We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Hotel

31 High Street | IP17 1AF, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good33%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (8 reviews)
“brie” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
31 High Street | IP17 1AF, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What on earth is going on here?. I am extremely concerned about the way this establishment I entered the bar at 6pm, expecting to relax with a drink whilst waiting for my husband to collect me, after Christmas shopping.The bar was deserted, and I waited...More

Thank Tabather1965
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Oh dear, I am so sorry to hear that. We stay open throughout the day and when it is quiet we get on with what ever is needed. So I am sorry that you were not seen from the office. I can assure you that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

6 of us dined on Saturday evening. It started off with the wine being brought to the table and not being asked if we wanted to try it! The starter was excellent but when we asked for further serviettes a pile of them were slapped...More

3  Thank MrandMrsRD
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and so sorry on this occasion you were not happy with the service. We do try our utmost to please and we will be looking to improve this aspect of The Bell. So pleased at...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017

The portions were a little small, only 3 small scallops in the £8.50 starter and the sea bass was quite tiny for the main but it was all quite tasty and well presented. Spoilt a bit with the waitress being a little surly.

Thank TPSG
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your review, I have to say we normally receive the opposite response in that our portions are large. We will certainly have a look to make sure the portions remain generous and appreciate you letting us know.

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Sunday lunch was perfect beef to anyone's taste. Mussels fresh plump and just cooked yummy Posh fish pie a little salty but generally too good to leave any. Service friendly and quick. Prices to suit everyone's budget We will definitely return.

Thank EssexDavidos
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you, that is great to hear, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 October 2017

Had a very enjoyable evening meal. My husband's food was all very tasty, As a vegetarian I didn't fancy any of the very limited choice and opted for what turned out to be one of the best cheeseboards (local cheeses) that I have had in...More

Thank RCCOxford
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for your comments, we are currently working on improving our vegetarian choices, but I am very pleased you discovered our wonderful local cheeses.

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Agreed that the restaurant is a little staid and dated. However the meal we had was immense. I always appreciate a bit of effort on a child's meal and the little ones cod bites were cooked fresh in crispy batter. We ordered from the set...More

Thank travelmonsteroblivio
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you, that is lovely to hear, so pleased you enjoyed your meals.

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Discussions about the meal from my family... Starters-amazing, large portion sizes. Very tasty (Seafood rissoto, prawn cocktail and bungay brie) Mains- salmon good x 2 Chicken salad (chicken overcooked and rubbery) Fish & chips- what can I say....chips were overcooked, fish batter dark and crisp...More

Thank Jane E
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your comments and your honesty. So very pleased we got your starters right with a comment of amazing, that is good to hear. Disappointed for you that we did not get 2 out of the 4 mains quite right, it would really...More

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Wonderful dining room, we had a great meal my family and i, i had the melting brie to start as did we all and loved it, followed by rib eye steaks, all were good, however, my wife had reason to send hers back as she...More

1  Thank Kevin R
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We do our very best to sort out issues at the time and so pleased you all left happy.

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Booked a table at short notice on a Saturday evening. Warm welcome from the bar when we arrived and a good pint if Pedigree... The food was perfect pub grub, sufficient portions, very tasty, service was prompt and the girls that's served us were chatty...More

Thank Mark O
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Great to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Lovely meal, we didn't book but were shown immediately to a table. A nice atmosphere in the dining room with cheery decor. The meal was good, I had a delicious crab dish, I love crab and this was all I hoped for.We didn't have puddings...More

Thank sahanben55
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments and so pleased you enjoyed your meal. The seafood in this part of the world is delicious. We hope to see you again.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Saxmundham Hotels
The White Horse Hotel
41 reviews
5.65 km away
Satis House Hotel
745 reviews
5.71 km away
The Westleton Crown
841 reviews
7.93 km away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
401 reviews
8.65 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Trinity's at No.14
74 reviews
.09 km away
Trawler's Catch
48 reviews
.04 km away
The Bistro
56 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glemham Hall
8 reviews
5.67 km away
Aldeburgh Music
37 reviews
5.70 km away
Snape Maltings
541 reviews
5.72 km away
Long Shop Museum
77 reviews
5.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sarah R
10 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Jonathan N | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. We do food all day long and occasionally we do afternoon teas. We do not normally do them for less than 10 people and yes we can accomodate children. Do give us a call to discuss further... More
1
Vote
JuneSB999
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jonathan N | Property representative |
Good evening unfortunately we do not have wheelchair access although we always have staff to help up and down the few steps in and out of the building. The 11th of november would be available if you would like to book please... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 High Street | IP17 1AF, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Saxmundham
Description
Note that although this is an hotel, I believe it should have a separate listing as a restaurant. I shall post a restaurant review, when listed.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing