We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pickled Cactus Mexican Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shop 44 33 Hollywell Rd | 610 Oxley Drive, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
+61 7 5537 3636
Website
Today
17:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 17:00 - 20:30
Fri - Sun 12:00 - 14:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 224: English reviews
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the hostess couldn't do enough to help us, we took father(80) for dinner, in wheelchair, hostess ensure meals were bought out fast and arranged easier access, Food was very tasty fresh and very enjoyable, drinks were well priced and enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
roz p, Owner at The Pickled Cactus Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks guys, glad you all had a wonderful night. See You again soon 🌵 More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ordered a selection of items from the menu on our holidays in April and had it delivered through Uber Eats. Value was average, but on the whole the food was excellent! Loved by kids and adults. Didn't get too excited about the Texas Wings, and the Lime and Pepper Calamari which was actually very average, but the Fish Tacos,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ejmillerwa
roz p, Owner at The Pickled Cactus Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. Great to hear positive results UberEATS. I hope our citrus crema was enjoyed with the wings and calamari, as both these items are ever so popular. Hope to see you dine in next holiday so we can ensure all your meals are top notch. More 

Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Went with a great group of friends. I couldn't fault the service, it was awesome. Our meals were served promptly and exactly what we ordered. Would I go again, hell yes. This is a lovely place to take your family, for a relaxing evening. Added bonus was receiving points towards my next holiday.......yippee

Helpful?
Thank grateful8
roz p, Owner at The Pickled Cactus Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Great review thank you. Dream trips are awesome More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

I went with my BFF, her two kids and my two kids. They were patient and kind towards our kids. They got a range of pictures to draw with. The food was delicious and the kids meal great value. We had the Sangria and chicken and fish tacos. YUM! Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Kate M
roz p, Owner at The Pickled Cactus Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks Kate for your lovely review, glad everyone enjoyed themselves. See you again soon 🌵🌵 More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Visited here last weekend with family. Decor is really good and place has a very good vibe. Was quite noisy though which may annoy diners who prefer a more quite environment. Food very tasty - we ordered mix of entrees and some mains and everyone enjoyed their food. Service also very good. Recommend for a great night out over good,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Marco L
roz p, Owner at The Pickled Cactus Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks so much Marco. Glad you all had a great night. We can always seat customers in a quieter area if requested. We have quite a few options to choose from. 🌵 More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Loved the old venue, the new one much bigger and better. Food was great, some staff (well one of the staff) was rude and obviously doesn't like her job, we were waiting to order and she looked at us about 10 times, finally the bartender had to come out to take our order. After that everything was great, menu has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
roz p, Owner at The Pickled Cactus Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Lindsay. I'm sorry to hear one of my staff was rude, as we rarely receive staff complaints. Next time you done with us, please ask to speak to the manager or owner so we can ensure your experience is top notch. Regards roz 🌵 More 

1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Pickled Cactus used to be our favourite mexican restaurant for years so we always looked forward to going. Having been away from Australia for almost two years we had often looked forward to having our favourite mexicam meal upon our return. The new premesis dont offer quite the same atmosphere as we enjoyed previously, but the staff and service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt C
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Such a wonderful night out. The food was amazing! Loved everything we had & ate every last bite! The staff were incredible. Very friendly, attentive & helpful. We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank goodkyli
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2017

This is our favourite Mexican food.. prob not as good atmosphere since they moved, with the concrete floor not helping.. however the food is as incredible as ever.. have to recommend the Chimichanga with added spice.. what a meal!!! Kids had nachos and burritos and they were exceptional as well.. service was def with a smile... Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Great service and wonderful atmosphere. The food is good; mexican is mexican :) Haven't been to the new location as yet, i sure hope they've been able to hang onto the wonderful atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank chickeneck

Travellers who viewed The Pickled Cactus Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Broadbeach, Gold Coast
Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
 
Labrador, Gold Coast
 

Been to The Pickled Cactus Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 21
Cuisine
Mexican, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:30
Tuesday
17:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
17:00 - 20:30
Thursday
17:00 - 20:30
Friday
17:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:30
Saturday
17:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 14:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 44 33 Hollywell Rd | 610 Oxley Drive, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Gold Coast  >  Biggera Waters
  • Phone Number: +61 7 5537 3636
Description
Combining both Tex Mex and Mod Mex, fresh and tasty food, great staff and great ambience, a place for a family gathering, parties, a romantic night out, or a catch up with friends. Just let us know what the special occasion and we will do our best to ensure your night is special. New menu out now

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pickled Cactus Mexican Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?