We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Cock

$$ - $$$, , British
2 The Village, Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield HD4 6UD, England
+44 1484 664863
Call
Website
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (132)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“braised beef” (21 reviews)
“fish and chips” (51 reviews)
“pie” (29 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 The Village, Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield HD4 6UD, England
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: The Golden Cock
1. Local produce and suppliers
"large portions extremely tasty hot and very well presented"
IFTIKARTAXIS
See reviews that mention yorkshire
2. Freshly cooked to order food
"Very impressed, we will return"
MummyFee
See reviews that mention fresh
3. Friendly and informal service
"fantastic! Service was great - and they are dog friendly!"
Anne L
See reviews that mention service
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 857 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We have just returned from the Golden Cock and I would entirely agree with yesterday's review. It was very disappointing - there was a very long wait between courses, even though we had pre-booked our choices. The food was adequate, but not very warm and...More

Thank Sue P
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We were staying in a holiday home just over a mile away so we decided to give it a try . We first went last Tuesday lunchtime and although there seems to be very little in the village and it is out of the way...More

3  Thank jamesdow
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hi there and thanks so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Golden Cock and your stay in our lovely village. Your recommendation and honest appreciation of the outstanding value for money our quality menu...More

A TripAdvisor Member
122
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We were not in a hurry; but even so, the kitchen appeared to struggle to deliver in an acceptable time. As we had all ordered our meals in advance, this was difficult to understand. The food was OK’ish, but did not pass my test of...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 days ago

We arranged a Christmas lunch last week when the weather was not of the best and consequently when we arrived we were amazed to find that neither the main car park nor the entrance to the inn had been gritted. Bearing in mind that the...More

Thank rollston17
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

30 plus of us from a walking group had Christmas Lunch. Considering the number of us, the food was served promptly and service was attentive and friendly and very efficient. Everyone found the meal to be excellent, among the choices were Turkey, lamb shank, braised...More

Thank davidr018
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi there and thanks so much for choosing The Golden Cock as the venue for your walking group's Christmas Lunch. We are thrilled to hear that all of your party found the meal "excellent" and we look forward to seeing you (and your wife) very...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, having moved to Holmbridge 4 years ago we wanted to try somewhere new to have a Sunday lunch and have travelled past The Golden Cock so many times. From roadside, it didn't look that large - have very wrong we were. We booked a...More

Thank TrueShrimperBlue
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there and thanks so much for joining us (eventually!) and so great for us all to discover that you are so pleased you did. There are so many wonderful comments in your review that it was a sheer joy and a pleasure to read....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had no hesitation in taking a relative out for lunch again to the Golden cock. We did not get lost thanks to the sat nav like last time. The food was as good as ever with the slight disappointment that carves liver was no-where...More

Thank Patian2014
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great to have you joining us again for lunch and thank you so much for your lovely review. We do change our menus seasonally and with so many regular customers we have to keep things moving, so apologies for calves liver not currently being on...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a marvellous meal. The waiter was very helpful. It was not his fault there was quite a long wait between starter and main, so much that when it arrived we all tucked in and had almost finished when the veg arrived, Never mind....More

Thank DParryUnitedKingdom
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there and thanks so much for your "marvellous" review. We are so pleased to hear that you felt looked after by your waiter and that the food was delicious and great value for money as this is what we aim to deliver day in...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had not been to this lovely pub for years. Four of us went and had a decent but by no means outstanding meal. The lure is two main courses fo 13 quid. What we had was good value although you really need a couple...More

1  Thank ColinHuddersfield
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there and thank you for your time to review us and your description of our pub as "lovely". However, we would have liked to have had your feedback on the day of your visit concerning the bread board and the apple crumble. If our...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Nice table with a lovely view. I don't think the 2 mains for 13 pounds menu can be beaten. We lunch regularly with our wakefield friends and this is our favourite. The staff are lovely, helpful and enthusiastic about the food. There was a very...More

Thank AMWD16
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Cock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there and thanks for such a lovely review. You mention so many things that we are proud of at The Golden Cock, and to have them recognised makes us really happy. It's great to hear that you will be dining with us again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Clothiers Arms
134 reviews
2.70 km away
Punch Bar & Tapas
108 reviews
2.75 km away
Mustard and Punch
323 reviews
2.75 km away
Nearby Attractions
Summer Wine Brewery Tap
18 reviews
2.35 km away
Castle Hill
399 reviews
1.78 km away
Beaumont Park
143 reviews
3.99 km away
Tolson Museum
152 reviews
3.76 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hanaedy
18 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Clare O | Property representative |
Hi there. Yes dogs are very welcome in the bar area and water bowls are provided.
1
Vote
AndyinMarineland
8 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from AndyinMarineland | Reviewed this property |
It is clearly not a question. It is a response to the establishment. There is no question.
0
Votes
dj_vhughes
18 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Clare O | Property representative |
Hi there. Sorry, but we do not have accommodation. Thanks for your enquiry.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 24
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 The Village, Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield HD4 6UD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Huddersfield  >  Farnley Tyas
  • Phone Number: +44 1484 664863
  • E-mail
Description
Ricardo & Anneli welcome you to their lovely country pub, serving top quality food and drink with style and warmth.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing