We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cobb & Co.

$$ - $$$
Bar, New Zealand
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
79 The Strand, Whakatane, New Zealand
+64 7-308 9560
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Urenui, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Was visiting a sick relative in Whakatane and decided to grab some dinner before heading back to Rotorua. As it was Valentines Day we figured they would be busy, and it might be a bit of a wait. There sure was a wait, definitely a lot longer than we anticipated. There appeared to be only 3 wait staff and they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaH72
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi TeresaH72. We're really dissapointed to hear that you're visit was far below the great standards you expect and we strive to offer. There is no excuse for extended wait times, incorrect meals or a restaurant that is anything less than immaculate. We would like to apologise and really encourage that you dine with us again. We would love a... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We (a party of five) walked into the restaurant at about 8.30pm on 27 January, which was the Friday night of a long weekend. There were a few people at tables out on the street (including a couple of staff members apparently having a cigarette break) but the restaurant appeared to be pretty much empty. There was no-one at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LiniAk
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi LiniAk. We're dissapointed to hear of your evening with us turned into a non-occasion... There's no excuse to not be met with a friendly smile and great service. We deeply apologise for that. It's great to hear your evening improved after we let you down! We'd really love to welcome you back to our restaurant in the future to... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Kids really enjoyed their burgers that were served with chips and few veges and nicely presented. Also their kids meal was accompanied w nice dessert. I had Caesar salad w chicken and it was very nice , suitable if you are not after a large meal. My hubby has sirloin w roasted potatoes, salad and mushroom sauce and he thought... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maja M
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi Maja M! Thank you so much for the feedback! We're so happy to hear you had such a great visit. Sorry you didn't receive crunchies for the kids! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing food, amazing service. Meal sizes were huge for what we paid. Got the Hoover Hog and it was delicious!! Bit of a wait but definitely yummy!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie C
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi Jodie C! Thanks for leaving a review! Glad you enjoyed the Hoover Hog. We look forward to welcoming you back! More 

Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our meal took over an hour+ and the order was not correct. We did get a free glass of wine and beer.

Helpful?
Thank Terehia50
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi Terehia50. We're really dissapointed about your expereince. There is no excuse for extended wait times or incorrect orders. We apologise for this and thank you for accepting the free beverages. We really encourage you to dine with us again. We'd love a second opportunity to give you the great dining expereince you deserve! More 

Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We eat here regularly as our children like the games area. We have been in 3x this month and service and meals have gotten progressively worse. We take LARGE groups in and it seems they can't cope with this. Our meal last week ... Kids meals came out at different times so half our kids had food and the others... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronawa
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi Ronawa. We're really dissapointed to hear about your evening. The staff that served you definitely need more training. We have discovered this prior to your review and have taken active steps to fix it! This, of course, is no excuse for the concerning evening you have experienced. There is also no excuse for food that is not cooked to... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Christmas Eve 2016 My partner and I were visiting my father and his partner in Whakatane for Christmas Eve and my father had previously been to Cobb and Co and had a lovely meal so suggested we go there. We visited the Irish bar next door and had a glass of wine as we were a little early. When it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank steviegnz
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi Steviegnz. We are extremely concerned and dissapointed to hear about your evening. We fully understand your anger and frustration. Obviously your party were not intoxicated. We apologise for the serious confusion here. When undergoing training to serve Alcohol in NZ (Bar Managers license), participants are strongly told to not to vocally point out signs of intoxication. If a customer... More 

Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Very good atmosphere, relaxed and welcoming. Very good for kids with a menu for tots (1-3 yrs) and kids (4-10 yrs) and big Kids (11-14 yrs). They also have a senior citizens menu with an option for 2 or 3 courses. My daughter enjoyed the kids cocktail (pink panther) and I enjoyed the monteiths on tap. I doubled up on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gedmother
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Thanks for the review, gedmother! We're glad you had such a great visit! Double double up - great move! We'll look into our presentation and make sure we're faster onto your plates in future. We' look forward to your next visit! More 

Whakatane, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

I was really disappointed with the service. We arrived and we waited for 5 minutes before we got seated. Then it took 20 min before our drinks arrived we only got them because we asked for them. Two entrées came out with one child's main my other two girls waited 15 more minutes before their main arrived. Then I waited... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emmafenwick196
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi Emmafenwick196. We are very dissapointed you did not have the same great dining expereince our customers rave about. There is no excuse for extended wait times or service that is anything less than prompt and friendly. We apologise for your expereince and want to get in touch so we can talk and make things right! Please PM us on... More 

nassington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

Visited on a Sunday and was attracted by the thought of a roast dinner, the meat was dry where it had been reheated, veg was lukewarm and the gravy was all congealed, worst meal we had during our 6 weeks in New Zealand

Helpful?
1 Thank lewisNassington
CobbWhakatane, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this review

Hi lewisNassington. We are very dissapointed that you have not have the expereince our customers rave about. I apologise you found your meal to not be up to an acceptable standard. We are proud of the delicious meals we serve. Please take the time to message us your email/number via Facebook Messenger so we can make things right. More 

Travellers who viewed Cobb & Co. also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Cobb & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 14 - USD 25
Cuisine
Bar, New Zealand
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 79 The Strand, Whakatane, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Whakatane
  • Phone Number: +64 7-308 9560

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cobb & Co. staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?