We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barge Inn

Hawk Hill | Wickford, Battlesbridge SS11 7RE, England
+44 1268 732622
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good34%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“whitebait” (12 reviews)
“liver” (9 reviews)
“pudding” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hawk Hill | Wickford, Battlesbridge SS11 7RE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived without a booking on a busy Sunday lunchtime. We were seated almost immediately and were able to place our order quickly. The roasts were extremely large and very tasty which was a pleasant surprise. I would highly recommend this pub and will definitely...More

1  Thank ray_clarke101
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely warm, cosy and friendly Inn. Good food, smashing staff and a comfy spot to rest and chat for a while.

Thank Theresa L
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to the Barge today for a Christmas Meal and we all agreed the food and service could not be better. I really enjoyed my experience not been for years but will be back soon and will tell everyone how nice it all was.

Thank Sue M
BargeBattlesbridge, General Manager at The Barge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments. We are so pleased you had such a wonderful time, Have a great Christmas.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here after a day out and decided to enter barge inn. Greeted to warm welcome by staff but came to see faulty staffs way communicating with the kitchen as the order took forever. Thanks for the high contents of fat from your pub mate....More

2  Thank revboss101
BargeBattlesbridge, General Manager at The Barge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What a very strange review. I wonder if this person is able to speak as well as they write! Seems like a bundle of potential intellectual fun!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Called in on Sunday 12th, was going to have a roast as we have done many times in the past. Ordered a drink at the bar pint of peroni and a small bottle of prosecco and charged £12.45..........I thought I was in London/Italy......we decided not...More

Thank paul672555
The B, General Manager at The Barge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Paul Thanks for the review, and your comments. Our prices haven't changed for 2-years, so not sure when you last visited, however yes, £7.50 for a 200ml bottle of excellent quality Chilled Prosecco served in a frost chilled champagne glass, and £4.95 for a...More

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We often round off a visit to the antiques centre with a pint and a meal. Great food, beer and prices. Highly recommended.

Thank shaun t
The B, General Manager at The Barge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review and comments

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

A so called Gastropub......more like a gastrojoke. First we tried to order sandwiches for a light lunch to be told they had run out of brown bread.....no problem we would have white ‘tiger bread’.......only to be told no white bread.....therefore no bread of any sort...More

1  Thank Mark C
BargeBattlesbridge, General Manager at The Barge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hello Mark C What a pity you didn't make any effort to bring all of these complaints to the attention of either the supervisors working the shift or the duty manager whilst you was here at The Barge. Wonder why that was! Clearly you can't...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017

We went to the Barge Inn last week and I was glad I had booked a table for 4 as it was quite busy. The girl taking the booking was very pleasant and helpful on the phone. We ordered the Beer Battered Haddock and Chips...More

Thank maryL0809
BargeBattlesbridge, General Manager at The Barge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you very much for your review, its another 5* review which we really appreciate so much. You have to wonder what the hell 'Mark C' (the next reviewer is going on about, maybe he just had a bad day!

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here and were very impressed, roast dinners were excellent and staff were friendly and attentive even when busy.

Thank liveseywhu
BargeBattlesbridge, General Manager at The Barge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Its good to hear you had such a good meal and enjoyed the service so much, thanks.

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

This pub offers better than average pub food at reasonable prices. The service is friendly and good and the menu offers a good choice. There is also good outside seating if the weather is suitable.

Thank rvb269
BargeBattlesbridge, General Manager at The Barge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thanks for the review and comments

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lodge Country Inn
301 reviews
1.54 km away
Battlesbridge Antiques Centre
34 reviews
.11 km away
The Hawk
1,096 reviews
.44 km away
Toby Carvery Runwell
601 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Battlesbridge Antiques and Craft Centre
178 reviews
.04 km away
MB Falconry
7 reviews
1.94 km away
Tropical Wings Zoo
943 reviews
3.35 km away
Marsh Farm
818 reviews
3.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Djboaty123
16 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 15 answers
Response from vik m | Reviewed this property |
Your life must be so dull......
2
Votes
jacquieaton
15 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from BargeBattlesbridge | Property representative |
Yes The Barge In is Dog freindly
1
Vote
kblackaller
1 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from The B | Property representative |
...
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 12 - USD 28
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hawk Hill | Wickford, Battlesbridge SS11 7RE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Battlesbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1268 732622
  • E-mail
Description
A fantastic 300 year old Inn, full of character. A selection of Cask conditioned Ales, premium lagers and wide selection of wines. We serve only freshly prepared food, our menu is changed seasonally, classic pub dishes are served all year round. Good old fashioned Sunday Roast from £11.95 Serving breakfast from 10am every day.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing