We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews



USD 2 - USD 14
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews toasties pastry toasted sandwich nice cafe nice food rh coffee franchise shake smoothies
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 20 March 2021

The Saturday morning ladies behind the counter in early January really made RH worth the visit. They were all super friendly and welcoming on a rainy day. I rate my interaction with staff at a place as to whether or not I return and I...definitely will return to Whakatane RH. Thanks for making our visit so enjoyable!More

Date of visit: January 2021
Reviewed 29 November 2020

Been there a few times, the food was pretty average. We went mainly because it's convenient. Last visit, ordered chicken filo, the pastry was thick at both ends with very little chicken in it. The chicken was also of the processed type, not nice. It...was unusual to have thick filo pastry !! Will never order this again.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Kathryn P, Owner at Robert Harris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Thank you for letting me know, perhaps next time you could let me know directly so I could sort an alternative. Our menu is under review, so look forward to offering something different next time.

Reviewed 16 October 2020

The food was good, and I thought well-priced for what I got - tender chunks of chicken, with mushrooms and swiss cheese, and some salad on the side, and a pot of tea. The staff never seemed to stop scrubbing things - the floor, the...bench, the pots - while this was reassuring due to the COVID-19 restrictions, I am looking forward to the day they can be more relaxed.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed 8 September 2020

I'm a visitor to town so I stopped here as I know RH do Eggs Bennie nationwide through all their cafes. The service was not that friendly, from the man serving, if is he the Manager, no smiling happening here ! I had to return...to the counter several times, for salt n pepper, sugar for the coffee, serviettes, none supplied of these in the first service. The traditional eggs benedict always has spinach but there was none of the plate. I was very surprised at the price of $19 plus a $6 coffee, $25 pretty pricey.!! Most cafes are $15 and under for the same dish with spinach. I checked the board, because I thought I'd been charged incorrectly, but that's what the price was. I have travelled all over the country and this is the dearest. Won't be going to any more franchise RH's, too expensive and average service.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Kathryn P, Owner at Robert Harris, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2021

Thank you for your review. I found a few points very interesting. The reason for bare tables, with no condiments was because the country was on alert level 2 for corona virus. Hence the no smiiling, wondering which direction people in business were heading. Secondly...More

Reviewed 29 February 2020

Four of us had lunch here before heading to experience the Awakeri Rail Adventures. Very friendly staff, nice food and outdoor dining.

Date of visit: February 2020
Reviewed 9 February 2020

Ordered one sandwich and 2 toasties with a milk shake $30. Good service, clean and good view of the passers by. Toilet clean. Good value, great location. Visited with family for lunch

Date of visit: January 2020
Reviewed 2 February 2020 via mobile

I stole into this place regularly when I'm in town for work. Smoothies are great along with other options I have chosen during visits. Brownie is 1 of my favs too. Well worth a stop in when your in town

Date of visit: January 2020
Reviewed 27 January 2020

A very tasty breakfast and good coffee. The outdoor area is great and we'll be back next time we're in Whakatane

Date of visit: January 2020
Reviewed 26 November 2019 via mobile

Slow service, took 13mins for a ice coffee and they barely had anyone in store. I try to avoid this place as they are consistently slow. I work nearby and only go when desperate. Nothing ever changes. Today one lady was waiting so long so...went up to get a refund to find out they never even put her order through! Hence the no coffee and fluffy for her kid. So unprofessional. They barely even said sorry just told her she wasn’t charged.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

My husband and I like to meet for lunch when he has a weekday off and we like to try the different cafes in town. Today we were undecided where to eat and decided on Robert Harris, being a well known chain, we thought we...couldn’t go far wrong. I ordered a Caesar Salad and my husband the Mussel Fritters. Our lunch arrived quickly, no complaints there. My salad was a plate full of limp mixed salad, not the lovely crisp vis lettuce you would normally expect in a Caesar salad. Instead a mixed selection of lettuce that didn’t agree with being topped with a hit egg and turned into a selection of limp half cooked leaves. It was described as a chicken and bacon salad, but in reality had very few pieces of either, I’m sure the egg was poached but it looked more like a flat fried egg. This was all topped off by slightly stale croutons, with no colour and very little crunch! Definitely not worth the $18 odd dollars we paid for it. My husband was just as unimpressed with his mussel fritters, they are served on a slice of normal whole meal bread, they were stodgy and obviously reheated in the microwave. We decided that we didn’t want to continue with our lunch as neither of us were enjoying it, so I took the plates back to the counter, I was met by the stoney faced manager Kathryn. I told her we were not overly impressed with the food and she asked me what the problem was? I pointed out our issues with the meals and she read the description of the salad off the menu, she said it was their twist on a Caesar salad and that obviously explained the limp mixed leaf salad that was dying under the heat of the egg. She obviously thought the poor excuse in front of me was acceptable and I had not read the menu correctly. My husband then pointed out his issues with his fritters, Kathryns reply was to get the price of his meal out of the till in cash and give it back to him, no refund for the salad. All of this was done with the customer service of a hedgehog!! My advice, if your going to do your own twist on a classic you need to make sure it’s done well. So if your heading into town for a bit of lunch do yourself a favour and stop at Julian’s Berry Farm and check out their amazing Caesar salad, or Poppies just a bit further down The Strand, we wish we had!!More

Date of visit: October 2019
496kathrynp, Owner at Robert Harris, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2019

Thank you for your kind words. I'm sorry that our menu didn't meet with your expectations. There is a reason we do the caesar with the mesculin mix, as its not a popular option. If I had served it with Cos lettuce that was a...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
228 reviews
.55 km away
White Island Rendezvous
465 reviews
.80 km away
ONE88 On Commerce
281 reviews
.82 km away
Alton Lodge
72 reviews
.98 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Spice Junction
293 reviews
.50 km away
Soulsa Restaurant
231 reviews
.08 km away
Javaman Cafe
192 reviews
.09 km away
Cafe 4u
102 reviews
.40 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mataatua: The House That Came Home
132 reviews
.91 km away
Whakatane i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
68 reviews
.57 km away
Puketapa Lookout
10 reviews
.35 km away
Whakatane Museum and Arts
10 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Robert Harris staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Robert Harris

  • Yes, Robert Harris offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, Robert Harris offers delivery services.

  • Robert Harris is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 3.5