We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$5 - AU$25
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (218)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
142
51
13
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
142
51
13
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poached eggs hash chorizo fritters great coffee the gold coast sparkling water cafe benny
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 May 2023

Went for Breakfast on Saturday 6/5/23. We ordered Baked Eggs and Zucchini and Sweetcorn Fritters. The fritters appeared to have been an earlier mistake order and then just put back in the deep fryer when our order came in. Very dry and outer crust was...rock hard. Poached eggs were underdone and watery. Unable to finish the meal Baked Eggs were absolutely tasteless. 5 or 6 small pieces of Chorizo and very bland baked beans. Poached eggs were also underdone and watery. No amount of salt and pepper added to the meal after initial taste could improve any of it. Also unable to finish the meal. Coffee was good. We have been here a number of times and witnessed the decline of food quality. Our bill came to $52 and that will be our last contribution to this establishment. My sons, their partners ans friends frequent this establishment and I shall be advising them against this. Very disappointing indeed.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daark Espresso, Owner at Daark Espresso, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2023

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience, but I really appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention. We're sorry you had a bad experience and hopefully you can give us a chance again in the near future....More

Reviewed 10 April 2023 via mobile

Great little local cafe. I enjoyed an early lunch at this cafe. The coffee was excellent land the brisket sandwich delicious. The staff were friendly and a table in the shade on the patio was a good way to while away time.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2023 via mobile

Great coffee and breakfast selection. Thee staff are so friendly. Complementary sparkling water or tap water is very welcomed.

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2022 via mobile

Great place for breakfast - the food is excellent, the menu quirky, and the staff super friendly and caring. I personally love the bagels, and my wife enjoys the crusty bread and perfectly poached eggs! The coffee and the banana smoothie are also highlights ;)

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2022

I was on the Gold Coast and staying at Labrador when I visited Daark. I really enjoyed the food Hash Benny and the coffee was very good. When I arrived the service was excellent, I was greeted and offered the option of inside or outside...and given water immediately. Later however the service was not as good. After I had my coffee, had drunk my glass of water and put my empty food plate onto the other side of my table, I lost count of the number of times staff walked past my table without taking the dishes but more importantly asking whether I would like another coffee because I certainly would have had another coffee. This was the only negative about my visit.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2022

Food and coffee is amazing. Have been here a few times now and it is one of the greatest places on the coast.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2021

I miss-read the vegan option for the smashed avo and was served eggs and feta with my meal. I was happy for the chef to just take the eggs off but due to lactose allergies, without fuss they re-cooked my meal and didn't charge me...extra. Great strong coffee. Legends!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2021

Great place for a brunch date with your friends. Often pretty busy, but absolutely worth the wait. Some of the best coffee in the area and some pretty standard (and unique) dishes on offer (try their fried chicken/waffles- you won't regret it)

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

The venue is cosy, though I'm not sure if the air-conditioning stopped working half way through lunch as I ended up with sweat pouring off me. I had a delicious iced coffee and eggs benny. Lots of options to choose from. Staff were friendly and...efficient.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2021

Dark has a great all day breakfast menu, with lots of yummy options. Its popular so I recommend booking. But it does have a downside, with concrete floors, its very noisy, we had a table of six and could only chat to the person to...next to us. We all left with a slight headache from the noiseMore

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2021

Been there a couple times now and love the coffee and food. Amazing place to go for breakfast, brunch or lunch. Parking is a bit difficult but definitely worth it.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2021 via mobile

Well presented, clean and actually open on a Monday! This place was a good find with a variety of indoor and outdoor seating. Great menu. Beautiful friendly people giving great service and making excellent coffee.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2021 via mobile

Nice coffee and friendly staff. Always busy. Good atmosphere as well. Often very busy which shows their popularity

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2020 via mobile

Stopped in for coffee, fruit toast and a muffin after recommendation from a friend. It was pouring rain but the cafe was full, a good sign of things to come. Service was friendly and efficient, with a water and glasses provided as we sat. Coffee...was very good as was the muffin. Only minor point was the fruit toast was cooked in a grill press , making it soft, a personal choice though. The menu sounds interesting and the meals going out were looking good so we will be back to try.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2020 via mobile

Had a delicious lunch here today with my husband. Very friendly staff & a nice atmosphere! I had slow cooked pulled lamb burger with haloumi, beetroot & slaw. It was so tasty, when I go again, I will re-order it. My husband had a Fish...Taco of schnapper & slaw which he said was amazing! Thoroughly recommend for a great lunch!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Jadran Motel & El Jay Holiday Lodge
167 reviews
.93 km away
Golden Shores Holiday Club
92 reviews
.94 km away
Broadwater Motel
33 reviews
1.29 km away
Limassol Motel
40 reviews
1.34 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lambar
192 reviews
.04 km away
Tonic on Chirn
183 reviews
.07 km away
Ground N Sound
104 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Broadwater Parklands
262 reviews
1.03 km away
Musgrave Hill Bowls Club
18 reviews
.50 km away
Gold Coast Hockey Centre
6 reviews
.69 km away
Anzac Park
43 reviews
.90 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Compass60569
20 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from sand2skis | Reviewed this property |
Hi there, that's a good question. Never thought of checking that out. I have seen patrons drinking craft beer but whether that's a BYO or the cafe is officially licensed, I couldn't say for certain. I would suggest you call... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

DAARK ESPRESSO, Labrador - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Daark Espresso

Yes, Daark Espresso offers takeaway services.

Daark Espresso is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4