley  >  Hope
  • Phone Number: +44 1433 620160
We have transformed the Old Hall and the service you will receive. My aim is to provide a relaxed atmosphere for family and friends to eat and drink with comfortable accommodation. We offer all your favourite classic pub meals from our experienced chefs using fresh ingredients and also have a variety of specials with a twist. We also have a tea room where you can enjoy breakfasts, a quick bite for lunch or afternoon tea and coffee. You must try our famous Old Hall Hotel Derbyshire Breakfast! The tea room can be hired for a special occasion with a variety of options catering for your needs. Please do come and visit us for a meal, drink or stay in one of comfortable bed and breakfast rooms. You can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Old Hall Hotel in Hope, Peak District.