We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro 49 - CLOSED

49 King Street East | beside LCBO and old schoolhouse, Bobcaygeon, Kawartha Lakes, Ontario K0M 1A0, Canada
+1 705-738-0049
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good0%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible21%
4 Mar 2014
“Closed”
1 Feb 2014
“Not even there anymore!!”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
American, Canadian, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
49 King Street East | beside LCBO and old schoolhouse, Bobcaygeon, Kawartha Lakes, Ontario K0M 1A0, Canada
All Details
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This place closed down last summer (2013). I ate there earlier and it was no great loss. I guess it's not comming back as it has been converted into an antique store.

Thank Logan D
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This place is not even there anymore! Though I would stop by, but when we got there found the place was closed up!More

Thank sue f
Lynn W, Owner at Bistro 49, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

I notice your tripadvisor account shows you as being located in Bobcaygeon. I'm surprised that you did not know, or hear about, us closing in July last year. We've been closed almost 7 months! It also surprises me that others would bother to do a...More

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Went for breakfast on very hot day. No air conditioning on, only one floor fan...doors wide open. Flies landing on everything...including our table and glasses while eating. Young lady early 20's(?) served us....she needed a lesson in how not to dress for work. She wasn't...More

1  Thank jjhunbun
Lynn W, Owner at Bistro 49, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Why would anyone bother to write a review on a restaurant that has closed permanently? (as of July 15th). Your visit must have been over 1 1/2 months ago so why bother now to write at the end of August? Having a bad day? Just...More

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have dined here several times a year over the past 2 years. The breakfast used to be good but very expensive. One sausage link for breakfast with 2 eggs? Common..left hungry and disappointed.More

Thank G R
Lynn W, Owner at Bistro 49, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

You comment that you've been eating at Bistro 49 for two (2) years. We haven't been open 2 years, just 14 months. We serve Oktoberfest or Italian Sausages, not breakfast link sausage. Each one of our sausages, that we cut in half and served on...More

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Also the service is very slow as well as the workers are very rude, we asked them to refresh our COLD food and all they did was put it in the damn microwave, which made the veggies like rubber! We will never go back. Nor...More

Thank Bobcaygeonlover
Lynn W, Owner at Bistro 49, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your input, but you'll not have to worry about not coming again as we are now officially closed in Bobcaygeon. We would like to point out however, that we weren't ranked #1 in Bobcaygeon in 15 months with serving microwaved packaged food....More

Reviewed 25 June 2013

I was in Bobcaygeon for Bikefest Sunday and went to Bistro 49 for lunch and it was hands down the best food I've tasted. They have gotten an exhaust fan since that last time I was there and even on a very hot humid day...More

1  Thank kwrtha-foodie81
Lynn W, Owner at Bistro 49, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thanks very much for the great review!

Reviewed 24 June 2013

One can't beat the feeling of comfort that a home cooked meal, made by somebody else, conjurs up! That being said the atmosphere at Bistro 49 is the very next best thing!! The food is absolutely amazing and top quality!! We are so glad that...More

1  Thank Francine P
Lynn W, Owner at Bistro 49, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thanks very much for the great review!! Lynn

Reviewed 22 June 2013

I had a craving for some sweet breakfast choices, so I checked out Bistro 49 and their french toast was delicious! Panut butter cream, chocolate drizzle and bananas! What's not to enjoy? Along with Chef Mikes beautiful presentation the Bistro itself is a lovely environment...More

1  Thank EmilyAutumn
Lynn W, Owner at Bistro 49, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thanks very much for the great review!! Lynn, Owner

Reviewed 22 June 2013

My girlfriend took me to the Bistro for a quick lunch, and the burgers were fantastic! Best burger I have had in town.

Thank Andrewchevy
Lynn W, Owner at Bistro 49, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thanks very much for the great review!! Lynn, Owner

Reviewed 22 June 2013

The food was the best I have had in a long time. Amazing home style meatloaf brings back memories and the sauce was great! Returning here for sure.

1  Thank Foodie2795
Lynn W, Owner at Bistro 49, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thanks very much for the great review!! Lynn

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Just for the Halibut
264 reviews
.16 km away
Water's Edge Restaurant
196 reviews
.37 km away
Kawartha Coffee Company
145 reviews
.36 km away
Donattela
215 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kawartha Settlers' Village
55 reviews
1.32 km away
Horseless Carriage Museum
62 reviews
6.98 km away
Kawartha Country Wines
57 reviews
14.41 km away
Happy Days Houseboats - Day Rentals
28 reviews
9.01 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
USD 7 - USD 23
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 49 King Street East | beside LCBO and old schoolhouse, Bobcaygeon, Kawartha Lakes, Ontario K0M 1A0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Kawartha Lakes  >  Bobcaygeon
  • Phone Number: +1 705-738-0049
  • E-mail
Description
Bistro 49 closed permanently as of Monday, July 15th 2013.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing