We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Phoenix

48-50 Union Road, Oswaldtwistle BB5 3DA, England
+44 1254 231459
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“prawn toast” (7 reviews)
“crispy duck” (5 reviews)
“ribs” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Chinese, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
48-50 Union Road, Oswaldtwistle BB5 3DA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Been here a few times and things have been really good, came tonight and all new workers who were very rude!! The manager was rude, the young lad who works there was very rude huffed and puffed cause he had to go to the end...More

2  Thank megstermoo
Reviewed 13 November 2017

I was one of a large group booked to eat the inclusive "buffet", but we were asked to leave after two hours, even though some people had only just been served their main course - and no one had had the chance to order dessert....More

Thank Nerianne
Management response:Responded 1 December 2017

Hi Nerianne. Thank you for your honest review. As mentioned to one of your other party members on our Facebook page, we sincerely apologise for the poor experience you had on your visit. Our manager had been away on compassionate leave & it was the...More

Reviewed 13 November 2017

This review started off as a 5* when tonight’s table of 19 was booked. As previous visits were brilliant. We were kept waiting to order each course and it took ages to get our luck warm food. We appreciate that catering for large parties does...More

Thank Michelle S
Management response:Responded 1 December 2017

Hi Michelle, Thank you for your honest review. We've responded to just now to someone who appears to be from the same party posting a separate review. This same message applies, so i'll post here for you also, assuming you were all together. As mentioned...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

you must try this place if you enjoy Chinese food you would struggle to get better food and hospitality anywhere in this country,i can certainly recommend it we have been going now for several years and never been disappointed.

Thank godders45
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Asked for one very simple thing off takeaway menu - rude & not accommodating. Won't be bothering againMore

Thank Jenna B
Rob C, Manager at Royal Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Jenna B, I don't know the circumstances and what you wanted from the take-away menu, but all our staff are polite and courteous towards customers. We very often get asked for items which we do not have, and some customers get annoyed for that...More

Reviewed 6 October 2017

We had a table book early on Saturday 30th September, as we were heading to the local theatre, after arriving late (15mins) we received a warm welcome by the staff who showed us to our table and took drinks order allowing us time to browse...More

Thank Nicki M
Rob C, Manager at Royal Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Nicki. Thank you for your review. Look forward to seeing you all very soon!

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed the great choice of food available on the all you can eat menu. Good food and friendly staffMore

Thank Graham S
Rob C, Manager at Royal Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you Graham for coming to our Sunday buffet and for your 5 star review. Our buffet is an ordered buffet, rather than a self service buffet, where each dish is cooked to order which keeps the quality as fresh and hot as possible. I...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Table for 6 on Saturday evening. Ate here many years ago but none of us recently. Service was very good, pleasant staff and the Manager introduced himself and kept us entertained with his magic trick and stories! Food quality was 5 stars, every dish, some...More

Thank Ian B
Rob C, Manager at Royal Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you Ian for bringing your friends back to the Royal Phoenix and for your dazzling review. It was a pleasure to be of service to such nice customers, and I was so pleased everyone enjoyed the dishes and the experience. I hope to be...More

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Was lucky to get a table for two today (6pm). Very busy. Food and service were excellent. Young staff but very well presented and pleasant. Enjoyed our food very much. 9/10

Thank Stuart C
Rob C, Manager at Royal Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you Stuart for your valued custom and continued support. We are so pleased you enjoyed the food and service provided by our team. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Since its been taken over (at a guess) the food recipes just don't seem the same and nowhere near as good as they once were. We still occasionally visit but nowhere near as muchMore

Thank SJgetsmelost
Rob C, Manager at Royal Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear SJgetsmelost, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your last visit to our restaurant. The proprietor is still the same but I have taken over the management role from my predecessor. I am not sure how long ago you were referring...More

Nearby HotelsSee all Oswaldtwistle Hotels
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
1,553 reviews
2.05 km away
The Maple Lodge
207 reviews
2.42 km away
Sparth House Hotel
271 reviews
3.45 km away
Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel
378 reviews
6.45 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Franco's Ristorante Pizzeria
214 reviews
.65 km away
90 reviews
.90 km away
Taste of Italy
23 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oswaldtwistle Mills
303 reviews
.12 km away
Haworth Art Gallery
132 reviews
2.61 km away
Civic Arts a Centre and Theatre
8 reviews
.31 km away
The Jump Works Trampoline park
18 reviews
2.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
29 December 2014|
Response from EandS0000 |
It's not a hotel it's a Chinese Restaurant.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
2:00 pm - 10:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 48-50 Union Road, Oswaldtwistle BB5 3DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Oswaldtwistle
  • Phone Number: +44 1254 231459
  • E-mail
A well established Chinese restaurant and take away in the Oswaldtwistle area. Apart from serving the highest quality food to take away, we also cater for private and business dinner parties in our restaurant. Please feel free to enquire about our services.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing