We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
31 High Street | IP17 1AF, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
Website
Today
08:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I had received a Groupon voucher for a 2 night B&B stay here with dinner on the first night as a gift- only realised the expiry date was approaching with a few days to go and panicked as I didn't want it going to waste. Contacted The Bell and Samantha very kindly agreed to extend it for us for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank N K
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely descriptive review, thank you. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the lovely food. Look forward to seeing you again I hope. More 

Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great deal for a Thursday night. The steak was amazing, with all the trimmings. Well worth another visit.

Helpful?
Thank Joanna341
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Fantastic, so pleased you enjoyed your meal, we do try and give you the best available produce at a reasonable price. Hope to see you again. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

It was Friday 13th January, severe flood warnings were in place across the region, we had been advised to evacuate our holiday cottage in Aldeburgh and moved up to Snape for the night. We were hunting for somewhere to eat and called in on the off chance (it being Friday evening) that we could have a meal. Although we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank willowman2017
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Wow it is lovely to hear that we brightened you day, so pleased you had a great time. More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

We arrived towards the end of the lunch service and our feeling was that everyone had switched off. We were given the lunch menu and we're making our choices when somebody came and took it away, giving us a snacks menu instead! We decided to stay and ordered one mussels and one burger. Both dishes were good. A nearby table... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Biddy Y
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry your experience with us was not quite as you wished. We do swap over menus after our lunch service to an all day dining menu, you must have caught us just at the very end of lunch. I hope you have a more enjoyable experience on your next visit and can enjoy the full menu. More 

Waterlooville UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

We booked 3 nights between Xmas and new year for a quiet get away which it was. Room was adequate and brood value for the money. It was clean and spacious. Only slight minor point of the room was that it was right over the smoking area for the bar and the windows are not sound proof. It's amazing what... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeteandJen
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

We took advantage of a Christmas deal to come back to the Bell for a couple of days after the mad rush and to celebrate husbands birthday on 2nd January. When we arrived the staff were working seamlessly to accommodate a group of 20 for lunch and other guests already seated. Our waitress said we might have a delay before... More 

Helpful?
Thank TillyAnnFlop
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and very pleased you enjoyed some rest and relaxation and of course good food. Look forward to seeing you again. More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We stopped on the off chance after a day at the beach. They kindly accommodated us and our dog in the bar and reserved a table for us. The food was excellent and everyone very friendly. Would return.

Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

That's fabulous, so please you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016

My nephew and his family took me and my wife for an evening meal on Monday, and I was very impressed with the quality of food and the excellent service at a very reasonable price. It's a pity we live so far away from the town as i would use it on a regular basis. Thank you for a pleasant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick F
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your evening and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016

I stayed at the hotel on Monday night and whilst the room was small and not particularly nice as well as cold but the main issue came after I left when some woman accused me of doing a runner without paying! She called me about 5 mins after I'd left and made the accusation which only after I gave her... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarin22
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience at The Bell. It was a genuine mistake on our part and I can only apologise. It is such a shame that this has tarnished your view of The Bell. We have addressed this issue with the member of staff involved. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

We were staying in Saxmundham recently and had dinner at The Bell. The food was excellent as was the service. Would have payed a lot more in London for the food and wine. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Gary M
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you that is lovely to hear, we do try and provide great value, using the best possible available local products. Hope to see you again. More 

Travellers who viewed The Bell Hotel also viewed

 
Yoxford, Saxmundham
Saxmundham, Suffolk
 

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 High Street | IP17 1AF, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Saxmundham
Description
Note that although this is an hotel, I believe it should have a separate listing as a restaurant. I shall post a restaurant review, when listed.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bell Hotel and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bell Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?