We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$7 - AU$45
CUISINES
Bar, Australian, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (198)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
43
61
39
27
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
43
61
39
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak ice cream nice dinner mingara club central coast lovely night roast complex chefs umbi underwhelming tempting
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

Using the OpenTable App, I was able to book the last available table for 7 people, which was located in the Outside area for Mother’s Day Lunch and the only available time was 2:00pm, with a 2 hour timeframe. We arrived around 1:45pm and were...seated by a staff member at 2:00pm, when we purchased some drinks. We had a lovely time catching up with our family and decided we should order our lunch, however when we went to the counter to place orders for lunch around 2:30pm, we were told the “kitchen is closed and no more orders can be taken.” We were absolutely gutted!! as we had been looking forward to enjoying a lovely lunch with family members that we hadn’t seen for some time. At no time were we advised what time the kitchen would be closing, which was absolutely disgraceful and poor form indeed. We finished our drinks and left, extremely disappointed and we won’t ever be back.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara Recreation Club, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mark, Thank you for your feedback. We would like to chat about your experience. Please email us your best contact number at enquiries@mingara.com.au and a manager will be in touch.

Reviewed 27 February 2024 via mobile

I placed an order at Hadley's for a bowl of chips at 6:54pm, at 7:45pm still no bowl of chips... I went to ask what is happening and the Cashier said sorry they were very busy but it should not be long, at 8.04pm after...the badge draw still no bowl of chips, so I approached the Cashier for a refund... while they manager was attending to me the chips got delivered... my wife said that my hubby getting a refund as we were leaving. Even though we got a refund... we were given the chips to take with us. Still we got very bad service to begin with.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara Recreation Club, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for the delay in receiving your food, but are glad you were provided a solution on the night by a manager. We appreciate your thoughts.

Reviewed 11 January 2024

Sweet potato fries were fabulous and the most generous serving size ever, exactly what I was hoping for. Chocolate gelato was also fantastic. My partner enjoyed the seafood pasta. I took off one star because we booked a table for the restaurant, but we were...told it was full. So we went outside into the main club, which was okay, since the venue is lovely and the bar was opposite. Cocktail presentation was excellent.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara Recreation Club, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Hello, Thank you very much for your review. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 September 2023

Lovely friendly staff but terrible food. Don’t waste your money. We had ribs- Aldi frozen is better. The salad was engulfed in sticky sickly dressing.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara Recreation Club, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2023

Hello, Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 12 August 2023

Food quality is just getting worse each time I’ve been. Disappointing as we love the club. For example the beer battered fish was not fresh, chips not crispy, salad had no dressing. No love at all. Also they have removed their plant based options. I’ll...only go to the Chinese restaurant next time.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara Recreation Club, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2023

Hi Angelo, Thank you for your review. I will pass your feedback onto the Hadley's team.

Reviewed 18 June 2023 via mobile

Had my members card, but their machine wouldn't work because it runs out 30th June. Hello, it's the 18th June ??? not my fault. Your machines don't know what month it is. So wouldn't give discount. Next, the prices they charge you think the food...wouldn't good its not. Garlic prawns, no garlic, and prawns were frozen. Alot more nicer places to go. Mingara has gone down lucky its June will not be renewing membership.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara Recreation Club, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2023

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We would love to chat to you further. Can you please provide your best contact number to enquiries@mingara.com.au and Hadley's management will be in touch.

Reviewed 20 May 2023 via mobile

Second time here in last couple of months and our first experience on food wasn’t great. We thought let’s try again and see if it was just an off night but it was almost worse. Seafood on both pork dish and marinara was not cooked...properly and the adult chicken burger was a kids size. For $37 and $35 plates we found this unacceptable. $200 later on a family meal we will not be back.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara Recreation Club, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2023

Hi Helen, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear of your experience. We have actually recently changed owners of Hadley's since your review in May. We'd love for you to come back and give it another go. Thanks

Reviewed 20 May 2023 via mobile

Second time at this venue as disabled brother loves chicken schnitzel. Schnitzel was good but other meals were very average for the price. Pork belly not crisp and soggy, fish burger were kids sized and marinara undercooked

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara Recreation Club, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2023

