We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bective

$$ - $$$Irish, , European
Bective Square | Meath, Kells, Ireland
+353 46 924 7780
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (20 reviews)
“seafood” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Irish, Contemporary, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
Bective Square | Meath, Kells, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Fab food, great atmosphere and brilliant staff. We had a great time and the staff could not have been better with our two young children.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Marylene D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were not intending to have a date night but driving home after a long meeting in the midlands. Hunger struck as we drove into Kells & thought of stopping at the hotel for a steak, then i remembered spotting a bistro on an other...More

4  Thank D L
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

DL, wow thank you so much for that fab review. I recall your visit to us but didn't realise we made such an impression. I'll pass on your lovely compliments. Let us know, next time you visit. Thanks Yvonne

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a stay just outside kells for the night, after checking out tripadvisor for somewhere to eat The Bective was top of the list. It did not disappoint. We'd no booking for a family of 6 but walked right in to a great table...More

4  Thank hotlips11
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's always nice to get good feedback. I will pass on your compliments.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you Yvonne and all the staff for our staff night out in the bective. The food was just fantastic and the service and personal attention from you all was outstanding. We will be back without doubt. From Damien, Micheál and ALL the staff in...More

5  Thank Leona F
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aw thanks for the lovely feedback Leona F - it's always nice to see it in writing. Hosting your staff party was our immense pleasure - we enjoyed it too...😉 What a great bunch of fun, happy and appreciative staff you have. Great photos too.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Following a few recommendations we booked The Bective for a family dinner on the August weekend and we weren't disappointed. We had a great meal with really attentive service and the food was of a really high standard. We will definately go back soon as...More

4  Thank kieran966
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

kieran966 thank you for your kind words and for choosing to dine with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Staff were superb-attentive and helpful. We all chose from the early bird menu. In general, we were happy. My mains was disappointing however - chicken sizzler, pretty insipid, could have done with a lot more flavour.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
3  Thank iseultc2017
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks iseultc2017 for your feedback. Disappointed you didn't enjoy your main course, as it is one of our top sellers. Hope you mentioned it to your server on the night- we could have rectified for you. Will pass it on.

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

The meal was absolutely lovely. My husband had the salmon special and one granddaughter had the Chicken fettuccine and the other granddaughter had the Chicken Caesar salad and I had the Caesar salad. We all enjoyed our meal and the servings were more than adequate....More

2  Thank Sharon R
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks Sharon, Nice feedback , glad you all enjoyed. Hope you visit us again soon.

Reviewed 2 August 2017

we ate here twice in the last two weeks and both times the food was amazing. everything from starters to desserts were so tasty and as always the staff were wonderful and friendly. its a lovely restaurant and as always we are looking forward to...More

2  Thank michelle b
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks Michelle, We appreciate your lovely feedback. I'll pass it on to the team. Look forward to seeing you soon🍾🥂

Reviewed 26 July 2017

Great atmosphere we were seated immediately drinks arrived shortly after. Two of our party are gluten-free which was not a problem. Highly recommend a visit Elaine Valérie and staff will take good care of you !

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
4  Thank jimdaly866
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thanks Jim, Glad you enjoyed your visit and thanks for the lovely review. We are always happy to go the extra mile. It's the little things..😉 Hope to see you again soon. Yvonne

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We got the early bird and it is a very good price quality, totally coming back here. The decoration is really unique and relax atmosphere, but the best part it's the friendly staff.

4  Thank Celia E
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Celia, Thank you and yes, we are a great little team here in The Bective, and always happy to get positive feedback like yours. Glad you enjoyed👍🏻

Nearby Restaurants
vanilla pod
232 reviews
.48 km away
Butterfly Garden Cafe
118 reviews
.08 km away
Bits & Bites Garden Cafe
44 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grove Gardens
5 reviews
6.50 km away
Causey Farm
236 reviews
7.09 km away
Headfort Golf Club
44 reviews
1.36 km away
Spire of Lloyd
52 reviews
2.89 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Simon F
24 July 2017|
Response from KJ1910 | Reviewed this property |
Simon, We're a friendly, fun bunch and we don't hold grudges, and you are entitled to your opinion. It's just we were all a little hurt by the poor review as we always go the extra mile as we did on your brothers 18th, to... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
15:00 - 21:00
17:00 - 22:00
17:00 - 22:00
17:00 - 22:00
17:00 - 22:00
17:00 - 22:00
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bective Square | Meath, Kells, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Meath  >  Kells
  • Phone Number: +353 46 924 7780
  • E-mail
We run a full restaurant service and all of the items on our A La Carte menu are also available to take away - simply phone in your order and collect it (this service is not available during very busy nights). We also have a lovely dining room/bar available upstairs to hire for private functions of any kind (seats 50 people). It has a private terrace, its own bar and bathroom facilities. Contact us for details of our party platters and finger food menus. We take bookings, but walk-ins are also welcome. We cater for groups and private parties and we are family-friendly, with a children's menu and outdoor play area available. General manager Joan Donegan (Head Chef) & Yvonne Flanagan Johnson (Restaurant Manager) look forward to welcoming you to The Bective. We are open from 5pm to late from Wednesdays to Saturdays and from 3pm to 9pm on Sundays (and bank holidays) and there is ample street parking available outside the restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing