We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mirrens Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
17 Parkers Lane, Newtown SY16 2LT, Wales
+44 1686 621120
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 17:00
Wed - Thu 18:00 - 22:00
Thu - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
Fri - Sat 18:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 301: English reviews
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Re visiting Newtown tonight after many years since moving away and stumbled upon this excellent restaurant and bar off the main street in Parkers Lane. It looked good from the outside and certainly was inside where we were welcomed and seated by extremely friendly and well turned out staff. The food here was really good quality, especially the Wagyu beef... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob P
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went with friends from work on a late Xmas party (in April). As a Vegan I am hesitant to trust what most restaurants can provide but was pleasantly surprised that choice was given and the meal was wonderful. Staff were friendly and efficient and helpful. The decor was light and breezy, ambience relaxing and the presentation of a wide... More 

Helpful?
Thank rparkermunn
Anna C, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and glad you weren't disappointed on what was on offer to you, especially with you being a vegan. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Only visit this part of the world once or twice a year but this place is a must. Limited menu but high quality food, great service & lovely atmosphere. Love it!

Helpful?
Thank Alexgpringle
Anna C, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I glad you enjoyed your experience with us & look forward to seeing you when your in the area again. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walked in for a last minute seating, no problem for them. Staff very attentive and the food was both plentiful and delicious. Will be going again.

Helpful?
Thank Dave T
Anna C, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves & look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decided to go out for Sunday lunch, £12.95 for 3 course lunch and good portions at that, normally set menus are a little small but not here. I don't think I've seen Yorkshire puddings that size before! We came away feeling like we'd had a meal. Staff were very pleasant and the quality of food and service was spot on.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire H
Anna C, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to review your recent visit to Mirrens & I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We appreciate all feedback & it makes a job more worthwhile when customers leave full & happy and highly recommend us. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. More 

Newtown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for a birthday meal with the family, there was 17 of us in total, all ordered our food in advance which was really good, gave everyone time to have a catch up and a drink without having to worry about reading the menu and ordering food. All the food was fantastic not one bad word to say. Starters were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lard1096
Anna C, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us & you chose Mirrens to celebrate a family birthday. I am glad you all enjoyed yourselves and everything was to your liking. Obviously we all enjoy what we do here but it does make it even more worthwhile when customers enjoy their experience with us & leave... More 

Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was looking forward to a great night out with family but left feeling disappointed. There were 10 of us so we had pre-ordered food a few weeks before. We ordered drinks on arrival but the four of us that ordered a cocktail were still waiting after 20 minutes. Checked with waitress who said we have just had a party of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
Anna C, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to review your recent visit with us & bringing your concerns to my attention. I didn't actually think there was that long of a wait between our larges tables. As you could see we were full that evening, however I will go through our CCTV, taking all your comments on board and see where I... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As there were 10 of us we pre-ordered the food. Only 3 ordered starters which arrived quickly, we then waited 1 hour for the main courses. Apart from this food was well received but some extra staff training would help !

Helpful?
Thank HyperCol
Anna C, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the wait you had in between the clearing of your starters & the arrival of you mains. I do take all feedback on board & will certainly be looking in to the comments you have made & acting on them where necessary. More 

uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We had tapas dishes which were excellent portions and utterly delicious. My husband had the rib eye steak which melted in his mouth. Cooked to his like in. Lamb rumb was tender plenty of it and veg were plentiful. Excellent portions . You won't be disappointed. Friendly and excellent staff- couldn't do enough to make sure our evening was perfect.... More 

Helpful?
Thank CenCen_11
Anna C, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your evening with us and everything was to your liking. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Such a nice surprise. Had no reservation but stopped by on a Saturday evening to see if they could fit us in, based on its Tripadvisor ratings. They could and it ended up being a much better meal than we had expected. Delicious tapas, very reasonably priced cocktails and excellent, friendly staff (they really were brilliant). The atmosphere was lovely.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Attmoo
Anna C, Owner at Mirrens Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, after calling in on us on the spur of the moment. I am glad everything was to your satisfaction & hopefully see you again soon if your passing. More 

Travellers who viewed Mirrens Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mirrens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 32
Cuisine
Spanish, European, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts American Express
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
18:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 15:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 Parkers Lane, Newtown SY16 2LT, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Powys  >  Newtown
  • Phone Number: +44 1686 621120
Description
We offer style, value and the warmest of welcomes to each and every one of our customers. We are at the heart of the Newtown & Montgomeryshire food scene, delivering great tastes from the very best local, Welsh & continental suppliers, to discerning diners in this historic market town. Our reputation is built upon world class ingredients, from celebrated locally produced Waghu beef to creative tapas made from the best sourced ingredients Spain can offer. We are closed ALL day on a Monday & Tuesday and in the day on a Wednesday, opening at 6pm. So our Lunch menu is served Thursday to Saturday from 12noon to 3pm, and we serve our evening menu from 6pm, Wednesday to Saturday. As well as our ordinary evening menu, on a Wednesday evening we have two steaks with all the trimmings & a bottle of house wine for £35, on a Thursday evening we have a selection of 10 tapas dishes & a jug of sangria for £30 (maximum of 4 people) and on a Friday lunchtime we have a small battered fish, chips, mushy peas, bread & butter & a pot of tea for only £8.50 per person. On a Sunday we are open from 12noon to 5pm, serving a three course Sunday roast menu for £12.95. We are a venue to make any special occasion even more special, whether you want a romantic meal for two, dine with friends or arrange a family get together. In April 2016, we had a major revamp in the restaurant downstairs and also refurbished upstairs, with a stylish cocktail bar & lounge area, which is open Friday & Saturday evenings from 6pm and provides an elegant start to your evening. We also opened a private dining room upstairs, which caters for up to 8 people for the more intimate get together. Throughout the upstairs, you can soak in the local heritage of Newtown & peruse over a collection of photographs by renowned local historian Frank Moore. During the warmer months, we can offer alfresco dining in our terrace courtyard or in our purpose built Cantina, which is perfect private dining space for any occasion for up to 10 people. So all in all, you have read a brief description of what we can offer & hope to see you soon, so you can indulge in what we have to offer.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mirrens Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mirrens Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?