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear of your experience. We have recently changed owners of Hadley's since your review. We'd love for you to come back and give it another go. Thanks

Reviewed 30 April 2023

Don't even bother. Meal was cold, meat was under cooked & not worth the $. Ordered pork belly with scallops. The scallops were cold & the pork belly was undercooked, raw in the middle & non existent crackle. From placing the order to delivery was...about 5 minutes Max. Not enough time to cook pork belly, properly. Took plate back & asked for refund. Chef was quite sheepish. Could not fault the waitresses & waiters. Never again, will tell friendsMore

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara Recreation Club, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2023

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear of your experience. We have recently changed owners of Hadley's since your review. We'd love for you to come back and give it another go. Thanks

Reviewed 23 April 2023

Firstly, the menu was very basic, and the prices were far too high for the quality of food that was served. I ordered a meat lovers pizza and was extremely disappointed to find that it was topped with only sliced ham and salami, which had...absolutely no taste whatsoever. Furthermore, a member of my group ordered a steak and pasta dish, although the pasta dish was ready almost instantly we where left waiting for over 30 minutes for the steak and it was brought out cold, having been left on the bench for the entire time. When it was returned to the kitchen, we witnessed the chef stick his bare finger into the steak to test the temperature before serving it back to us. This was completely unacceptable and unhygienic. We also had a few children with us who ordered the kids meals, which advertised a 'chef's choice' of ice cream on the menu. However, the were given a pre-made tub with no choice of the flavours on display at the front, which was disappointing for both the child and the parents. In addition, the restaurant lacked any family-friendly amenities, such as a playground, which made the experience less enjoyable for families with children. Instead of investing in hair straighteners and face washers to dry hands, the management could put more effort into making the venue more accommodating for families.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara Recreation Club, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2023

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We would love to chat to you further. Can you please provide your best contact number to enquiries@mingara.com.au and Hadley's management will be in touch.

Reviewed 2 March 2023 via mobile

Pretty ordinary fare, but service was excellent. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful. I’ve eaten at Hadleys twice with my husband (lunch & dinner) - both occasions left us feeling as if we’d have been better off staying at home and cooking for ourselves. It’s...a great shame that Mingara management don’t seem to have yet installed a classy restaurant with capable imaginative chefs, to make this a world class venue.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara2261, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2023

Hi Paula, Thank you for your feedback. If you could please email your best contact number to us at enquiries@mingara.com.au, I will get a manager to be in touch. Hope to see you at Mingara again soon.

Reviewed 15 February 2023 via mobile

I’ve been coming here for over 20 years, and decided yesterday to dine at Hadleys. I’ve dined here since it’s reopened from Indigo and the first 5 times have been good. But yesterday one of the younger waitresses was so rude and made us feel...like an inconvenience. We ordered through the scanner system because when we were seated we didn’t get menus so assumed that’s how we had to view it and order now seating in the new outdoor area. (The ordering system is easy but when it gets to certain parts it was a bit confusing.) But looking around other people had menus, then when our steaks came out I asked if we could grab a second gravy as we thought we added it onto our order, she didn’t say anything and walked off. She came back out and said “it’s going to be $2.20 because YOU didn’t put it on the ticket”. Not a major issue, could’ve just said yes not a problem but just letting you know it’ll just cost an extra $2.20 if that’s okay. Rather than scolding us, I just said don’t worry about it and we both ended up sharing. I also by that point realised I didn’t get a steak knife but felt anxious about asking for anything else. Overall food is still nice, beautiful outdoor atmosphere but that waitress just seemed like she didn’t want to be there and put a damper on what was meant to be a nice Valentines Day dinner and made it feel awkward after that because other tables heard- so we ate and left. Rest of the staff and bar staff were lovely though. Probably won’t be back for a while which sucks because it’s always been my go to place for dining out as I love Mingara club.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara2261, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2023

Hi Ally, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. If you could please provide your best contact number to us at enquiries@mingara.com.au, I will get a manager to be in touch. Hope to see you at Mingara again soon.

