We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, European, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (1,271)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveller rating
457
374
187
62
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
457
374
187
62
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger salad mt cook nice view mountains charlie history photos village window option
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Massive, pricey and inedible burgers with terrible fries. The steak burger had one piece of rare steak and one overcooked with so much sauce (unidentified) and a weird cheese laden rosti (unusual element for a burger). Wooden cutlery did not help. The Salmon burger not...much better. A pity as a great location and nice staff.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2024 via mobile

This cafe has a great view but sadly hasn’t been invested in for several years by the look of it. Prices are the same as the main hotel but food and drink are served on paper plates/cups. Coffee was fine - but you’d be better...going to the cafe in The Hermitage which is just round the corner for a much nicer experience.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2024

This cafe was the worst experience of our whole New Zealand trip. The coffee was disgusting...luke warm and tasteless. The burger was underwhelming and overpriced. The tables were dirty...the Cafe overall had an unkempt and shabby appearance. The staff were offhand. The toilets were closed...with a sign to use the Visitor Centre ones a short walk away. Clearly taking advantage of tourists they are unlikely to see again. Would give zero stars if I could.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024

This was so average. Obviously paid a premium on food due to the location but the product was so poor. $74 for two burgers/chips and two soft drinks. Burgers were average, chips anaemic. Everything served on paper plates, and even had to ask for a...glass to have our drinks, instead of a plastic cup. Cutlery is wooden. It’s a sit-down cafe. Expectation to clear own plates and separate waste into bins for recycling - no one was clearing tables. Total joke to charge that much money for average food and basically no service at all.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2024

Our visit for lunch was a total disappointment. The coffee was bland and lukewarm, the staff were off hand and not willing to engage at all, the menu was uninspiring, the pizza was dry and underwhelming...and somewhat small for the price. I asked for my...coffee to be reheated...which it was, grudgingly. The café looked unkempt and run down with lots of uncleared tables and it wasn't exactly packed when we were there. The behind the counter mess did not inspire me. You couldn't use the toilets...and had to go to the Visitor Center. Really just taking advantage of the location and lack of competition. It has gone downhill massively since my last visit, admittedly some years ago when the original oners had it. Would never go back...we'll bring our own food next time.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet Wigzell, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Sorry to hear about your experience. We get thousands of happy customers but sadly they never make it to trip advisor.You arrived when the staff were slammed with several busloads that descended on them unexpectedly during Chinese New Year and they did their absolute best...More

Reviewed 22 February 2024

Yes, I know I am fussy about my coffee. I only have one a day, so I want it to be good. This wasn't. I ordered a cappuccino with thick foam (because I often get served a thin flat white with chocolate, which is NOT...a cappucino). This was available in only one size, which was a bit large for me, but as I hadn't had a coffee all day I agreed. It was undrinkable. It was bitter, topped with a mountain of froth (not foam). The coffee was burned, way too hot, and my burnt tongue was sore for hours. My companion's flat white was not much better. Waste of money.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet Wigzell, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Our staff, on a rare occasion, may have a slip-up. As you probably observed, they were absolutely stretched that day. In such a case you may find it helpful to simply ask for a replacement cuppa which would have been willingly provided.

Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

Great pizza and coffee - a welcome and welcoming chance to sit down after a morning of hiking and biking. Service was good and the pizza bases are made by the outstanding Fairlie Bakery and they didn’t disappoint. Interestingly, the DOC staffer at the Visitor...Centre tried to steer me to the Hermitage cafe when this one was much closer. On reading the fascinating story of how Old Mountaineers managed to set up in the village, I now understand why! Still very disappointing that they continue to make life difficult for the owners. Well worth a visit.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet Wigzell, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Many thanks for your positive review Mike. Much appreciated as we receive a huge amount of positive feedback at the restaurant, but it is rare that happy customers take the time to give a review. So, again, thankyou! As for the DOC staffer; that was...More

Reviewed 4 February 2024 via mobile

We went for lunch as it was one of the only two options for lunch in Mount Cook. We had the Bacon burger,the fish burger, and a pepperoni pizza. Any of those was impressive, and the fish burger was with the sauce even if we...asked to have it plain. The lemonade was terrible, without any taste. As well we had to clarify with the staff if, as customers, we could use the toilets because they were written on the door that they were closed. Overall, I can't say that we couldn't eat there, but we were not impressed at all considering the good reviews left by other people.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet Wigzell, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

It seems the food was impressive - all three choices you made. Great. Deserves more than a 2 then it seems. The lemonade is clearly not what you are used to as it is made from deep spring water and with no chlorine and no...More

Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

Terrible food; despite a very short menu, they come short of pizza and sparkling water at 1.30pm at lunch time. Staff is unfriendly, toilets are not working. Truly not recommend this place.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet Wigzell, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

The toilets are working, you just had to ask for a key. Staff that day were swamped. Completely swamped. We had sold out of almost everything. Unclear what you had so unable to comment.

