We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$20 - AU$28
CUISINES
Wine Bar, Cafe, Healthy, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (108)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
63
30
4
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
63
30
4
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

Just stopped in here for a light lunch. Great value, tasty lunch and nice wines. Resident dog was very entertaining! (Dog friendly outside)

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2023 via mobile

Beautiful setting outdoors next the lake. Was a very cold sunny day. The wine tasting is amazing Loved the flavours and good cheese platter Would b good with more food selections

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2023

We had an excellent lunch here. Don’t be put off by the select menu - everything was delicious, the service was excellent and it’s a beautiful spot to spend the afternoon. We didn’t feel rushed out and the wines are top notch. We will definitely...return when in the area againMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2023

Myself and family visited here yesterday, we were greeted by Doug the owner and his wife, super friendly, we did some wine tasting, all the wines were delicious, we then took a walk along the vineyard which was beautiful. My family live in Melbourne, my...husband and I from the Uk so was really excited to visit. Once we did the tasting, we sat down on the deck to eat lunch.. the best platter of meats, cheeses, pickles, relishes, breads and oils.. it was by far the best any of us had eaten for some time! We also drank more delicious wine! Will definitely Recommned and come back next time!! Thanks Doug & Carolyn 🍷👌More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2023

The wines are really good and the staff are lovely. I wasn't sure what to expect - but it was a really great experience. I learnt about their wines and area while visiting and the outlook is really nice. Platters are good too - no...longer a cafeMore

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2023

There is new management here and they are focusing more on the wines and the wine experience rather than being a cafe - it was lovely and worth visiting. They do still have grazing platters. Delicious.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2022 via mobile

Beautiful place with an amazing outlook. One of the best platters I've ever had. Plenty of variety and lots of biscuits and bread. Also great wines to match. Very friendly staff who are very helpful.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2021 via mobile

Hard pass folks. The “lady “ owner is incredibly rude and shouldn’t be in hospitality . Incomprehensible to be honest . Great looking venue - but honestly that’s about it . There are loads of other incredible places to explore in the area -suggest looking...around for a happier place to dine .More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?6  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2021

Rudness 10/10, lack of customer service 10/10 and this was before we could even make it in side. We were bombarded with abuse. We've spent alot of money there in the past, BUT NO MORE, we are done - never again. Extremely disappointed. Salter Gold...CoastMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy W, General Manager at Hidden Creek Winery Cafe Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Ian, Let's shine a light on this matter and add some perspective. You did not enter our premises - if you had even approached our front door our signage would have informed you that persons who did not have a reservation could not be accommodated...More

Reviewed 2 August 2021

I’ve been visiting, and buying wines off, Hidden Creek for a few years (mainly Shiraz and Tempranillo which is first rate). With its gorgeous lakeside position and fine wines to taste (and terrific cafe… Leanne’s lamb shanks are simply to die for) it’s always been...a must visit on our twice yearly Granite Belt visits. But of late Hidden Creek has gone to a whole new level. The flight of wines option introduced in 2020 (a healthy pour of 6 wines to taste with matched wine snacks) was a brilliant innovation (for years my Austrian wife has been saying “Why the hell don’t wineries on the Granite Belt offer some snacks as part of the wine tasting experience, like in Europe?”’). But the coupe de gras is the new wine range. On our most recent visit we were fortunate to taste their new Unsung Hero range of exotic premium Mediterranean style wines including Ansonica, Fiano, Lagrein, Aglianico & Touriga. Each of these wines to my taste buds (I have over 1000 bottles of Granite Belt wine in my cellar) is a candidate for the title of the best wine ever made on the Granite Belt. And if you’re lucky enough to have multi award winning wine maker Andy (Williams) pour and explain the wines to you, well… you can only go home with a smile on your face. His knowledge of and enthusiasm for the art of wine is infectious. Moreover his new range of wines are as good as you will taste anywhere in AustraliaMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

We preordered a picnic hamper that included Stanthorpe cheeses, which are divine... sitting in the sun amongst the grapevines was lovely!

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2021

Worthy of a visit although limited tasting due to drought and fire last 2 wine seasons. Very pretty place. Hopefully more wines to taste in the future. Charge for tastings.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2021

I had booked Sunday lunch here for the four of us and we were all very excited to be dining next to the winery under the trees overlooking the dam. The setting is beautiful, but sadly we cannot say the same for the service or...the food. It really seems as those the owners/ staff are tired and want to just pack up and go home. We had to repeat requests (for water) several times, and often had to wave to get the waiter's attention for very basic things. The food was expensive for what it was and none of us expressed satisfaction with our respective meals. All were rather small and lacking in taste. The antics of the resident dog were perhaps the most exciting thing here. I believe a fresh injection of interest is required here.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

We recently enjoyed an al fresco lunch at this winery. The restaurant has an attractive setting with a lovely outlook over a large pond complete with ducks. A friendly dog joined us for a while, lying happily under our table. One of us enjoyed a...tasty main of lamb shank, but the beef pasta was a little disappointing. The overall experience was very pleasant.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2021

On Sunday May 2 our group of 8 arrived at the winery. One of our couples went inside to see if they were available for our group of 8 to do a wine tasting. They were received with abruptness and near to hostility to say...we cannot come in from a female staff member. There was no explanation as to why we could not enter. From what we could see from outside the cellar doors the establishment was not full of patrons. The female member of our group needed to use the toilets and when asked if she could use the toilet she was refused. We were taken aback about the reception we received. This hostile reception was also directed towards another couple who arrived after us and all they wanted was to buy 2 glasses of wine and sit on the grass bank like a group who were already at a picnic table. I would not recommend to anyone to go to Hidden Valley WineryMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ballandean Tavern & Motel
63 reviews
2.95 km away
Alure Stanthorpe
164 reviews
13.70 km away
Granite Belt Motel
89 reviews
16.65 km away
Stannum Lodge Motor Inn
476 reviews
17.02 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Stanthorpe's Heavenly Chocolate at Wisteria Cottage
158 reviews
5.44 km away
The Barrelroom Wine Lounge
438 reviews
5.89 km away
Jamworks Gourmet Foods
237 reviews
6.66 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Girraween National Park
392 reviews
6.77 km away
Balancing Heart Vineyard (formerly Balancing Rock)
86 reviews
7.06 km away
Tobin Wines
114 reviews
4.95 km away
Pyramids Road Wines
102 reviews
5.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hidden Creek Winery Cafe Vineyard staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HIDDEN CREEK WINERY CAFE VINEYARD, Ballandean - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hidden Creek Winery Cafe Vineyard

Hidden Creek Winery Cafe Vineyard is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5