We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Test Kitchen

375 Albert Road | Shop 104 A / The Old Biscuit Mill, Woodstock 7925, South Africa
+27 21 447 2337
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good10%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (120 reviews)
“foie gras” (40 reviews)
“amuse bouche” (35 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
375 Albert Road | Shop 104 A / The Old Biscuit Mill, Woodstock 7925, South Africa
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We were lucky--When we checked into our hotel we were told a few reservations at the test kitchen had opened up (usually it takes 18 months to get in). What a great experience – – you start in the "dark room" with drinks and hors...More

Thank Karen A
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Fabulous experience, and it is an experience. Loved everything about it except the stress involved in booking!

Thank alimagraw
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

This place is outstanding. I have eaten in the best restaurants in the world but this one is simply fantastic. Service, food, attention to details, everything was perfect. Best restaurant on the African continent...by far. El boulli should be worried.

1  Thank wagner542016
Reviewed 11 May 2017

With the current exchange rate this restaurant is exceptional value for travellers. Bookings on line to be made in advance to ensure a reservation. An UBER cab will readily get you to the venue without the effort of finding parking as the venue is about...More

2  Thank hotelcasci
Reviewed 10 May 2017

There is not much more I can add to the reviews of this world class restaurant. This is fine dining supreme - without the need for a jacket and tie! An innovative, well thought out establishment, with the decor, menu and wine pairing all working...More

2  Thank Gus B
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

I visited the Test Kitchen this evening. Let me first say that this is an incredible food experience especially when you consider the dollar value and especially if you do the wine pairing. It's a totally different dining event. You start in the "dark room"...More

3  Thank jjs2
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We waited 3 Month until bookings opened for our Table. But this is the only downside if you have no patients. This is a outstanding Restaurant. Amazing food and great Service.

1  Thank Frank I
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

What an experience! Top notch food. Beautiful presentation. Staff was amazing and friendly. No one was pretentious and we were blown away! We cannot wait to come back!

Thank KG_333
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Visit with my daughters . That was their first time experience in fine dining restaurant. We all love the dark room and light room experiences. Attention to detail is phenomenal, the iconic wine paring is a highly recommended. Service is perfect 👌 The journey of...More

Thank 86nicob
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Almost inpossible to get a table at this world class restaurant, but me and my wife got a table in Febrauri this year and had high expertation of it. It was alright but i felt i could been better. The staff was realy freindly and...More

2  Thank MattiasGun
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Woodstock Grill & Tap
176 reviews
.30 km away
The Pot Luck Club
1,741 reviews
.05 km away
Hidden Leaf
10 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
Explore Sideways
63 reviews
1.02 km away
Neighbour Goods Market
49 reviews
.10 km away
Woodstock Brewery
8 reviews
.31 km away
The Heart of Cape Town Museum
306 reviews
1.59 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Sarah K
Anyone interested in joining us for dinner here on Friday, June 16th? Hi! My friend and I are traveling from Washington DC, and will be staying in Capetown next weekend. We grabbed a reservation at 8pm for Friday, June 16th, for SIX people, as that was all that was available for that evening. We would hate to let this reservation go to waste, so if anyone will be in Capetown on the 16th, loves food, enjoys meeting new friends, and would be interested in joining, please let us know! We are looking for 4 extra people and would be doing the tasting menu (R1600 per person). Thanks!
10 June 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from VAH0 | Reviewed this property |
As The Test Kitchen has a very long waiting list, it's no problems for them to sell out these extra seats... though if you have paid deposit, please check with them if the part of these 4 people can be used for paying for... More
1
Vote
Pkhach
Are credit cards accepted?
27 April 2017|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from Junia A | Reviewed this property |
We paid with credit card
0
Votes
Google Translation
Travis H
How long is the dinner experience? We have reservations at outrage of modesty afterwards and wanted to give enough time.
27 February 2017|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from Finemaster | Reviewed this property |
For four of us, with wine pairings it took 4+ hours, it was an incredible experience, not to be rushed!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
19:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
19:00 - 21:00
Thursday
19:00 - 21:00
Friday
19:00 - 21:00
Saturday
19:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 375 Albert Road | Shop 104 A / The Old Biscuit Mill, Woodstock 7925, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Woodstock
  • Phone Number: +27 21 447 2337
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing