We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Taboon

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
514 Christine Ave | Easy T Centre, Robina, Gold Coast, Queensland 4226, Australia
+61 7 5562 5005
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 173: English reviews
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went with some friends. The first welcom from staff, was very friendly and invitingly. We took our seats very good surroundings, felt relaxed. In no time our food arrived. Very well presented and very flavoursome. Throughly recommend this restaurant. Thank you for making catching up with friends a very good experience

Helpful?
Thank Chrisste1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have visited Taboon many times and each time love the food! For a small, casual restaurant the food is very impressive, full of flavour and every time I go there it is very consistent. The staff are always friendly and helpful and I love that there is a take away option too. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chloé L
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Mid week dinner for 2, outside table, not busy. We were served right away; timing between the starter and mains was perfect. We had falafel prawns (4) and hummous with bread, and the mixed plate share platter which came with 3 different skewers. lamb, chicken, beef; plus 2 chicken shooftas, 2 lamb shooftas, along with Egyptian rice, couscous, salad &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Warren S S
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

Our group of 4 had a very tasty meal and it was hard to choose what to have as , cant wait to visit again.........everything looked great on the menu

Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Very affordable. Food is nice and flavoursome. Service does need a little attention but it wouldn't stop me from returning. We shared a mixed dip plate and the mixed plate for two. Very filling. I find middle eastern food a hit or a miss and this was definitely a HIT flavour wise!

Helpful?
Thank Kingmika
Mudgeeraba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

Taboon at Robina is a great dining restaurant and the food is fantastic. The staff are helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank 188kayleenc
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Great food and plenty of it. Good portions so do not eat too much before your visit. Great location and atmosphere. Service was prompt and efficient.no waiting too long between serving. We intend to vidit often and eventually work our way through the menu offerings. Price was reasonable and of course worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Granville M
GOLD COAST
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

This place looks ok, BUT, we decided to get some takeaway & what they served up was inedible. The lamb pieces were dried up pieces of rock which looked like they were cooked days ago & just microwaved. The rice was hard & crunching & just was not cooked. Avoid this place at all costs!!!

Helpful?
Thank VICKIBOB63
TaboonGoldCoast, Owner at Taboon, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to read your review and aplologise you did not enjoy it. We use premium Lamb Backstrap (Sirloin) that has been marinated in Sumac, Rosemary & Garlic for this plate and it is grilled to order. It is NEVER grilled in advance nor does it go near a microwave! It is possible that one of our chefs... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016

This was beautiful interesting healthy food that tastes a bit naughty! The staff are lovely and it's a bit out of the way of hustle and bustle. The staff were very friendly and I would recommend this restaurant to friends.

Helpful?
Thank heidi s
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016

What a disappointment, decided to try out a new restaurant, the choice of three middle eastern and clearly picked the wrong one. Staff seemed friendly at first contact until I requested in a kindly manner to have my plate which was served stone cold to be warmed a little. In full view the waitress was clearly put out and discussed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rainyg10
Siggy I, Manager at Taboon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion, however it is one that we do not agree with! Our Chicken Tagine is a modern interpretation of a classic dish.The chicken is marinated, grilled & sliced and then poached in a vegetable & chickpea broth flavoured with cured lemon, olives, saffron & coriander. All the elements of the traditional... More 

Travellers who viewed Taboon also viewed

Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
Robina, Gold Coast
 
Gold Coast, Queensland
 

Been to Taboon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 20
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Turkish, Middle Eastern, Tunisian, Egyptian, Lebanese, Moroccan, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 514 Christine Ave | Easy T Centre, Robina, Gold Coast, Queensland 4226, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Gold Coast  >  Robina
  • Phone Number: +61 7 5562 5005
Description
Taboon is a modern cafe basing its cuisine around the traditional stone oven of the Middle East and drawing its recipes from a variety of countries such as Egypt, Lebanon, Israel, Morocco, and Turkey to name a few.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Taboon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?