Reviewed 21 December 2023 via mobile

This restaurant or how you want to call it is a joke. They are short staffed, the place is dirty as mentioned in another comment, they use paper plates and wooden cutlery. For burger, pizza and two drinks we paid 73,5$. Avoid this place if...possible.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2023

We decided to gove the Old Montaineers a second chance. It was closed at lunch time despite having a sign saying it was open. We asked someone who seemed to be working there if it was open for dinner - they said read the sign....Dinner at 5pm. We came back just after 6pm and it was closed. We didnt see it open again for the next few days - never saw any people on the tables out the front. Aoraki is one of NZs most popular tourist destination, but this is the best we can do? It is embarassing - the owners may be local legends and run the best guiding business around, but they should not be wasting peoples time running this hospitality business that doesn't offer hospitality. Clearly a chip on their shoulders. They will complain about lack of staff - they should complain about lack of customers - they should actually be open occasionally. This could be one of the best cafes in the country if run properly. It's not!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2023 via mobile

Okay, to be fair, they write down they are short staffed. But that is no reason to have such a dirty restaurant! Dead flies, spiderwebs, dirty tables. They have cut down the menu options to a few dishes, so you would think those that are...left over are their specialties. I had the pepperoni pizza, and it was terrible. Worst pizza in ages. Almost no toppings, and a lot of extra salt sprinkled over it. Why? Not worth going to!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2023 via mobile

This establishment is operated with love for its location and the people who visit it. Everything about the place is fantastic! The owner, Charlie Hobbs, is one of those fantastic people in this world! It was a pleasure to meet you and to read yours...and Mary’s stories!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet Wigzell, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Many thanks Jonathan! So appreciated reading your feedback. Much appreciated!

Reviewed 4 October 2023

Went here with our family of 5 and had a great experience. I did msg the owner prior to make sure he was open and what the opening hours were. No need to book. I had a delicious tomato and coconut soup and all 4...others had the burger which was huge with a generous portion of chips. Food came quickly (there were only 2 other people in the restaurant) and everyone commented on how delicious it was. My only complaint was that we arrived on a day when it snowed 45 cm and they didn’t have the fire on (just heaters) 😊 it was a little to cool for me 🥶. But that was late in the season and unexpected snow so maybe they weren’t prepared. Otherwise great night, great food and great location.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet Wigzell, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thanks so much for your great feedback. We will have the fire on for you next time!

Reviewed 26 May 2023 via mobile

I have very mixed feelings about this establishment and our experience. I have previously lived in small mountain towns and currently live where we rely heavily on tourists. So I understand how difficult running an establishment in these areas can be. But this cafe felt...like it was on another level. We had been in town for multiple days and had waited until a Wednesday for this establishment to be open. We arrived at 11.30am and looked at the sign in the door and it indicated they opened at 12pm. No problem we simply went to the visitors centre. Came back out at 12 and ourselves and several others were waiting for open, we get told they won’t be opening till 12.30pm. We were still willing to give them the benefit of the doubt so continued waiting. When we got inside, it’s a fairly standard cafe. There is a nice view out the front windows, as with most establishments in town. We prefer to sit outside, and even though there were tables out front there was a sign indicating you would not receive service there. So we sat inside. The menu is basic, there are quite a few burgers and different pizzas. They also noted a “soup of the day” but when we asked were told they didn’t have any. We went with a burger each and the food was ok, burgers tasted like homemade which was nice. However the entire meal was on throw away plates, water in plastic cups, coffee in takeaway containers and bamboo cutlery. What an absolute waste of resources that is totally unnecessary. We also had to bus our own plates at the end of our meal. They at least had a food waste container, but that just seems pointless after you’ve created endless waste with the meal. Overall I can see they are trying, they had a news article located on the counter regarding previous action they had taken to keep their business alive. I hope they do, but if they want to they need to make some very basic changes to their business model to make it somewhere people want to return to.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
2,249 reviews
.61 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
526 reviews
30.28 km away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
54 reviews
30.39 km away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
143 reviews
30.48 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Alpine Restaurant
374 reviews
.15 km away
The Panorama Restaurant
372 reviews
.15 km away
The Sir Edmund Hillary Cafe & Bar
90 reviews
.18 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aoraki/Mt. Cook
550 reviews
.47 km away
Hooker Valley Track
1,098 reviews
1.55 km away
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park Visitor Centre
693 reviews
.10 km away
Glacier Explorers
653 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kiwi_cathj
20 April 2021|
Answer
Response from Shirleewirly | Reviewed this property |
They did for me, but I think you have to ask specifically :) I had a burger there and it was delicious!
0
Votes
Ash5200
24 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Harriet W | Property representative |
Dear Ash, Yes it is VERY high season! We do take reservations and if you book your group in for an early dinner that should work. Let me know your name, contact details of where you are staying and if you want to book on 29... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

OLD MOUNTAINEERS' CAFE, BAR AND RESTAURANT, Mt. Cook Village - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant

Yes, Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5