We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Little Hutong

Shop 4 2-8 Pine Ave | 2-8 Pine Ave, Little Bay, Randwick, New South Wales 2036, Australia
+61 2 8020 0779
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good38%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (3 reviews)
“prawns” (2 reviews)
Closed today
Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Asian, Malaysian, Chinese
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Shop 4 2-8 Pine Ave | 2-8 Pine Ave, Little Bay, Randwick, New South Wales 2036, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my $18 vegetable laksa but can get a better one for $10 down the road. Am also growing tired of seeing the chef drop his cigarette butts on the footpath outside.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 325sidnei
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the service and food which is fusion style so well wort another visit to try other dishes, the service was very efficient and quick and dishes were explained in detail as we ordered.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank oskardog
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

We’ve been living in the area for a year and have dined at Little Hutong a handful of times. The food is excellent, no complaints about quality. I spend a lot of time in Asia, and if it wasn’t for the overly expensive prices I’d...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank machaltcrz
Reviewed 27 July 2018

I live locally and have had mixed feedback about this Restaurant but wanted to experience for myself. Pros extremely tasty modern cuisine Super trendy funky Decor Friendly staff Cons We clearly indicated we were sharing plates I would think that if there are 4 people...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank irve2016
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Won’t be back! Large squid at $20 is very small, very greasy and we couldn’t finish! The Panko nuggets were small pieces of dried chicken!! Left quite a lot of food and always happy to take a doggy bag but not this time!

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank Stay529452
Reviewed 2 December 2017

My sister took me last night for the first time and the food was so different, good selection. The waitresses were friendly and the Chef was excellent.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank _rosblatt
Robert F, Owner at Little Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you very much rosblatt. We're glad you had a good time with us for your bday

Reviewed 13 August 2017

This restaurant is so out of the way and the food was undercooked, greasy and over-priced. The waitress was so rude and un-attentive. It was quite a shock for us because we’ve never been treated so badly in any of the restaurants we visited. An...More

Date of visit: June 2017
2  Thank Jackson R
Robert F, Owner at Little Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi Jackson. I'm surprised that you had such a terrible experience at our restaurant. Our food is known for its fineness, modern flavours and experimental cuisines. I cannot fathom how you found it undercooked, greasy and over-priced. Nevertheless, we regret that you have had such...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

The food taste amazing BUT they somehow never have 'enough' left of a chicken or no beef on a SATURDAY night. This hasn't only happened to us but my in laws and a group of my friends on different occasions. You have to be willing...More

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Kirajayne
Robert F, Owner at Little Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Good that you found the taste to your liking. Yes, we do have some lovely staff who treat all our patrons equally and with great respect - we love it when eveyrone has a great time. Here at little bay we do enjoy a good...More

Reviewed 2 July 2017

This restaurant offers an interesting Asian cuisine menu. The won tons were good but missed the anchovy flavour in the broth. Crispy pork belly and seared tuna really ... great flavours. Prawn sambal really missed the mark.... prawns were overcooked and had no texture! and...More

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Bev G
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Little Bay is a little way out of area for a destination restaurant but if you live in the area then the restaurant is very convenient. Menu has lots of options, well prices for dinner options. Open Wed-Sun for Dinner and lunch on Sunday. BYO...More

Date of visit: December 2016
2  Thank Monique T
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
1,037 reviews
6.46 km away
Dive Hotel
269 reviews
6.53 km away
Coogee Bay Hotel - Boutique
336 reviews
6.58 km away
Coogee Bay Hotel - Pub Style
31 reviews
6.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Piccola Baia
52 reviews
.08 km away
Bare Grill Cafe
62 reviews
1.51 km away
Site pizza bar
62 reviews
.04 km away
Bay Window
31 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Coast Golf Club
31 reviews
.65 km away
Congwong Beach
22 reviews
1.42 km away
Malabar Headland National Park
19 reviews
2.50 km away
Cape Solander
39 reviews
3.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Little Hutong staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
USD 11 - USD 22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 4 2-8 Pine Ave | 2-8 Pine Ave, Little Bay, Randwick, New South Wales 2036, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Sydney  >  Randwick  >  Little Bay
  • Phone Number: +61 2 8020 0779
  • E-mail
Description
Little Hutong was founded by 3 individuals that have a deep passion for food. We created a restaurant that uses choice raw materials and authentic cooking styles that results in a taste that truly fulfills and satisfies the soul. In Chinese cooking, this is known as "the Savoury". We are not simply interested in well-presented or well-plated food - we are more interested in a taste that meets our high expectations. We learn and borrow from the best of the Asian cuisines - Penang, Japanese, Chinese and Peranakan food - and at times fuse them with Western culinary techniques, methods and ingredients. "Hutong", by definition, is a narrow lane or alleyway in a traditional residential area of a Chinese city, especially in Beijing. In Ancient China, many of the recipes, tastes and cooking styles that have now become well-known Chinese cooking, were formulated and eventuated in these back lanes and alleyways. In South East Asia, they gave rise to the "mamak" stalls, Peranakan cuisines and "hawker" food. We hold dear to these traditions as a standard to strive for at Little Hutong. We invite you to come dine with us in the back streets and alleyways of Asia.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing