We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Quay Cafe & Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Cafe, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
22 Pohutukawa Avenue | Ohope, Whakatane, New Zealand
Website
Today
08:30 - 15:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:30 - 21:00
Mon - Wed 08:30 - 15:30
Thu 20:30 - 09:30
Fri 20:30 - 21:30
Sat 08:30 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Comfortable and convenient to take a break and enjoy some of the local specialities . Very clean friendly place with wecmong staff, definately a place to return to !

Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
Hays
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a really great place for breakfast. The food is excellent and the service is fine. You can eat outside or inside. The location is convenient and access to the beach is just across the street. We have eaten there several times and plan on going back.

Helpful?
Thank BabuKansas
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was hot and as described on the menu, the service was OK but was not busy however this has to be the best Mocha I've had they serve with a Whittaker's chocolate bar and wow yummy!

Helpful?
Thank bungy69
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
485 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We visited during new year and didn't return again due to poor service. Disorganisation is the best way to describe our experience right from the start. Ordering our meals was a chore with the man taking our orders unsure of everything and trying to multitask which clearly he couldn't do. Our coffees were weak and Luke warm and our meals... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alipa50
kevinmrn, Owner at The Quay Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you for your coments hows your khmer cheers kevin More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

Its been a good week and I am still shocked at how bad my experience was here: Firstly the ordering process; the man behind the counter couldn't understand what we were saying (as English was not his first language which I respect), however he was asking us how to spell out our orders - like actually spell 'croutons', 'tomatoes' etc... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BrittanyW1992
New Zealand
Level Contributor
261 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

we walked there daily on our holiday - coffees were good. you get a choc bar with hot choc and moccha drinks. Service was swift. the scones are large and tasty. Smoking is allowed outside so if you don't like sharing cigarette smoke don't sit on the outdoor seating.

Helpful?
Thank JenJ46
kevinmrn, Owner at The Quay Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review

not correct out front is a non smoking area as posted by signs we have to look after all custommers whatever there habits thank you sit out front next time cheerrs kevin manager owner thank you More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stopped for a coffee and a bite a bite here as we've been before a long while a go and didn't mind the food. The first sign we should of left would probably be when as we were approaching the counter a man entered from a back door(which I assume is where the toilet is) and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harataaa
Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

The day we visited they were very busy but the coffee was good and the food (when it came) was very nice. The staff needed roller skates to cope with the crowd.

Helpful?
Thank caroleyoungopotiki
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Great food and quick service, even though they are always busy. Try the pork sliders! Delicious. Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank NZtravel0401
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

This was a lovely spot to have a bite to eat and a drink. The let down was that they had run out of several drinks so choice was limited. The meal was average. We had the squid salad which was lots of small bits of squid in a deep fry basket but the salad was minuscule and lacking any... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deb M

Travellers who viewed The Quay Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Ohope, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to The Quay Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 21:00
Monday
08:30 - 15:30
Tuesday
08:30 - 15:30
Wednesday
08:30 - 15:30
Thursday
20:30 - 09:30
Friday
20:30 - 21:30
Saturday
08:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22 Pohutukawa Avenue | Ohope, Whakatane, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Whakatane

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Quay Cafe & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?