We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound

Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
+44 118 973 2269
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good22%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (40 reviews)
“sunday roast” (16 reviews)
“pork” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Seemed strangely quiet for a Friday night especially as had been unable to book the restaurant at the desired time of 7.30, so had to settle for an earlier time. Nice decor. Friendly attentive staff. But food... Plates for the table were nice and of...More

Thank Tara H
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I went here with my Dad for a quick pint before relaxing for the rest of the afternoon. The prices reflected the lovely decor and the atmosphere was delightful. I’d definitely recommend it

Thank Greg H
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Greg, Thank you very much for taking the time to add a review for us and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I hope we see you back again soon. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having just moved into the area I had visited a number of pubs that offered food in a nice environment. Well, The Greyhound hit the target on all my requirements. The decor is so nice and the staff are wonderfully attentive but without being too...More

Thank Richard I
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Richard Thank you very much for your kind words and lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food, great decor, friendly staff. We had a Christmas party here last year and the food was top notch.

Thank islandgirl7910
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review and I do hope that you will consider us again for your Christmas celebrations. I look forward to seeing you back again soon. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went with some friends for a Sunday roast, I haven’t eaten here before but we live locally so keen to try it. The main issue was the ridiculous wait times for food for an early Sunday evening dinner. We ordered food before 6pm and...More

1  Thank Ravi B
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ravi Thank you for your review and my sincere apologies for the delay, it had been a very busy lunch service and a couple of items had had to be prepared and cooked from fresh which had caused the delay but my sincerest apologies...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not been here for a while, so thought we'd try it again for a simple lunch. The car park was almost empty as was the pub, so no problem with not having booked. The waitress was very pleasant although we did have to find her...More

1  Thank Goldofish
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've used The Greyhound for business meetings a few times over the years, but recently (August Bank Holiday Monday) we went for a social lunch. The facility was busy without being crowded. Service was acceptable and the food really nice (we had the Ploughman's).

Thank NobbyUnitedKingdom
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit. I do hope that we will see you again soon. All the best, Vicki

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited early on a Sunday evening. Our waitress was fairly new but was very welcoming, attentive, friendly and got answers to all our questions. However one very simple request was ignored by the kitchen and one meal had to be sent back for correction. The...More

Thank pauleb99
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Paul Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to read that everything was not as it should have been on your visit. Whilst mistakes sometimes do happen, it is disappointing to see that we were unable to resolve the situation to your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What is a beautiful pub without great service? This place has the potential tp be something truly special, however until the site manager & management team introduces a sufficient staff induction process and ongoing service training to the team I can see nothing but a...More

Thank Graeme E
Vicki C, General Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Graeme Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you found my team to be lacking on this occasion. We have recently had some team changes, and due to unforeseen circumstances the situation last weekend less than ideal and the team were...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Greyhound for the first time today with family and was really disappointed. We came in and ordered a drink at the bar first before we went to our table and we were served by a new team member, which is fine but...More

1  Thank Georgie E
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Kingsley at Eversley
169 reviews
1.74 km away
Warbrook House
275 reviews
2.54 km away
The Casa Hotel
695 reviews
4.00 km away
Dial House Hotel
216 reviews
4.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Frog & Wicket
319 reviews
1.49 km away
Rosie's Tea Room
22 reviews
1.50 km away
The Chequers
700 reviews
1.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
California Country Park
190 reviews
2.26 km away
Taylor & Co Master Goldsmiths
19 reviews
3.07 km away
Leisure Matters
53 reviews
3.16 km away
Jake's @ Tri-Lakes
151 reviews
3.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Emma R
24 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from dino237 | Reviewed this property |
to be honest, never seen dogs in the bar area.
1
Vote
jasimmons2016
5 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Vicki C | Property representative |
Dear Jasimmons Thank you for your contact and I am sorry that your review was missed for a response. I had been falling behind my responses and replied to a number of responses together and as I felt your review required... More
0
Votes
Karl_n_Cas
30 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Vicki C | Property representative |
Absolutely! With a name like The Greyhound we wouldn't have it any other way. We welcome well behaved pooches and their owners in the bar area and garden, we always have doggy treats on hand and bowls of fresh water. Thanks... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Longwater Road, Finchampstead, Wokingham RG40 3TS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Wokingham  >  Finchampstead
  • Phone Number: +44 118 973 2269
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing