We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tongariro Lodge Restaurant

83 Grace Road | Just off State Highway 1 North of Turangi., Turangi 3382, New Zealand
+64 7-386 7946
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“salmon” (6 reviews)
“potatoes” (3 reviews)
“ham” (2 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 am - 10:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
83 Grace Road | Just off State Highway 1 North of Turangi., Turangi 3382, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2017

As we're relatively new to the Taupo area we had our entire family descend on us over Xmas. We'd heard good things about the restaurant, so we decided to take the family there for dinner one evening. What struck us first was the beautiful and...More

Thank Damian B
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent dining experience with us at The Lodge. So pleased that you enjoyed the meal and the Lodge. (the venison starter is definitely one of my favourites) We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 12 January 2017

While visiting the region recently, we decided (on a friends recommendation) to call into the Tongiriro Lodge early one evening. From the moment we drove up the drive way through the cooling green and beautiful tree covered grounds, our experience was delightful. As we entered...More

Thank LyallBay36
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hi, Thankyou for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent dining experience with us at The Lodge. So pleased that you enjoyed the meal and the surroundings as well as the service. We do look forward to welcoming you back to...More

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

So we wanted a good meal in Turangi and quite by accident stumbled on this gem hidden away just south. Staff was professional and quickly accommodated our unscheduled walkin. Impeccable service, very quick and attentive in an authentic fishing lodge which has clearly matured from...More

Thank kpmcn
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hi, thanks so much for your feedback on your dining experience with us at The Lodge. So pleased that you found us, and that you enjoyed the meal, the ambience and the service. We do hope that you will return when next in this area....More

Reviewed 10 January 2017

We have had a disappointing dinner at this restaurant. We went for dinner here on December 23rd. Maybe not an popular day for going out?? It started great with some drinks in the entrance. Ready for dinner we were seated in the breakfast area!! Not...More

Thank Anjo d
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hi, thankyou for taking the time to give us your feedback on your dining experience at The Lodge. My apologies that it was not to your expectations. We do utilise the Den area for diners when the restaurant is full, some guests actually request it....More

Reviewed 5 January 2017

We booked in for the Christmas Day dinner, for 7pm. On arrival there were many other people mingling around the entrance loibby and bar area, buying drinks and waiting. I was told dinner started at 6pm, hence my reservation for 7pm, as we wre told...More

Thank Flicks88
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hi, thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent food & service, and obviously on this occasion we did not deliver as expected. I have discussed all your comments with...More

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Reserved table for 20:30. Arrived on time but were told our table wasn't ready. We were seated in the lounge with a drink and the promise of a menu. 20 minutes later, when we went to the bar to inquire about a lodging related question,...More

1  Thank Pat F
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Hello and Thank You for your feedback. I am so sorry that you had such a disappointing experience in the restaurant. As you can imagine this is not the kind of experience that we want for our guests. Your comments will be addressed with the...More

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Worst service in the southern hemisphere? Took 45 mins to take the food order, 2 hrs for food to arrive and 2hrs 15mins to get a drink! Food was good, if overpriced - but is any meal worth this wait? We literally returned to our...More

Thank SGK1000
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

HI, Thanks for your feedback, and I am sorry your experience is not what we want for our diners at all. This is definitely not our normal feedback, I am pleased the food was good, however the wait is unacceptable. I can assure you that...More

Reviewed 25 October 2016

Lovely, friendly service. Excellent meal. We all had the lamb shank which was full of flavour, very generous in size and delicious. Similarly the entrees were delicious. The wine list was a real treat, some delightful wines we were not familiar with.

Thank Michelle S
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Thank You for the feedback, and so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you at the Lodge again soon.

Reviewed 8 October 2016

Thank you all so much We had a great day yesterday and your venue, lunch and treatment of us was fantastic. An interesting thing to note is that my wites Aunty is a Culinary Course teacher and was really impressed with everything. Gordon had a...More

Thank shaynemnz
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Thanks for your feedback, and we are pleased that everything went so well for the 80th celebrations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge when you are next in the area. Thanks

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

A cosy little restaurant in a beautiful setting! We had complimentary cheese board to begin which was a nice touch! The Pinot noir was a good drop! We started with the pork belly and salmon - both perfect but the salmon was out of this...More

Thank Happyash A
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

HI, great that you enjoyed your meal with us, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Turangi
Tongariro Lodge
193 reviews
.36 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
309 reviews
1.20 km away
Sportsmans Lodge
132 reviews
1.40 km away
Tongariro River Motel
69 reviews
1.56 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Creel Tackle House & Cafe
225 reviews
2.04 km away
Licorice Cafe
133 reviews
6.57 km away
Turangi Tavern
220 reviews
1.85 km away
Lakeland House Restaurant
290 reviews
6.98 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rafting New Zealand
889 reviews
1.59 km away
Tokaanu Thermal Pools
166 reviews
4.78 km away
Tongariro River Rafting
645 reviews
2.98 km away
Tongariro National Trout Centre
202 reviews
4.91 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tongariro Lodge Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 83 Grace Road | Just off State Highway 1 North of Turangi., Turangi 3382, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Turangi
  • Phone Number: +64 7-386 7946
  • E-mail
Description
The Tongariro Lodge restaurant, is renowned for excellent food. The menu is updated seasonally to incorporate the best of local produce. We are open for Breakfast from 7am and Dinner from 6.00 pm Lunch by appointment. To avoid disappointment we recommend you make a booking.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing