We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Restaurant Ippotikon

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5, Evraion Martiron sq. Old Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Name/address in local language
+30 2241 025293
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First impression on where we sit at the table. The towel wrapping bread pierced. The waiter apathetic simply shakes his shoulders. We ordered a salad. And comes the salad. Literally half tomato and five slices of cucumber without anything in saucer to put ointments. It comes a fried calamari literally raw fried in old oil vromokopouse. Of course my son... More 

Helpful?
Thank DimitrisM
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the most beautiful locations for a restaurant that I have ever visited, the food was out of this world even by the Greek standard, we tried 6 or 7 dishes varying across meat, fish and vegetarian which were beautiful and of a decent size as well a few cocktails which were very well-balanced. The staff were extremely attentive,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samuel W
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed. Overcharged for sub standard greek food. Good service. Bad food. Lacking in flavour, quality and taste. Overpriced and bad value. Avoid. Save yourself the disappointment. Personally Avoid this square. Tourist trap.

Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver I
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed the nice upstairs terrace. Food just okay. Nice waitress we shared photos of our respective pets with. BUT beware the sleazy owner. Our lunch came to 41€ but the bill came to 99€. What? We went down to his desk in the kitchen with the check and a menu, where he was shirtless and 'befuddled.' Lots of "oh, sorry... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley Q
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016

Owner should make everybody a favor and stop serving fish and just make the place a mueseum. Impollite and with bad manners, the owner things he runs a michelin star restaurant but this is far away from truth.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lord G
nik0laras, Ιδιοκτήτης at Restaurant Ippotikon, responded to this review

Dear Lord G, Since we do not even know your real name and we are forced to answer to a review that has no content or proof that you indeed had dinner in our restaurant, and to restore the truth in it, we would like you to provide details of your experience (if you truly indeed even enter our restaurant)at... More 

Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016

Very romantic place for a dinner! Helpful staff, very good food, excellent atmosphere! I loved the medieval decor! The most beautiful in the world! I recommend!

Helpful?
Thank doina2016
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Thought it looked nice , so we went there. We ate mousakka and souvlaki. The mousakka looked like something from the shop around the corner. The souvlaki was not worth the money. One slize of undercooked chicken, and bad vegestables. We asked if we could get rice with it, and the waiter told us that it was included. But it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tonve
Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2016

I saw the steep prices but say it will be worth...not the food was as if i was going to fast food with cost one third. Shame the name..the official(waiter) came after 15 minutes for order..

Helpful?
Thank nikos p
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

It's a shame we came to this restaurant a year ago and had a fantastic time. This year the service was poor. When we asked for refills they used the same glass so no ice in the second drink. The food was under seasoned so made the calamari taste of card board. Near the end of the meal a coach... More 

Helpful?
Thank LFOOD-76
nik0laras, Ιδιοκτήτης at Restaurant Ippotikon, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us again my dear friend. It is indeed a shame that you had to come on the day we were reserved for a special occasion of 190 pax excursion that needed to be served in exactly one hour. No excuses just stating the facts. The same waiters that served you well last year, they work this... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

The octopus is horrific. Straight rubber. Inedible. The wine is vinegar. I have never ever sent anything back in my life but I had to. When I complained they argued with me that it was fresh, bla, bla, bla. I told them I knew better. They wiped 8 euros of the bill (out of 38 / the octopus was 12.50)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam R

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Ippotikon also viewed

Rhodes, Dodecanese
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Restaurant Ippotikon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 16 - USD 64
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Greek, Seafood
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5, Evraion Martiron sq. Old Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
  • Location: Europe  >  Greece  >  South Aegean  >  Dodecanese  >  Rhodes  >  Rhodes Town
  • Phone Number: +30 2241 025293
Description
In a building of the Medieval Town dated back in the 13th century, the family Mitsiniotis renovated and operates since 1998 the glorious restaurant IPPOTIKON until today. We create unique experiences around the world of food, combining unique delicacies of high quality products from selected local sources. All our recipes are made with passion and great care to satisfy even the most demanding pallets.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant Ippotikon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?