We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queens Head

Parsonage Lane | Icklesham, Icklesham TN36 4BL, England
+44 1424 814552
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (14 reviews)
“pies” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Parsonage Lane | Icklesham, Icklesham TN36 4BL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic, don’t really need to say anymore. This is a proper old English run pub, great food, fabulous beers, staff friendly, inventive and very lovely, the views from the pub windows inside are just breathtaking, will be going back in the summer to sit in...More

Thank Benbob72
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here twice whilst staying locally. The food was really tasty and good size portions. The pub was warm and staff friendly. We took our dog who was warmly welcomed. There was a mixture of locals and people visiting to eat. Lots of well...More

Thank Tracey B
Reviewed 13 January 2018

This pub has got it right on many levels: friendly efficient staff, good layout/seating, log fire, good food and generous portions. Prices reflect the quality and quantity of the food.Also they dont rush you out of th eplace- very pleasant experience and definitely going back.

Thank knnbx
Reviewed 7 January 2018

My sort of pub ! Fascinating decor, a good range of drinks, and food served with a smile. It's tucked away off the main Rye-Hastings road but well worth the very slight detour. We enjoyed Cod Loin, and whole Bass, washed down with a pleasant...More

Thank trikemaniac
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Queens Head. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Reviewed 24 December 2017

Great food, good selection, lovely setting. Good family pub and I understand very popular at night. Spacious seating, the service was excellent.More

Thank Monica M
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Queens Head. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Reviewed 22 December 2017

Outstanding meal in a very friendly pup with good selection of food and ales we had three courses and every cours was fantasticMore

Thank chaz993
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Queens Head. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Reviewed 22 December 2017

We stayed in Icklesham for a long weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday and used the Queens Head frequently for pre dinner and lunch drinks. The pub is so full of antiques and curios it is difficult to concentrate on drinking. We were very impressed...More

Thank LondonGodders
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Queens Head. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Reviewed 14 December 2017

Atmosphere was nice, log fire going inglenook fireplace, tables not bad size, seats uncomfortable. Food was a little below average, strange we had to order in advance when booking. It was christmas lunch so why we needed that I do not know. However it became...More

Thank kwasw
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hi there I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience when you visited The Queens Head recently. Please contact me on yourview@queenshead.com so that I can respond directly to these shortcomings. Yours Sincerely Ian Mitchell

Reviewed 30 November 2017

Tucked away in lovely village of Icklesham. Lovely gardens very peaceful and tranquil. Service excellent, food delicious. Jacket potato option like never before, beautiful salads and burger meals fabulous. Good value for money.More

Thank Hrh68
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Queens Head. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Myself and 6 members of my family went here Friday night we had booked a table. Friendly welcome, amazing barman who put fresh strawberries in my pink gin !!! Didn't have to wait long for the starters to arrive. Mixed grill main was huge :)...More

Thank Ditsydoll
IAN MITCHELL L, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Trip Advisor reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent very pleasant visit to The Queens Head. We’re so pleased that you had such a good time and we will pass your compliments on to our hard working team...More

PreviousNext
12345642
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Icklesham Hotels
The Lodge at Winchelsea
383 reviews
2.24 km away
River Haven Hotel
321 reviews
5.34 km away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
880 reviews
5.47 km away
The Mermaid Inn
1,064 reviews
5.54 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Robin Hood
420 reviews
.72 km away
Two Sawyers
352 reviews
3.01 km away
The Kings Head
77 reviews
3.30 km away
Winchelsea Beach Cafe
102 reviews
3.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Thomas the Martyr
143 reviews
2.77 km away
Pett Level Beach
156 reviews
4.99 km away
St Andrew's Church Tower Fairlight TN35 4AB
8 reviews
5.14 km away
The Three Legs Brewing Company
21 reviews
5.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sara O
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from IAN MITCHELL L | Property representative |
Dogs on a lead are welcome - can be a bit hectic at weekends for dogs and their owners, bear in mind live music every Sunday 4-6. Regards Ian Mitchell
1
Vote
lavenderandseaspray
18 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from IAN MITCHELL L | Property representative |
Thanks for your post, as you can see our first response is to ask for more details of the issues via our own mailbox. As of today we have had no reply. When and if we have dissatisfied customers we always try to take the... More
0
Votes
Peter C
6 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from xfactor74 | Reviewed this property |
Yes Ernie will be welcomed
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Parsonage Lane | Icklesham, Icklesham TN36 4BL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Icklesham
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 814552
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing