We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wheel Inn

Tresillian TR2 4BA, England
+44 1872 520293
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good23%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (11 reviews)
“mixed grill” (3 reviews)
“peas” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Tresillian TR2 4BA, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Have visited for evening meal a number of times during our May trips to Cornwall over several years. Never fails to disappoint. Good varied set menu with blackboard specials. The homemade leek and potato bake is a real favorite with us. Always receive a friendly...More

Thank JPSLittleAston
apbellama, Owner at The Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Hi JSP, Landlady here, many thanks for your review, much appreciated by all of us here. Every time I think about re-writing the menu, I consider what I can take off. And every time I think about the leek bake, someone puts a good review...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We eat here regularly, good home cooked food, a good selection from the menu and there's also a specials board. If we're going out with friends would always take them to the "Wheel" as you can guarantee you will get a lovely meal and good...More

Thank maryprobus
apbellama, Owner at The Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Maryprobus, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, always nice to hear from locals who have been coming here for a long time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

With their traditional 'pub grub' and 'specials from the board', it's a lovely place to eat. The food is tasty, very good value and filling. Local produce and suppliers are used so you know the food is going to be wonderful. The staff (who are...More

Thank Yellow Belly J J
apbellama, Owner at The Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Yellow Belly J J (intriguing!), Landlady here. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, much appreciated by both us and our small, hardworking team. Nice to see someone appreciating our traditional style & values. Hope we see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Working in the area once a year we always look forward to a meal at the Wheel. Have been 4 years and the standard is always very good. Well presented and a friendly welcome.

Thank Alan G
apbellama, Owner at The Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Hello Alan, Landlady here, and thank you once again for posting a review. Your comments are much appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you again next year, if not sooner!

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have passed this pub on a regular basis and decided to go in for a meal as the history and appearance appealed to me. I was not disappointed. Small inside but full of character and history. Ordered the two steaks for £17 meal deal...More

Thank paulbrookman
apbellama, Owner at The Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Brooky, Landlady here, and thank you for taking the time to post a review - it's always good to hear from someone local who has made it through the door after passing so many times. If I had a £1 for everyone who's ever...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When on holiday, we always make a 25 mile round trip to visit this lovely pub, just love the leek and potato bake ,followed by sticky toffee pudding ,just fabulous,,, a great traditional pub and we always take a look to see if the swans...More

Thank hairybear007
apbellama, Owner at The Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Hairybear, good to hear from you again - it's looking a bit like the annual school report time! I'm just pleased we keep seeing you back. Glad to see you still enjoy the place, and yes the swan is on her nest again. Happy...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Wheel Inn is a fantastic local pub serving great food, amazing portions and fantastic service! Simon, his wife and staff work extremely hard to make The Wheel Inn a most enjoyable and relaxing setting. A must visit for all locals, people passing through or...More

1  Thank Graham K
apbellama, Owner at The Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Graham K, Landlady here. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, always nice to hear from a local (as well as all the visitors!). I've shared your comments with the staff - much appreciated. Come back again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We passed this pub in the afternoon and decided to go back for our evening meal. It was Tuesday "Steak night". There was an 8oz rump steak with all the trimmings - 2 for £17 -excellent value for money and deliciously cooked and presented! We...More

Thank shopper21
apbellama, Owner at The Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Shopper21, Landlady here, and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Pleased to see you enjoyed your meal with us, and thank you for leaving our details at your accommodation, we really appreciate that. Enjoy the rest of your holiday, and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our meals were very good and we were all happy with our meal. Friendly nothing too much trouble also dog friendly. We would certainly visit again to meet up with friends even though it is a long way for us.More

Thank Marian P
apbellama, Owner at The Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Hello Marian P, thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Pleased to see you enjoyed your lunch with us and your comments are much appreciated by all the staff here. For anyone else reading this, we are indeed dog-friendly as far...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

First time I've ever had Seafood Lasagne and it was absolutely delicious. I usually have Beef Lasagne however thought I would try something different. It had salmon, prawns, cod and haddock in it. Absolutely gorgeous. I was full very quickly but couldn't stop eating it....More

Thank Kerry-Leigh F
apbellama, Owner at The Wheel Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kerry-Leigh, many thanks for posting a review, always good to get feedback. Glad you enjoyed the seafood lasagne, it certainly seemed to go down very well with other customers. It will definitely by back! Alison

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hawkins Arms Probus
19 reviews
3.49 km away
Tandoori Spice Indian Cuisine
13 reviews
3.28 km away
The Rising Sun Pub
396 reviews
3.90 km away
Nearby Attractions
Truro Cathedral
952 reviews
4.23 km away
Hall for Cornwall
312 reviews
4.23 km away
Skinner's Brewery
120 reviews
3.97 km away
Royal Cornwall Museum
198 reviews
4.46 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
davo1956
Hi , do you cater for gluten free food please, many thanks on behalf of boss ( wife )
2 August 2016|
Answer
Response from apbellama | Property representative |
Yes we do, we can generally work around many of our menu items. Our chips have no coating, our butcher's ham is gluten free - no breadcrumbs - and many of our sauces, e.g for prawns, and our mayo, are gluten free. If the... More
0
Votes
jeanette h
Hello, Please could you tell me if you cater for vegetarians. Thankyou very much. Jeanette.
21 July 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from apbellama | Property representative |
Hi Jeanette, yes we do cater for vegetarians, 3 options Veggie Lasagne, Homemade Leek & Potato bake, and Mediterranean Veg Risotto. We also do jacket potatoes with e.g. cheese, homemade coleslaw or baked beans, and may be... More
1
Vote
Janet H
how can I get a menu please? we always ate there on our first holiday together in 1985 and it is our 30th anniversary this year so would love to return?
23 June 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from apbellama | Property representative |
Janet I've sent you a separate message.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 10 - USD 21
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:30
18:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
18:00 - 23:00
11:30 - 15:30
Friday
18:00 - 23:00
11:30 - 15:30
Saturday
18:00 - 23:00
11:30 - 15:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tresillian TR2 4BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Tresillian
  • Phone Number: +44 1872 520293
  • E-mail