We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room

Main Road, Galgate LA2 0LQ, England
+44 1524 751337
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (20 reviews)
“pie” (13 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Galgate LA2 0LQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Visited with my significant other for Sunday lunch and we were left slightly disppointed with the food unfortunately. The sunday lunch was essentially 80% chopped vegetables. The meat itself was good but little else unfortunately. I had a burger which was quite dry, not bad...More

Thank blowther1
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

I'm really sorry to hear about you experience here with us. If you would like to discuss it further please email us on plough@fayreinns.co.uk.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Nice little pub with an excellent beer garden, pity you cant view the canal from the garden. Beer was plenty of choice and the food looked good although we didn't eat.

Thank moni1967-Villa
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for the kind review. Hope to see you again sometime.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with friends on recommendation. We were not disappointed. We went early as we'd heard it was usually busy, especially as it was a Friday evening. All of the food was excellent, and served with a smile as well. Great value for money too, we...More

Thank David T
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Glad to hear that yo enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited at lunch-time and sat in the back room. We enjoyed a lovely meal of steak baguette and chips and also Plough Brie BLT. We were able to chat without being disturbed. It was very pleasant and the service was efficient and friendly. We...More

1  Thank DoreenH_10
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Glad to hear that you had a pleasant visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second visit and the Plough has improved a lot in a short time. My falafel and spinach burger was fantastic and my partner has the sausages. Excellent portions and a lovely ice team sundae and a great bottle of red. Staff were...More

1  Thank ManyJB
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Looking forward to seeing you again next time.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

HUGE portions! Stopped off en route to Lancaster. Nice and homely, polite staff, food delicious, if you've got a big appetite, this is the place for you. Service very good. Didnt have to wait long. Recommend the falafel & spinach burger, you get two so...More

1  Thank ethel_8
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

It's nice to hear such positive feedback. See you again next time.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Huge Cumbrian sausage and mash, lovely pie and chips. Cosy friendly atmosphere. Bouncy castle and beer garden games kept our girl entertained. Puddings impressive too.

Thank Claire M
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for the kind review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for food and got there at 2.25 was told food service is off and all fryers are off. They stop serving at 2.30 so clearly asking the question can they kindly do anything as it is only 2.25 and we had kids the...More

Thank Reena A
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had always seen here and said wanted to try it, the pub alwayd S looks beautiful with gorgeous flowers and a fab beer garden. We chose to come here for my mum's birthday but was extremely disappointed. The food was very basic and bland....More

Thank Hayley R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited The Plough for the third time on our latest Narrowboat Holiday on the Lancaster Canal. This is a lovely place in walking distance of the Canal. Every time we have been we have been impressed by the atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff...More

Thank OldGeordie
The Plough G, Supervisor at The Plough Inn - Country Pub & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. Looking forward to seeing you on your next holiday.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Mill at Conder Green Restaurant
217 reviews
2.22 km away
Bay Horse Inn
133 reviews
2.39 km away
The Fleece Inn Restaurant
127 reviews
3.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Plough Country Pub & Dining Room
29 reviews
.01 km away
The Port of Lancaster Smokehouse
18 reviews
4.06 km away
Heysham Heritage Centre
9 reviews
5.51 km away
Old Holly Farm
214 reviews
5.81 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
colliegem
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from The Plough G | Property representative |
Yes we do. Dogs are allowed in the bar area and the side room.
0
Votes
Tony G
14 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from The Plough G | Property representative |
Hi We do have a very small step to access the pub if you use the side entrance. Alternatively if you use the back door in the garden there is a ramp. Hope this helps.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 37
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Galgate LA2 0LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lancaster District  >  Galgate
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 751337
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing