We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (297)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
96
128
41
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
96
128
41
14
16
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 7 January 2023 via mobile

Every time I stay near Glen Waverley we go to Mocha Jo's. Never tire of the great food and friendly service. Can thoroughly recommend an early morning breakfast here.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2021 via mobile

The waiter who took my order was quick and fast. Was able to get a cost spot under the heater. The food itself never fails, always delicious

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2021

Extremely noisy. I had to shout to the person at the counter about the booking. Had to wait 10 minutes past the time a table was booked so straight away I was not impressed. They were busy so I expected to have to wait some...time for the food, but it really wasn't worth waiting for. Small portion of very basic ingredients - pretty much three ingredients with a mayonnaise and bits of toast. Again, not impressed. After paying the guy didn't even acknowledge me but spoke to the next person in line. I won't bother going back. Better value elsewhere in surroundings you can hear people speaking.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2021 via mobile

What a great place for breakfast. Service was fast and efficient. Great to sit outside in the sun enjoying a wonderful breakfast and a great coffee.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2021

Staff here are amazing, food is great and reasonably priced. Always friendly, always a good time. Go here.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2020

Coffee was great and came out with our meal, as requested. My BLT was okay, but the toasted bread was a bit too hard and crunchy. Service was excellent- happy and helpful. A suggestion- more options for the people who aren’t big egg eaters. Sooo...many egg dishes and we all ended up having a toasted sandwich ‘cos we didn’t want eggs eggs or fried food.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lisasW1563ZQ, Owner at Mocha Jo's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thanks for the great feedback!

Reviewed 19 February 2020

I went to Mocha Jo's on a Sunday for lunch. The staff were friendly and attentive without overdoing it. My halloumi salad bowl was the best main course salad I have ever had! I usually go for something more substantial and this was filling enough...to be a good meal. The presentation was outstanding and the flavours excellent - it was also creative (good-creative), something I think is often lacking with salad offerings. I can't wait to go back for this again! My daughter's Rigatoni Pollo was also full of flavour (a Giant serve!) and my daughter in law's wagyu cheeseburger was beautifully presented and very good. Recommend highly.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lisasW1563ZQ, Owner at Mocha Jo's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback! These kind of reviews mean the world to us. You obviously have great taste as we agree that haloumi salad is the bomb! Look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

On a recent visit to Glen Waverley I stopped at this good looking cafe. I found it to be a Great place for coffee and it has a good selection of cakes . The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa S, Owner at Mocha Jo's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments! 🙏🏼

Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

Good quality local cafe with very friendly staff. Food is very tasty and coffee hits the spot. They do a reasonable "magic" coffee here. I quite like the mixed greens with chicken and brown rice. Very tasty and healthy. The chicken and mushroom risotto is...also very tasty. Only complaint is the price 😂 and it can be a little noisy inside.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa S, Owner at Mocha Jo's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Great feedback, thank you! Always tricky trying to manage price point vs quality of produce and service (biggest cost!) and we agree sometimes we don’t get it 100% right but rest assured it’s our #1 focus! Look forward to seeing you again soon. Lisa

Reviewed 23 December 2019

Went here for breakfast and when you read the menu the selection is fantastic however the actual meals are far from what the description claims to be. Had some kind of smashed avocado thing which was a huge piece of focaccia to make up for...only about a 1/4 of an avocado and a pinch of feta. My husbands "Louisiana waffles" only had about a tablespoonful of sauce and the rest was a very small toaster waffle and dry fried chicken. Also in a restaurant it doesn't hurt to use actual loose leaf tea instead of a teabag in a teapot which I can make at home! Also more annoyingly, a young male waiter (who seemed to have no social intelligence or situational awareness) was sitting at a table next to us on his break and was for about 25 mins talking really loudly on speaker on his phone. He seemed to have no idea that others never asked to hear his conversation, or how it was irritating us, seriously take a hint and behave yourself! Not coming back as this is a classic example of a previously wonderful restaurant that has clearly been bought out by the wrong people and running slowly into the ground. Good luck surviving the next few years with more upcoming and quality restaurants nearby!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa S, Owner at Mocha Jo's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

This is very sad to read Emily. I am really sorry that we disappointed you on your recent visit. Rest assured we are same owners since day dot. 20 years this May! We work very hard at trying to maintain our level of consistency with...More

Reviewed 12 December 2019

Wiate dfor very long to get the food but overall was unsatisfactory woudnt go again unless service picks up

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa S, Owner at Mocha Jo's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

I’m sorry to hear that we disappointed you. Hopefully you give us another go and the service is exactly as it should be!

Reviewed 16 November 2019

Goood place to Brunch. Food good, i had the Eggs Benedict, with Bacon which was cooked to perfection. Atmosphere and Venue was a typical good cafe style. Service was great. Had a great brunch- catch up with a friend.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa S, Owner at Mocha Jo's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a really nice review! Lisa

Reviewed 24 October 2019 via mobile

I just love this place, vibrant and buzzing with people, yet still excellent food. We come here a fair bit. My favorite? The salt and pepper calamari. And why not stick around for the banana pudding too? Divine.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa S, Owner at Mocha Jo's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thank you for your awesome review! How lucky are we to have customers that take the time to write such feedback! Look forward to seeing you soon Lisa

Reviewed 23 October 2019

We have been to this restaurant on many occasions. My favourite is the eggs benedict with smoked salmon and hollandaise sauce. Good coffee. The cakes slices they service are very large. Consider sharing a slice between two people.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa S, Owner at Mocha Jo's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thanks Lilyanne for taking the time to review us and for being a loyal customer!

Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

Great coffee, friendly staff and amazing food. Professional outfit and we wouldn’t hesitate to visit again if in this part of Melbourne again.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisa S, Owner at Mocha Jo's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Thats awesome! Thanks Nicko!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Novotel Melbourne Glen Waverley
1,310 reviews
.16 km away
Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
576 reviews
.25 km away
Domi Serviced Apartments, Ascend Hotel Collection
5 reviews
.26 km away
The Waverley International Hotel
192 reviews
.35 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Black Toro
342 reviews
.04 km away
The Grand Tofu
110 reviews
.06 km away
Piatella Cafe Bar
146 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Scotchmans Creek Trail
29 reviews
1.16 km away
Monash Aquatic and Recreation Centre
76 reviews
1.07 km away
Central Reserve
6 reviews
.46 km away
Village Cinemas Century City
20 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mocha Jo's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MOCHA JO'S, Glen Waverley - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mocha Jo's

Yes, Mocha Jo's offers takeaway services.

Mocha Jo's is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5