We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Cafe

7 Chapel Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6LX, England
+44 1395 442962
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good21%
  • Average12%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (60 reviews)
“burger” (3 reviews)
“pastry” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Chapel Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6LX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 248 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Enjoyed the over priced fish and chips (large haddock was tiny). Can you believe that my wife was charged £1 extra to have no batter???????!!! This needs to be looked at because you are very expensive for fish and chips. As said good quality but...More

Thank Tim A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very expensive and it took 30 minutes to arrive. The whole process was chaotic and slow with fish occasionally appearing from the pan at a mind-numbing rate. The queuing area in front of the counter is an incredibly claustrophobic experience and while we enjoyed eating...More

Thank Wayne O
Blissetts, Owner at Premier Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Wayne O I'm sorry you had to wait - obviously a busy time and as you know our food is cooked to order. Unfortunately we are a chip pan down at the moment and we are waiting for parts in order to repair which...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We live locally and have used them occasionally for last minute takeaways. Never again - chips were dreadful; sogggy and I suspect cooked in old fat. Fish was tasteless. Staff scruffy ( coughing into her sleeve too as she was serving,,!) Such a disappointment for...More

1  Thank Jill D
Blissetts, Owner at Premier Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jill D, I am sorry you had a bad experience; this should not be the case. We do appreciate your feedback. I can assure you that we do not use old oil and that our oil and will address the issues raised with our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited for a takeaway a week ago, rather expensive and although the chips were ok the fish was one of the worst I have ever had The fish was rather small and covered in so much batter it was not cooked through, soggy batter is...More

2  Thank Mjlworld L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Prices up!! Quality down!! This used to be the best in the West and now just another Chippy, we used to look forward to getting our weekly take away from the Premier Cafe but not anymore, the food is full of grease! The Customer Service...More

2  Thank MPT1111
Reviewed 10 March 2018

My partner and I visited early evening its clean my partner had Glutton free fish very good , I had the fish melody a portion of chips with a meagre amount of very small pieces of fish no peas. £10.50 very disappointing.More

Thank Alan T
Blissetts, Owner at Premier Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Alan T, Thanks for your feed back. We have revisited our Seafood Medley and improved the mix of fish adding salmon goujons and adding additional scampi. I am glad your partner liked the Gluten free cod. We always have gluten free food with fish...More

Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Together with my family of four, I visited this Cafe today. Words don't really do justice to how enjoyable the experience was. Good food, great and very friendly service. Although we live in Torquay, we will definitely be back in the near future.

Thank Mike R
Reviewed 31 December 2017

This was a last-minute choice as it is round the corner from our holiday apartment. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good. Ecxellent value for money

Thank Loulou63Bath
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We were enjoying Budleigh Salterton sea front and were looking for a quick lunch. We found the right place in the Premier Café which served a variety of fish dishes including quality traditional fish and chips to eat in or take away. It is clearly...More

Thank jeffandjo2017
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

The best fish and chips we have had in a long time! Great service too. What more can I say?Will definitely visit again.

Thank Grayman52
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Budleigh Salterton Hotels
The Long Range Hotel
102 reviews
.68 km away
Ladram Bay Holiday Park
1,138 reviews
4.69 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
920 reviews
5.18 km away
Ashton Court
176 reviews
6.29 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bowmers
226 reviews
.07 km away
Tea and Tittle Tattle
223 reviews
.07 km away
A slice of lyme
307 reviews
.08 km away
Earls Coffee House
91 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lily Farm Vineyard
97 reviews
1.64 km away
Hawkridge Bird of Prey Centre
133 reviews
2.97 km away
Otterton Mill
321 reviews
3.73 km away
Brook Gallery
42 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Premier Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Chapel Street, Budleigh Salterton EX9 6LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Budleigh Salterton
  • Phone Number: +44 1395 442962
  • E-mail
Description
Fish cafe serving local fish as well as award-winning fish and chips.Also has non- fish and veterinarian options and is licences. Along side the restaurant is a busy fish and chip take-away
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;