We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant

| Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
+64 3-435 1890
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (129 reviews)
“salmon bagel” (19 reviews)
“apple crumble” (13 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

One of the only restaurants in the area so doesn’t leave you much of a choice. My husband and I ate lunch before heading back to Queenstown and this place was nothing but mediocre. I ordered the salmon bagel which was okay but my husband...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank jrlefko
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

It is against the law, that is why we don't serve them that way. It is a recent law you may not be aware of. We have new staff who may not have fully understood that we are forbidden to serve burger meat medium rare....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Reading the menu whilst sitting down it says breakfast until 11:30. We tried to order at 11:10. Staff said the kitchen is closed for breakfast and would not open until midday for lunch. Highly disappointing and misleading.More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank X6912DWdavidm
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

You will have noticed our staff were overwhelmed by an unprecedented influx of customers all at the same time. Due to circumstances beyond our control on the day you visited there was just one person able to cook breakfast and prep for lunch and he...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place hasn’t much competition so seems to have settled for a fairly mediocre experience knowing that there aren’t any nearby alternatives. Potato wedges came in a good portion, but tasted like cheap frozen supermarket offerings. Toilets were in a poor state of repair and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank rossfinnie
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. Our toilets are scrupulously clean and we work very hard to keep non-cafe patrons out of these bathrooms but it is difficult. On the very rare occasion we have trouble also is when the cafe is packed, like the day...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This cafe is one of only two open at lunchtime in the Mt Cook village and the majority of customers were overseas tourists. Despite this privileged position, the menu was awful (burgers, pizzas etc) and the burger I got was awful: dry, tasteless, verging on...More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank ge90
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am unsure what went wrong, but we have soup, salmon salads, steak sandwiches, salad and salmon bagels and other salads and if there was anything wrong with your food then we have staff who would have happily helped you. None of the staff received...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We sat outdoor and had a really lovely lunch watching the kids running around the compound. Ordered vegetarian bagel, soup of the day (carrot & coconut), Hawaiian pizza and fish bites. All was great except the fish bites. First time eating these with the fish...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank jlaug81
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks very much for your feedback. We'll look into those bites, too. Great that you enjoyed everything else and had a terrific time, and thanks for letting us know. Travel safe.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

service is very friendly, food is great, not a lot of choices but well cooked. great pizza, steaks, salmon bagfels and salmon salad. see also the view

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank JackTheTraveller
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so very much for taking time out to let us know we got things right. It made all the difference to our day! So pleased we were able to be here for you and that you enjoyed your time with us. Travel safe.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great lunch, enjoying a wonderful view of mount cook right feon the glass windows. Very nice ambience and great food. The staff is very friendly.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 982vaishalir
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Bless you, bless you! Thank you so very much for your wonderful review which made our day. I am so sorry, but I missed it initially. It made the sun shine brighter when found though. Travel safe and thanks for taking the time to let...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went there both for lunch (pizzas) and breakfast. Were never disappointed, staff is great and food tasty!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Erica00B
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so very much for taking the time to write and let us know. So appreciated. Travel safe!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was very average, items missing on the plate from advertised. Smallest piece of undercooked bacon and limp white bread that was not ciabatta as advertised. Lots of other customers had issues and we saw a lot of food going back or meals uneaten. Don’t...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Mollyman
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sounds like you were not at our restaurant. We are not advertised as "award-winning" If you had any problem at all with your breakfast you would have been able to approach our staff who would have been more than happy to have sorted anything out,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered a burger and pizza. At $26 for the burger, it was very expensive but we enjoyed the pizza which was about $22 and very tasty. Busy during holiday periods but a good stop for lunch. Everything at the village was expensive but for casual...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank AustTrail
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your burger would have included NZ meat, salad and a generous side of fries, too, and in a national park we have to pay extra to the government for being here and transport costs are a great deal more as well, but great to hear...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Hermitage Hotel
2,346 reviews
.19 km away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
1,809 reviews
.59 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
467 reviews
30.28 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
212 reviews
30.32 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Panorama Restaurant
289 reviews
.14 km away
Matheson Cafe
1,249 reviews
33.37 km away
Alice May
1,608 reviews
39.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hooker Valley Track
868 reviews
1.55 km away
Kea Point Track
159 reviews
.17 km away
Sealy Tarns Track
61 reviews
.17 km away
Glacier Explorers
496 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ash5200
24 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Harriet W | Property representative |
Dear Ash, Yes it is VERY high season! We do take reservations and if you book your group in for an early dinner that should work. Let me know your name, contact details of where you are staying and if you want to book on 29... More
0
Votes
Pipo2968
26 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Harriet W | Property representative |
Welcome to Mount Cook National Park! We serve sourdough or ciabatta bread and toast. In winter the last order depends on how busy it is but book for no later than 7pm to be sure that we are open. Breakfast starts at 10am. We... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Mackenzie District  >  Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)  >  Mt. Cook Village
  • Phone Number: +64 3-435 1890
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing