We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Asian, Thai
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
57
60
16
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
57
60
16
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food green curry chicken tom yum prawns love this restaurant fashion island good quality food fresh ingredients shopping centre generous portions nice meal birthday dinner dishes tauranga nz bay
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food is good. Not worth the 2hour + wait . EVERY.SINGLE. TIME with not even an apology. Fix your wait time!!

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 November 2020 via mobile

Great service even though the restaurant was full. The food was delicious and very well presented. I can honestly say the food was the best I have had in a Thai Restaurant in many years.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
DayTrip03467797252, General Manager at Thai Thani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Thank You so much Welsh for visit us. we really glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. Hope to see you again.... Thai Thani Restaurant...

Reviewed 19 October 2020

This is one of the best thai restaurant in tauranga good quality food resonable price and excellent service.we really enjoyed our dinner with family ,definitely will be back again.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
DayTrip03467797252, General Manager at Thai Thani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Thank you so much for visit us. its really nice to hear that you enjoyed with us. hope to see you again Thai Thani Restaurant

Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

My husband ordered takeaway ( in person) this evening and was told (only after he had paid) that there was a 30 minute wait. An hour later our takeaway was ready. This is not what I would call acceptable service.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

My wife and I had the vegetable spring rolls and the chicken satay skewers for entree. Unfortunately, the chicken was a bit stringy. For my main I had the chicken stir fried vegetables with fresh ginger. I thought the ginger was lacking. Nice and friendly...service.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
DayTrip03467797252, General Manager at Thai Thani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2020

Hi Kevin Thank you so much for your time to write this review We are really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal with us, definitely we will work it out and please visit us next time so that we will provide you...More

Reviewed 16 September 2020

My friends and I love/loved this restaurant but last night, had the most embarrassing and offensive experience, so much so that we will never go back. we ordered over the phone, collected it, got it home (which was 15 mins away) and unpacked the food...to see one curry was wrong. We ordered a prawn curry for our vegetarian friend but had been given a beef curry. We called to tell them they had given us the wrong one and I was accused of having ordered the wrong curry. They argued with me for several minutes that it was my fault. (I would not order a meat curry for a vegetarian!!). They reluctantly agreed to make us the correct curry and when we went to collect it, the woman working at the restaurant stood in front of the full restaurant of people and accused my friend of not being vegetarian as she was eating prawns (so rude), they told her it was our fault and she wouldn't give her the curry until she had made sure everyone heard that it was 'our fault'. My friend was so embarrassed!! It was so unprofessional. So much so that I am writing this as it was so horrible to see her come back so upset by the exchange. To the woman working at the restaurant... I not sure what you think we were to gain from this as our food had gone cold by the time we got home and the other wrong curry you gave us was not eaten as none of us eat beef so it was not to gain a free meal as you implied so rudely. You ruined our evening. Please learn to accept that you can mishear what people order, you were super busy so understandably were stressed but you made the mistake. There is no excuse for your rudeness. Positive: The correct food was great.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Eatout-Restaurants, Agency / Consultant at Thai Thani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Hello Bal We are really sorry to hear this from you, regarding your wrong order on that night. We tried to make things easy for you and offer another prawn curry, we didn't mean to argue nor accused you, we accepted that it's hearing fault,...More

Reviewed 6 August 2020

Can't fault this restaurant. The atmosphere is warm and cozy,the staff are welcoming and the food is excellent. In our group of nine we all thoroughly enjoyed the dishes we chose. Food is very tasty and served hot. The only fault was there are too...many delicious choices and took us quite a while to decide. This is the third time our group has dined here and we will be backMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Eatout-Restaurants, Agency / Consultant at Thai Thani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2020

Hi Grordiex Thank you for choosing us for your dinner as you came from far away We glad to hear that you enjoyed our food here. Our aim is to provide pleasant service and delicious food to our customers. Thank you again for visiting us...More

Reviewed 26 July 2020 via mobile

Wow best Thai restaurant ever..Fantastic service from the friendly girls, and a lovely warm atmosphere.The food is superb flavorsome and excellent presentation. A highly recommended restaurant.. Gaz n daz.🙂More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Eatout-Restaurants, Agency / Consultant at Thai Thani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2020

Hi Gaz Thank you for choosing us on your special day and we are happy to hear that we made your day most special with a bit of decoration and delicious food. It means a lot to us. Thank you See you again Thai thani...More

Reviewed 21 June 2020

I love this restaurant, my favourite Thai place in the Bay of Plenty. The Thai green curry is one of the best I've ever eaten.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?3  
Eatout-Restaurants, Agency / Consultant at Thai Thani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2020

Hi Philip Thank you for your review. It's our pleasure that you love our place and our meal it really means alot for us. Hope to see you again next time. Thank you Thai Thani Restaurant

Reviewed 15 May 2020 via mobile

Having lived in Thailand for many years and frequented local Thai restaurants across Tauranga , this was the worst Thai meal ever ... ordered Thai fry rice and Phad Thai . The fry rice was a tasteless clunky grey mess with tough beef absolutely no...chilli (didn’t think that possible in Thai food ) too much old oil and minimal scraps of what I think was frozen peas and carrots . The chef should be ashamed To let something like this leave the kitchen ....it was unbalanced not fresh and tasteless . The pad Thai was similar ....... Will never order from there again but rather spend a bit more and go down to Mount Maunganui Thai establishments ..... To the chef please take some pride in your work ...you represent your country .....and if this was related to being busy or close to closing , that’s not a valid excuse as you are being paid good money for your meals ....More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?3  
Eatout-Restaurants, Marketing at Thai Thani Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2020

Thank you for your review. We’re sad to hear you had such a worst experience with your take away meal of Thai Thani fried rice and Pad Thai. But we really appreciate you bring this concern to our attention. Our chef is working with us...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Papamoa Beach Resort
399 reviews
.58 km away
Beach House Motel
116 reviews
3.08 km away
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
60 reviews
5.07 km away
Bay Palm Motel
79 reviews
5.40 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Blue Biyou
447 reviews
.64 km away
Papamoa Beach Tavern
97 reviews
.30 km away
Great Spice Tandoori Indian Restaurant
40 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Papamoa Beach
234 reviews
.85 km away
Papamoa Hills Cultural Heritage Regional Park
65 reviews
2.55 km away
Looking Glass Garden
56 reviews
7.10 km away
Papamoa Plaza
16 reviews
.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Thai Thani Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing