We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bamboo Tree Thai Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 Main Street, Gore 9710, New Zealand
+64 3-208 4446
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Dinned and was very disappointed. My soup that according to the menu would have coriander and lemongrass in it had neither and on mentioning this I was informed "those ingredients are to expensive down here" sorry! I almost had to laugh. The pad thai had now snow pea shoots and was bland aside from tasting like tomato sauce. My dad's... More 

Helpful?
Thank bellawitch
Kulnatee1, Owner at Bamboo Tree Thai Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking your time to commented. Unfortunately prices for some of ingredients down here is far more expensive than where you may have came from and I have informed you with Pad Thai that there were no mong bean which we normally served with this dish, but sadly we can't get it anywhere on the day you... More 

Gore. New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Awesome food and good value for money. Great service and friendly staff. Takeaways taken and was nice even as a later evening snack

Helpful?
Thank bopcs
Gore, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I am a big fan of thai food and discovered bamboo tree restaurant in july. Since then I try to dine there at least once a week for lunch. All of the lunches have been tasty and service has been friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant and it has been a revelation to me as I no longer have to... More 

Helpful?
Thank sportsfan209
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2016

WE often have a bite here on our way home or pick up takeaways as it makes a change and is such good value

Helpful?
1 Thank mauricejean
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The food is consistently of a very high quality I have dined here under the various owners since the site opened in Gore.Thai & Vietnamese meals are my favourites.Gore has limited competition in the restaurant area,and in particular I have had disappointing meals at the Thomas Green & Croydon Lodge over the years, in terms of small size & value... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This place has some of the worst thai food I have had in a while. The ingedients of a Thai meal were all there... but in the wrong quantities... making the larb overpowered by oil and fish/oyster sauce. It was edible... but only just. Perhaps the chefs have gotten lazy. Buy a recipe book and try again... Over priced for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Max W
Kulnatee1, Owner at Bamboo Tree Thai Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. For the price of $14.90 is far cheaper than many of Thai restaurants you have been visited. We cound abdolutely go higher prices but we care more to our regular customers who have been giving such an amazing supports in the last 6 years!. And not sure who would need to be looking in... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Had a very bad dining experience here tonight. The place was empty so no excuse for the mistakes. We ordered entrees and mains. The mains arrived but no entrees when we questioned this it turned out the waitress had forgotten to write them down. We ordered 4 mains and one delivered was the wrong order. One main came much later... More 

Helpful?
Thank linzhend
Kulnatee1, Owner at Bamboo Tree Thai Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, I have read and has been investigated who was responsible to your table on the day you had dined in. This staff is no longer working with us and I have to apologised on our behalf on your bad experience . And I myself re call I have be at counter when you were check bill and I've... More 

Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent!! We got there just as she was pulling in the sign and she stayed open for us. We both have spent lots of time in Thailand and can vouch for authentic taste!! Supper great service and yum food!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sailorbabe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

We ordered takeaway and were impressed by how fast our service was. The chicken Panang was very good, the rice was amazing not dry at all. We were happy to try this place on a whim. Thanks Bamboo

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Visit to get takeaway food. It was basic a bit oily and we had to suggest they added tofu for the vegetarian option. Wouldn't go back if there was a better option.

Helpful?
1 Thank leslee2012
Kulnatee1, Manager at Bamboo Tree Thai Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking your value time to commenting us on Tripadvisor! Sorry that you feels and tested our food oily which is unusual! We have Tofu as an option for vegetarian people for years, not sure the day you visiting we have sold out Tofu or not, but yes we have Tofu available to none meats eating!... More 

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Tree Thai Restaurant also viewed

Gore, Southland Region
Gore, Southland Region
 
Gore, Southland Region
Gore, Southland Region
 

Been to Bamboo Tree Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Asian, Thai
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Main Street, Gore 9710, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Southland Region  >  Gore
  • Phone Number: +64 3-208 4446

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bamboo Tree Thai Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?