We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

French Connection

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3 Coventry Street, Stourbridge DY8 1EP, England
+44 1384 390940
Website
Sunday
Closed
Hours:
Wed - Sat 09:30 - 14:45
18:30 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 270: English reviews
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The French Connection has a relaxed atmosphere with attentive staff and a very good menu both at lunchtime and in the evenings. The food is of good quality and well prepared.

Helpful?
Thank Trevor408
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Popped in for a quick coffee after discovering this delightful little gem of a place tucked away in Stourbridge. It's a lovely atmosphere pleasant staff and nice choice of food. Excellent service and look forward to going back for breakfast 🍳👍🏼😊

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Visited with friends for a catch up and a treat. As always lovely, warm welcome and buzzing atmosphere. Ordered from the set menu for a change, which is incredibly good value for just shy of £20 for 3 courses. Went for 2 courses instead as not a big dessert eater. Had a very enjoyable pate starter with crunchy toast and... More 

Helpful?
Thank NieceyNoo
Level Contributor
135 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visit this lovely restaurant on a regular basis with an old school friend. We are always looked after very well and the food is always of a high standard. Obviously the theme is French ambience and French cuisine. We are never disappointed. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Mike A
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely breakfast mushroom soup was good friendly staff would definitely return food value for money didn't have to wait to long for food will try for a meal one evening

Helpful?
Thank balaujla
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Visited on 23rd December with my wife - FC is a special restaurant to us so were looking forward to it and as a special Xmas treat, we ordered the Lobster Thermiador and steak as mains - what could be better ... Sorry guys this didn't hit the spot - main courses cost £57 for the two and the lobster... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug W
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

Love this little restaurant for excellent food and service. Always have something a bit different on the menu and a good wine selection. Fabulous. Can't wait for my next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Mandy A
East Midlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Last year's visit was somewhat disappointing. Smaller portions and the food was underwhelming. However, this year, the French Connection used their game. The waitress in the white top (can't recall her name) was attentive and charming. We were a party of 9 and had the three course Christmas menu. Nobody had any issues with the food. Duck, salmon etc starters... More 

Helpful?
Thank bozwald
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

6 old friends having a catch-up over lunch. Restaurant was cool and that applied to the staff as well - efficient rather than warm and welcoming. But it was the food that was our big disappointment. Just as if they'd popped round to Waitrose and then warmed it up in their ovens. Have been here quite a few times over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terencegeorge
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

My friends and I visited last week. I has the coq au vin and got food poisoning. We had to leave the restaurant because I was so ill. I mentioned it to the waitress and she said nothing. I also emailed them directly to let them know about our experience and haven't had a response.

Helpful?
Thank sunbunz
Christopher H, Owner at French Connection, responded to this review

I was most concerned to read your review, especially as it contained an allegation that we had served you a dish that had made you ill. I understand that you ate Coq au Vin and you say that this dish had given you food poisoning so rapidly that you had to leave the restaurant. All food professionals are aware that... More 

Travellers who viewed French Connection also viewed

 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Stourbridge, West Midlands
 

Been to French Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 17 - USD 43
Cuisine
French, European
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Wednesday
09:30 - 14:45
18:30 - 21:30
Thursday
09:30 - 14:45
18:30 - 21:30
Friday
09:30 - 14:45
18:30 - 21:30
Saturday
09:30 - 14:45
18:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Coventry Street, Stourbridge DY8 1EP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Stourbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1384 390940
Description
Family run Bistro serving quality food at a fair price. Seats up to 50 persons in a typically French Provincial Bistro setting.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from French Connection staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?