We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn

5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
+44 1569 762617
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good39%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cullen skink” (49 reviews)
“mixed grill” (16 reviews)
“fish sliders” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, European, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Lovely meal with a big family group. Service was good and everyone enjoyed their food. Good to see gluten free items marked on the menu - would be great if they could do more tho - especially gf fish and chips or the frito misto.

Thank Gdub80
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

No matter if you go for formal dining or eat in the bar the food is always good, service is excellent. We go here often as it's a great atmosphere, so this time we went for lunch and took our dog too. We were made...More

Thank karenavis
Reviewed 1 week ago

We couldn't actually get into the restaurant part, so had a meal in the bar. The food was good, staff were helpful and polite. Service was reasonably prompt, but as it was the bar area it was obviously noisier than the restaurant would have been,...More

Thank Heather K
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Heather K Yes, booking is always a good idea, especially at weekends. We are sorry that we weren't able to accommodate you within the restaurant, but that you still enjoyed the food in the bar. Hopefully we will be able to fit you in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped in for lunch after visiting Dunnotar Castle. We had the special - half sandwhich with a bowl of soup. I had the chicken salad with cullen skink. Definitely worth paying a bit extra for the cullen skink! (for americans, its like a new...More

Thank Leo K
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Leo K We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the Cullen skink! In this part of the world everyone has their own variation on this local staple - and of course everyone thinks their own grandmother's recipe is the best - so...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had heard good things about The Ship Inn, and the reviews were great, so we decided that this would be our chosen eatery for our night in Stonehaven. So we sat in the bar area (we weren't aware that the restaurant was a separate...More

Thank Lynsey H
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lynsey H Thanks so much for a really great review! Fresh, locally sourced seafood is our speciality so we are delighted that you enjoyed it. We say it time and time again - fish and chips may be a simple dish, but done right...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice place for evening drinks or dinner. Brie raspberry salad a hit along with the Cullen Skink (fish and potato soup). Brownie was very good.More

Thank elmac268
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear elmac268 We agree that there is nothing quite like that spectacular harbour view while enjoying a drink in an evening! Thank you so much for your feedback, which we have shared with the kitchen team. They introduced the new summer menu a couple of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have frequented this establishment a few times in the past and it's always first class, the menu had a good variety and the food is always to a high standard, It can be a busy place however the waiting staff always seems to be...More

1  Thank diageo4589
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear diageo4589 Wow! The best in Stonehaven - that is an incredible endorsement! Thank you so much for your support and kind words, and for sharing your opinion with others. We've had the same team in place at The Ship for many years now -...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Waitress was so rude we left after 1st drink after she brought up 4 drinks for 3 of us and said we lied about the extra drink ! So embarrassed as the restaurant was busy we just couldn't believe how aggressive she was.we promptly left...More

5  Thank Brettmac69
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Brettmac69 Ensuring we provide a high level of customer service is very important to us – as is underlined by the fact that we receive an overwhelming number of positive reviews referencing our friendly and helpful staff - and we therefore take complaints such...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This pub has a great atmosphere, food is ok. But importantly: take your time to taste some of the great and rare whiskeys on stock. Friendly locals will be happy to advise, just follow and you will not be disappointed!More

Thank Michel H
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Michel H We have malts from every region of Scotland and as well as some of the internationally recognised brands, we have a great selection from some lesser known distilleries. If you're new to whisky it can be quite daunting to select one to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Welcoming and great pub food menu with good craft beers. We had the seafood platter for two which was loaded with 'fishy goodies' plus two drinks all for £23. Very good and the staff were friendly and accommodating. If in town this is where you...More

Thank Alan S
Simon C, Owner at The Captain's Table at the Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alan S Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review - we are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit so much. We have recently launched our new summer menu and there's a real debate going as to which is...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
the villa
160 reviews
.25 km away
The Tolbooth Seafood Restaurant
435 reviews
.09 km away
Marine Hotel
416 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stonehaven Beach
230 reviews
.41 km away
Stonehaven Open Air Swimming Pool
181 reviews
1.05 km away
Stonehaven Habour
17 reviews
.08 km away
Stonehaven VisitScotland iCentre
27 reviews
.55 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Sandranne C
Are dogs allowed in your establishment?
18 October 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from StroudOKBlondee | Reviewed this property |
I saw dogs there and was so impressed. They were so well behaved!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Stonehaven
  • Phone Number: +44 1569 762617
  • This restaurant is at Ship Inn
Description
Historic inn (1771) on the edge of Stonehaven's picturesque harbour. Stylish glass-fronted restaurant (38 covers) with extensive and varied menu. Seafood a speciality and daily specials board. Meals also served in cosy bar which offers a good range of draught (including real Ales)and bottled beers and ciders. Wine available by the glass or from wine list. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wide selection of soft drinks and excellent freshly ground coffee.We also have an outside terrace overlooking the harbour where we serve meals (weather permitting).11 luxurious ensuite bedrooms (7 with harbour views).
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing