We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Stratford Mountain House

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
European, New Zealand, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Pembroke Road, Stratford 4352, New Zealand
+64 6-765 6100
Website
Today
09:00 - 21:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Wed - Sun 09:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 86: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Stopped in after driving up the mountain for coffee and cake. Coffee arrived but no cake forgot shame seemed a nice place. Very busy with a big group but still worth a stop.

Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

My family travelled here and met for lunch. A bit out of the way but the location was worth it. Good service, nice food and beautiful scenery. It was a cold day but inside had large fireplaces and an open lounge area to relax in.

Helpful?
1 Thank izzipop
Hawera, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016

Stratford Mountain House is a great place to visit for lunch/dinner. Great deck area and indoor lounge/dining areas with views of spectacular Mt. Taranaki up close. 3 of us had lunch. Blue cod with chips/salad, Lamb Pita Pockets & Fettuccine Carbonara were all great meals. We had an excellent bottle of Marlborough Pino Gris & beautiful garlic bread. We enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SecretServant
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016

Great place to stop and have a meal , when we where there in early August there was snow all around and to sit and have a meal looking out the windows at all the snow was amazing. The staff were friendly even though they were busy.The food was good too.

Helpful?
1 Thank pdmac653
Gisborne Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

Disappointed, arrived hungry and thirsty. Did not feel welcomed as they were too busy to seat or serve us. Staff looked flustered and too busy to care about our patronage. So we left.

Helpful?
Thank MarkHarris30
MartyS1001, Manager at The Stratford Mountain House, responded to this review

Good MOrning Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were not happy. As you would have seen we were unbelievably busy. The snow brings everyone out and as you would have seen we had no spare tables or couches for you. You were told the wait was about 30 minutes for food as most people make a... More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Very worthwhile drive. We took friends from out of town for a drive to the mountain Very friendly staff and a nice variety of food available on the menu. Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

We were staying at the Mountain House (separate review) during July - and the weather was, I guess, predictable. Super cold, super rainy with bouts of snow/sleet in the mix. So we ended up enjoying breakfast, lunch and dinner at the restaurant, who were so very accommodating with everything. Food was sensational - a real surprise find in the area... More 

Helpful?
Thank MsSparkles
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

We received lovely service in very pleasant surroundings. The menu choices and drinks selection was sufficient. We all enjoyed our meals and were able to relax undisturbed.Would highly recommend this to others for similar event.This is also a great place to visit even just for a tea or coffee.

Helpful?
1 Thank John & Cheryl H
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016

First off. Wow! the snow outside was white, lolz. but most of all the staff of the Stratford Mountain House were Fab. They went above and beyond. My client is a freindly old chap but likes to hold everyones hands. They were very understanding, ask if I needed anything, and was even happy to help me wtih dinner/meals. Besides all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

A grand surprise, it was snowing the day we arrived for lunch but apart from some trouble getting a park because every kid was there playing in the snow. We eventually parked and enjoyed a very nice lunch at the mountain house in lovely warm surroundings. Great destination spot.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vinoeaves

Travellers who viewed The Stratford Mountain House also viewed

Stratford, Taranaki Region
 
Stratford, Taranaki Region
Stratford, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
Stratford, Taranaki Region
 

Been to The Stratford Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pembroke Road, Stratford 4352, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  Stratford
  • Phone Number: +64 6-765 6100

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Stratford Mountain House and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Stratford Mountain House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?