Reviewed 15 February 2023

The entrance to the complex looks a bit like a terminal at a provincial airport or a five star hotel, and when we entered the building we bizarrely had to provide proof of our identities. Fortunately we all had our driving licences on us, which...were entered into a machine. When asked why this was necessary, we were informed they need to know who was in the building in case of emergency. Strangely, we did not have to sign out when we left, so if there was a fire they would still be searching for us........ We had a long wait at the bar to get a round of drinks, at least 15 minutes, and they only serve schooners rather than pints. We sat in the open covered terrace, which was quite pleasant and we ordered our meals via the scanned code on the table. The food took around 25 minutes to arrive and my meat feast pizza was excellent, much better than my colleague's Italian Stallion Pizza, which was not particularly appetizing. Mrs FB had the Caesar Salad with chicken, which was very good, and the portion far too large for her to eat it all. In the meantime we had to twice again queue around 15 minutes to order more drinks. Ironically, as we were leaving there was no queue.......... We learnt that 10% extra is added to the charges for non-members, and annual membership is $12, so if you intend to come here twice or more per year then it makes sense to become a member. However, we do not plan on returning to Hadley's during our stay on the Central CoastMore

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara2261, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2023

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. Mingara is a registered club and must comply with the Registered Club Act which is why you were asked to provide ID upon entering. I will pass your feedback onto management. Hope you are enjoying your visit to the...More

Reviewed 26 January 2023 via mobile

Fabulous food with very good service, great new space - the pizza delicious thank you. We will be back. A lovely night had by all.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara2261, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2023

Thank you for your kind review. See you at Hadley's again soon.

Reviewed 21 January 2023 via mobile

We booked a table for seven adults and a toddler in a high chair for an early (6pm) Saturday birthday dinner. Two of our guests are visiting from the Uk, plus my daughter and her family were visiting from Sydney.. We were informed at the...time of booking that our table would be in the “new covered outdoor area”, and although we were a little uncomfortable due to the current rainy weather, we were twice reassured that we would be under cover. When we arrived, we were told our table was not under cover, it was in the open area and in the rain. Seriously. We were offered a table “out the back in the old restaurant area”. It was empty except for us. We had a lengthy walk to the bar and to place our order. We were told there were no high chairs available as they were all in use. Seriously. One was eventually found for us. We waited almost an hour for our orders, but our 2 year old grandson’s fish and chips kids meal took another half an hour to arrive, despite two attempts to follow up with staff. He had eaten “donations” from other people’s meals before his arrived. The quality of most of the meals was poor. The rump steak ordered well done was a burnt offering. The pork belly was tough, the fat had not been rendered properly, and the Yorkshire pudding was rubbery. The crab and bug ravioli itself was bland, but the cream sauce was incredibly salty. None of the adults enjoyed their meals. At least the two year old’s chips were good. It’s obvious that this “restaurant “ does not have the processes, kitchen capacity, or skilled resources to deal with the number of customers they are trying to serve. Management needs a serious rethink about what they are trying to achieve here. Not only won’t we be going back, but we are now cautious of using any of the Club’s dining options.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mingara2261, Marketing at Hadley's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2023

Hi, I am disappointed to hear of your recent experience at Hadley's. Can you please provide your best contact number to us at enquiries@mingara.com.au and we will have a manager contact you regarding this feedback. Thank you

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Central Jetty Motel
23 reviews
3.27 km away
Buccaneer Motel
206 reviews
3.60 km away
The Coachman Motor Inn
48 reviews
4.33 km away
Jetty Motel The Entrance
349 reviews
4.37 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Roasted Berry
204 reviews
.04 km away
Noodle House
15 reviews
1.07 km away
Domino's Pizza Tumbi Umbi
12 reviews
.23 km away
Tandoori Dhaba
58 reviews
.64 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mingara One Fitness
21 reviews
.12 km away
Pro-Dive Central Coast
6 reviews
1.61 km away
Chittaway Bay Tavern
43 reviews
4.14 km away
Shelly Beach Golf Club
18 reviews
4.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MAUREEN C
22 September 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mingara2261 | Property representative |
Hi Maureen, i am sorry you found our new spring menu disappointing. Our chicken schnitzel and fish and chips are part of our club favorites however we do have our main meal options as well which include meals such as pork... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HADLEY'S, Tumbi Umbi - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hadley's

Hadley's is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4