We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Deer

$$ - $$$, British,
Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
+44 1363 774248
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good20%
  • Average17%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (3 reviews)
“specials board” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Been to the Red Deer today with 8 friends. Was advised by some people in the group that the food tends to be 'hit and miss'. 3 of us ordered fish and chips and 2 of us found the fish absolutely awful, dry, rubbery, overcooked....More

Thank annlightwood1
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

To annlightwood1 Thank you for your feedback We apologise again for your bad experience, however at the time of your visit you were table checked and commented nothing about the fish only after your plates were cleared. An apology was made by the waitress and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went into red deer ordered cottage pie there was a bit of a mix up with orders but it was soon put right the food was piping hot and tasty and 241 can’t be bad good selection of drinks as well the manager seems a...More

Thank Sheilaandateve
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking your time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your time here with us and hope you will be returning soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited again after a horrible meal. Well what can I say, superb food beautifully cooked, service was swift and smooth. Had 3 courses as it was so nice. Definitely improved in quality. Well done. I've got my local back. See you soon.

Thank Mark S
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Mark S thank you very much for your good feedback, we are so pleased that you will be returning to us! We can’t wait to see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are very friendly and always available to serve you in a professional manner and the food excellent portions and well presented

Thank Angela I
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Angela and thank you for your lovely feedback and we hope you will return to us soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We often stop in here for a quick bite to eat before shopping in Tesco next door. The food is nice, nothing spectacular but mostly tasty. Portions vary in size, sometimes you get lots and other times not so much. Good selection of different things...More

Thank Deanna M
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your time to review us, we thank you for your positive feedback and we hope you visit again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here after visiting a nearby village. Comfortable enough surroundings and average cleanliness. The food was clearly all microwaved to order, nothing at all was available homemade. I understand it's part of a chain pub but it's nothing more than a witherspoons. Would not...More

Thank RedrosePilgrim
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Very sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us, thank you for your feedback

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First class service. Fast friendly staff. Great value food served hot and properly cooked. You can not beat “The Red Deer” for all these things They even have TWO FOR ONE on a large selection of mains and specials. A great selection of drinks to...More

Thank Pumafreek
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there pumafreek thank you very much for your kind words, your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ordered prawn cocktail told not available so said I would have the soup none of that either so ordered the mushrooms came without the garlic dip when I asked for it was told I didn't order it even though it came with it on the...More

Thank janetExeterDevon
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there we would appreciate if you tell us what day you visited as we have had both prawn cocktail and soup last night and the night before and all of the serving staff are aware of this. The breaded mushrooms come with a choice...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a good lunch here. We had bacon and chicken club sandwiches and coffee. Mega amounts of chicken a very substantial lunch. The whole place looked very clean and Tidy. The staff were great.

Thank deepsky
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou very much for your positive feedback, we are glad you had a good time with us here at the Red Deer and we hope you will visit us again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

when we got to Red Deer we were told we could not sit at the very end of the dining room as it was fenced off , staff wanted to keep every one in one room, not good for my partner who has dementia and...More

Thank 313Maggie313
Becky A, Manager at Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there 313Maggie313 we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your last experience with us and could not meet your needs required, thank you for your feedback

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Baobab Cafe
43 reviews
1.51 km away
Nessie's Bistro and Delicatessen
34 reviews
1.47 km away
The Three Little Pigs
145 reviews
1.52 km away
Ashton's Coffee Lounge
88 reviews
1.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Planet Play
16 reviews
.85 km away
Crediton Parish Church
21 reviews
1.17 km away
Ashton's Coffee Lounge
14 reviews
1.48 km away
The Crediton Inn
14 reviews
.97 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Red Deer staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Crediton
  • Phone Number: +44 1363 774248
  • E-mail
Description
Telephone: 01363 774248
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing